TMP Worldwide UK Reviews | Glassdoor

TMP Worldwide UK Reviews

Updated April 10, 2017
57 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

57 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Some really great people to work with (in 7 reviews)

  • Great work life balance for me personally and my managers always help with any situation i may have (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • work life balance not great at all (in 3 reviews)

  • Not a great place to start to grow your marketing exec career (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (5)

    "Bitter-Sweet Experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Only two things I can think of as a positive, though being fair there could have been more, I did get along with my own line manager very well..

    First, they were easy to get into and helped me out of a fix when i needed a job

    Second, from my time in a senior position in the company it was really good, but there was still a glass ceiling where they chose to promote based on who they like the most rather than on merit

    Cons

    Where to start? As mentioned above in a senior position it is a great company but.. in a lower level position you are treated like a child, all the positive reviews are mainly from people in higher level, or mid level positions, however the majority of the employees are lower level and seen as expendable

    The policies and processes of the company are dreadful at best and the several little cliques mean that only people who get on really well with senior management will progress, I have seen more than one incompetent person progress to manager

    A side note is you will find they employ people within the exact same role as you but on a completely different salary.. this rarely had any justification to it and was usually based on length of service or who they liked the most (once saw someone get a pay rise back to back - which i was told was not possible within the company) this was not based on ability, so performance in reality counted for very little

    Advice to Management

    one of the reasons i chose to leave the company was that i found they had people in similar roles to myself doing very poor jobs but on a higher salary, as well as in some cases lower level positions on a higher salary and then only decided to increase my salary when i advised i was leaving, which begs the question why not before?

    There is a total lack of transparency within the company and a lack of following their own values

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Oct 20, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave TMP a review on Glassdoor. We are sorry to hear you felt your time with TMP was less than positive. If you would like to, please contact me in confidence to ... More


  2. Helpful (4)

    "No Direction"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Marketing in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    handy initially when I lost my last job, jumped as they are always looking to back fill

    Cons

    Very poor management with heavy churn of management so the direction is very poor. No progression and lots of moving around of people. very frustrating when you're trying to help clients when the management change every five minutes

    Advice to Management

    Focus on keeping people a bit longer

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Sep 7, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for leaving a review for TMP on Glassdoor. We were disappointed to read that you feel there is high turnover at management level, as in fact employee attrition at manager level is low at ... More


  3. "Good company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great supportive immediate team. Work with lots of interesting individuals. Lots of autonomy in the work.

    Cons

    Not that many cons at the moment.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Aug 15, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for leaving TMP a positive review on Glassdoor. We really appreciate it!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "So-So"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, friendly people, good work and life balance

    Cons

    Management of staff is generally poor. no clear vision, no development. no chance for promotion etc.

    Advice to Management

    Promote people or hire more staff

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Aug 15, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for leaving a review on Glassdoor. We are sorry that your experience of working at TMP has not been positive in some areas. If you would like to talk in confidence to a member of the HR ... More


  6. "The Truth"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Creative in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    TMP is a fantastic place to work. Great work life balance for me personally and my managers always help with any situation i may have. Work is challenging and always very busy. People on my Team are amazing and have always found it to be this way in my 5 years !!

    Cons

    Salary is the only Con, if management REALLY read these comments, you'll see everyone says this ? so maybe time to take some action and review your system?! TMP is about 10%-15% down on other roles in the same sectors !

    Advice to Management

    Review SALARIES and bring back a reward system or yearly increment depending on performance, or better still add "Reward CURRENT employees" to your lovely Values.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Aug 15, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for leaving TMP a positive review on Glassdoor. We REALLY do read these comments, and value feedback. Thank you once again.


  7. "Great Team"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Really great team - everyone is super supportive and collaborative. There isn't any back-stabbing here. Also there is a real lack of hierarchy and everyone at every level is really respected.

    Cons

    Salary and benefits are a bit on the low side compared to other organisations. Flexible working is also not really supported - unless you're a working mum who wants to work part-time.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more flexible working - most people would be happy with a lesser salary if they could control their own hours and feel trusted.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Apr 21, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for leaving us a positive review on Glassdoor, and for your constructive comments. We appreciate feedback, good or bad, and always try to act upon it where we possibly can.


  8. "Account Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at TMP Worldwide UK full-time

    Pros

    Nice people and interesting work

    Cons

    There weren't too many cons

    Advice to Management

    None

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Apr 21, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for leaving us a positive review on Glassdoor - we appreciate it!


  9. "Great place to work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Executive in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Resourcing Executive in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    TMP is a great place to work. It's like you belong to one big family. The work is challenging and exciting and the opportunity for career advancement is really good too. You are cared about as an individual and really pushed to succeed.

    Cons

    The salary is disappointing considering the work load, at times, can be very demanding.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Mar 7, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for leaving us a review on Glassdoor - we appreciate it.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Engagement?"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    It is a job I suppose

    Cons

    No advancement (certain people seem to be made aware of promotion possibilities or even lateral movement, but these are not communicated to all); no increases; no performance reviews; too many processes, no scope for innovation. TMP preaches employee engagement all the time but does little to nothing to engage their own employees

    Advice to Management

    Live the values - don't just talk the talk, walk the walk

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Feb 18, 2016 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for leaving a review on Glassdoor. We are sorry that your experience of working at TMP has been less than positive, and that it is doesn't reflect the majority of the feedback we receive ... More


  11. "Great company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Consultant in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Resourcing Consultant in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Recently started at TMP and have enjoyed every minute. Training was great and insightful. My direct work colleagues are absolutely lovely and my indirect work colleagues are extremely friendly and welcoming. There is a professionalism and maturity here, combined with a lot of laughing and fun. I met the CEO Andrew Wilkinson who I found to be such a nice and approachable guy. It didn't matter who we were or how long we had been at TMP he went out of his way to talk to us all. We also get yummy fruit and healthy sweet boxes every Tuesday!! Really happy to be here and can see a long and exciting career ahead of me

    Cons

    My only con is I wish I'd started here years ago!

    Advice to Management

    Only advice is to keep up the good work because you're all clearly doing something right!

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Nov 5, 2015 – Human Resources Director

    Thank you for leaving us review on Glassdoor, we appreciate it!



Showing 57 of 60 reviews
Reset Filters