TOPS Markets Reviews | Glassdoor

TOPS Markets Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 340 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
TOPS Markets CEO Frank Curci (no image)
Frank Curci
120 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, probably impossible to get FT hours(in 21 reviews)

  • "low hours, no full time, no benefits(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Lewiston, NY

    I worked at TOPS Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employees Great management

    Cons

    Had to work holidays

    TOPS Markets2019-08-05
  2. "Pros And Cons of Tops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unemplyed in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TOPS Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice select wears of food-related items to buy.

    Cons

    Sometimes you may have to deal with very annoying people.

    Advice to Management

    Management is very nice

    TOPS Markets2019-10-07
  3. "it's okay for a minimum wage job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at TOPS Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good coworkers staff, friendly enviroment

    Cons

    low hours, no full time, no benefits

    TOPS Markets2019-10-01
  4. "Flexible Hours, but Bad Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TOPS Markets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, some CSLs are super friendly. You get prizes if you get customer compliments.

    Cons

    Some CSLs are passive aggressive and micro-manage, one of our customer service desk ladies is the RUDEST person I've ever met and should not be in customer service. We are not allowed to sit if there are no customers and in our down time we are expected to be cleaning. Seems that the policies vary from store to store as my tops doesn't allow colored hair but another store in the area does. There's a lot of gossip,... especially from some of the CSLs. Cannot have drinks or wallets or keys near our registers. Some CSLs act like you're a huge burden when you need help with something. Union is very weak. Training for selling alcohol or tobacco, working gas or EZ scan is non-existent. They give you a quiz with answers, with no actual training involved.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get on the same page with policies and procedures! CSLs and customer service desk employees need to be friendly, not look like they would want to hurt anyone who talks to them.

    TOPS Markets2019-09-26
  5. "Overnight Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TOPS Markets full-time

    Pros

    Not a lot of store traffic, consistent income

    Cons

    Pay is low and you stand the whole time

    TOPS Markets2019-08-27
  6. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Lancaster, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TOPS Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very good life balance for drivers

    Cons

    routers need to do a better job

    TOPS Markets2019-08-20
  7. "Decent place to work, somewhat antiquated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TOPS Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are nice and helpful, benefits were pretty solid. Management interacts with everyone and are friendly. They also had fun activities and try to make the work environment positive.

    Cons

    The systems are outdated and people are kind of set in their ways but working on changing. Didn’t seem like many opportunities to grow with the company.

    TOPS Markets2019-07-31
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TOPS Markets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    excellent staff, great hours, very flexible scheduling

    Cons

    not the best pay, no discount

    TOPS Markets2019-07-16
  9. "NOT WORTH IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Office Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TOPS Markets full-time

    Pros

    could have days off during the week

    Cons

    pay was not good and hours weren't either

    Advice to Management

    care about your employees

    TOPS Markets2019-08-09
  10. "Oh boy this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Hannibal, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TOPS Markets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible ile hours decent coworkers hometown feel

    Cons

    management sucks unprofessional many rude people

    Advice to Management

    set ur mind on one thing and don’t change it every two seconds

    TOPS Markets2019-07-02
Found 340 reviews