Cover image for TRC Family Entertainment
Logo

TRC Family Entertainment

Is this your company?

TRC Family Entertainment

Add a Review

TRC Family Entertainment Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2019

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 61 of over 61 reviews
2.6
39% Recommend to a Friend
TRC Family Entertainment CEO Paul Taylor
47% Approve of CEO

Found 60 of over 61 reviews

2.6
39%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
TRC Family Entertainment CEO Paul Taylor
Paul Taylor
49 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good people, challenging work place that pushes you(in 8 reviews)
  • "Some great and talented people have worked here over the years (most are gone now, fired to appease temperamental executives or jumped ship while they still could)(in 7 reviews)
  • "Everything is cool, no issues and the team is great(in 5 reviews)
  • "The free lunches are ok.(in 4 reviews)
  • "free food and drinks(in 4 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Interesting time

    Feb 15, 2019 - Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This was my first gig in the industry. They helped me get started.

    Cons

    What can i say. It was a cluster at the end.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    So they were crooks as the Maltese Govt is finding out

    Jul 22, 2015 - Gaming Developer in Msida
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    hmmmm all i remember is the bad stuff. working in malta would have been nice - if i hadn't been chained to my desk.

    Cons

    "Malta Enterprise scrambles to recover €8 million as TRC Entertainment goes under" Looks like the Maltese govt are scrambling to retrieve 8 MILLION euros sunk by the Robinsons. Well. They won@t be seeing that again.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the TRC Family Entertainment team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Loads of potential, gone to waste

    Jun 5, 2015 - Lead Producer in Il-Gżira
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great people - Amazing location (Malta) - Fun place to work while things were going smooth.

    Cons

    - Executive management was certifiable and ignored recommendations from management. - Communication from the executive team did not exist. - Technical team leadership well beyond their depth, not receptive to constructive feedback.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Well, it certainly was an experience

    Feb 9, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people you worked with in the trenches. They made coming in to work tolerable. Happy Hour Fridays. Memories to last a lifetime (that's both a Pro and a Con). The thrill of launching several small focused products.

    Cons

    Poor executive-level decision-making. Not knowing what kind of product/game you actually want to release and rebooting it several times in a couple of years. That's not the way to get anything to market. Lying to your employees when you don't pay them for several months. Lack of raises. Minimal perks.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Bad

    Nov 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No pros at all here

    Cons

    its existence is its biggest con

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Shocking experience

    Aug 21, 2014 - Senior Staff in Malta, MT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free lunchs and water Some great people to work with and friends made

    Cons

    Products have no commercial viability Business plan is flawed beyond belief No pay for nearly 3 months Told at the start of the financial troubles loyalty would be rewarded.... Most of those who stayed without pay where fired anyway with no reason, great way to repay loyalty. Given payslips and FS3s (tax docs) despite not actually being paid meaning we have tax documents stating we have paid extra tax that was never paid by the company because we ourselves have not been paid. Nearly 10 employees hired the first week they were unable to pay staff most of which had moved from abroad, this has cost alot of people money with no hope of ever being paid. Complete destruction to peoples personal lives as well as finances. If people didnt have savings/credit cards they would be stranded on the island Staff fired without their line managers even being told.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    A mess from start to finish.

    Aug 15, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You would need your head examined if you thought that the studio had any pros at this stage.

    Cons

    Not paying staff for almost 3 months and then letting go a chunk of the staff who stayed on , even though they were not getting paid , with no explaination.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    What a Shame

    Jul 18, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Msida
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoy my job, and I have had decent career progression where I have been able to learn a lot of new skills- although not from senior staff members particularly, more self-guided. The team at the moment is really strong. There are a lot of very talented people (that aren't being utilized properly) and it feels like a family. Unfortunately some people are leaving because we haven't been paid, and the company will suffer from this if they are even able to continue functioning as a studio, which is looking unlikely as the team have lost all faith in upper management. The free lunches are ok. Living in Malta is a fantastic experience. The way of life is relaxed and fun-loving, and there are lots of great places to eat and drink. English being spoken as a first language also really helps.

