KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

TSA (Transportation Security Administration)

Engaged Employer

TSA (Transportation Security Administration)

Add a Review

TSA (Transportation Security Administration) Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Jan 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 of over 1,761 reviews

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
TSA (Transportation Security Administration) Administrator  David P. Pekoske (no image)
David P. Pekoske
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits because it's government job(in 131 reviews)

  • "Good pay for no experience required(in 108 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Management sucks no matter what airport you work at(in 91 reviews)

  • "Prepare to spend a year working part-time to get a full time gig(in 57 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of TSA (Transportation Security Administration) and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "good benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      tsa

      Jul 22, 2020 - Esti in Chicago, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good benefits, career progression and gov job.

      Cons

      Pay can be lower compared to other agencies.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      A decent place to work

      Dec 30, 2020 - TSO (Transportation Security Officer) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays well, good benefits, overtime opportunities, upward mobility, pto, sick days included

      Cons

      Hours aren't always what you might like. Working with passengers that don't listen and give attitude does drag you down some days.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I can't recommend this job to anyone

      Jan 8, 2021 - Transportation Security Officer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, No