    Cons

    The management team change their minds about everything. Characters have been redesigned and remodeled countless times, and entire game concepts have been thrown out after months of development, on several occasions. This is very frustrating, particularly as the lack of products going to launch has annoyed the investors enough for them to withhold funds. There is an urge by this point to make things quickly and cheaply because they're desperate to launch something. Unfortunately this means they want to just make copies of existing products in the market, and are overlooking the need to create things of any quality. Schedules are tight. They need to allow their staff to push themselves and be creative, not slap together any old thing and put a ridiculous price tag on it. The lies. It's clear to everyone that the story we've been fed about the non-payment of wages for almost 2 months isn't true. Something very dodgy is going on upstairs and we're not stupid. The endless meetings waste so much time. There will be several meetings about the same thing, with several producers in each meeting, and I'll be sat there knowing I have a tonne of work to do and wishing everyone would hurry up so I can go and get on with it. I know a job title is just a job title but mine does not reflect what I do, and the company always have some random excuse as to why it can't be changed. I've taken on so many additional responsibilities to what is listed in my job description and I'm grateful for the opportunities I've been given, but I'm highly under paid. My wage is ok but I don't think I'm paid what I'm worth or for how hard I work. There's never any compensation for crunch time either. The company's stupid sickness leave procedure is enough to make you go into work half dead. They are insistent upon you getting a doctors note which involves sitting in a queue for several hours when you need to be at home resting. This applies even if you miss a single hour. It's a joke. And then of course because people are coming in to work whilst sick, they take a bunch of other people down with them. I know I said the free lunches was a good thing, and it's saved me lots of money so I can't really complain, but I'm going to anyway. There have been various ways of us choosing our lunch over the time I have worked at TRC, and currently there's a list of approximately 100000000000000 items, 99% the same every day, most of them pretty foul. There are a few things that are nice but a lot of days I've had a couple of bites and thrown the rest away. And it's all carbs as well, which you really don't need when you're sat down all day. This is quite far down the list because I've already mentioned it but not being paid sucks. We work hard for TRC and are trying, despite upper managements best efforts to screw everything up, to create products that families will enjoy. We trusted the company to uphold their end of the bargain, but they have really let us down. I'm not sure how they think regular people who are not multimillionaires like them are supposed to pay their rent without a wages for what is seemingly going to be a full two months. I'm also not sure why they're still expecting people to come into work for free. Some people took the afternoon off to go to a job fair that was only on in work hours, and HR had the cheek to email them requesting they all fill in holiday forms! They quite rightly refused. Seriously, if they manage to pull this company out of the gutter and carry on, any staff who've been patient and loyal enough to stick with them will be wary for the rest of their time at TRC. I don't see how anyone could feel secure in their job there after all this and the other tense times we've had there, like when they were firing several people a day. It's not a nice place to work anymore, and it's a real shame. I don't know if I'll stay or move on... Time will tell.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun while it lasted, but too many mistakes with management might bring this company down very soon.

    Jul 17, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bus to work Good colleagues CEO's with good intentions, honest Good environment to grow as a professional Free food

    Cons

    Core problems: CEO's do not have experience in the Video games industry Hiring problems- due to lack of knowledge of which people are needed, incompetent or simply wrong people are hired, brings their own people and ideas, previous people are either fired or leave then in the end the managment itself get's fired and cycle repeats. So many people left angry and on ice as a result! Nepotism and CEO's involvement in production- very destructive and painful to have to take directions from someone with no experience in your area of expertise. Wasted a lot of resources on pointless tasks like voice recognition due to their lack of experience and knowledge of the business. Hired too many people- seems that company is trying to look bigger than it is for some strange reason. Result is twice too many people than needed for what company is currently doing. Other problems: Most of the real talent does not stay for long due to all above and there are a lot of unskilled people floating in the company at the moment.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A sinking ship...

    Jul 16, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some talented people to work with. - Free Transport to work from some areas - Free food

    Cons

    - NOT PAYING THE EMPLOYEES, which is particularly bad when you have moved country to be there and have no security. Also, hiring new people to move country to work there just as the whole pay complications were arising. - Constant changing of minds with goals and work - No solid decisions made - a task that is meant to take 2 hours takes 2 days because no one can decide what they want. Even making huge changes to the idea when the work is half done. - Hiring new people constantly on a basis of 'who we know' - New hires aren't needed!!! - Not charging for released content because of the 'brand', means 3 years with only a few products released which are currently free, and now they can't pay their employees. - Pay is bad, and the first few months you're there they will tax you up to the eyeballs and when you appeal to HR for help because they've taken so much of your pay and you can't afford your rent, they'll just tell you 'that's the way it is for the first 6 months'. - Blame culture; when your task takes longer because no one gave you solid direction or told you what they wanted, they will call it failure. - HR constantly on your back about pointless subjects/being very unhelpful, and combined with the Maltese Government's way of doing things it will make your head want to explode. - No room for career progression. - Constant pointless meetings than can last 4 hours, for a matter which could be resolved in 10 minutes. - A separation between the Maltese people and everyone else in the office which is making things tense. - Some people in charge letting personal reasons get in the way of office relationships.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 60 Reviews
</>Embed

TRC Family Entertainment Reviews FAQs

TRC Family Entertainment has an overall rating of 2.6 out of 5, based on over 61 reviews left anonymously by employees. 39% of employees would recommend working at TRC Family Entertainment to a friend and 39% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, TRC Family Entertainment employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at TRC Family Entertainment. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

39% of TRC Family Entertainment employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated TRC Family Entertainment 2.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.7 for culture and values and 2.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at TRC Family Entertainment to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, management, culture.

Work at TRC Family Entertainment? Share Your Experiences

TRC Family Entertainment logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • (4)
  • Software Developer(2)

TRC Family Entertainment Photos

+ Add Photo
TRC Family Entertainment photo of: One of the scrum teams at work
TRC Family Entertainment photo of: In the audio room
TRC Family Entertainment photo of: Christmas Party
TRC Family Entertainment photo of: Paintballing!
TRC Family Entertainment photo of: At work
TRC Family Entertainment photo of: Happy at Work!
TRC Family Entertainment photo of: Face Painting at the Studio!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

TRC Family Entertainment Job Seekers Also Viewed

Member Home Loan Logo
Member Home Loan

3.4

5 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 61 TRC Family Entertainment reviews submitted anonymously by TRC Family Entertainment employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if TRC Family Entertainment is right for you.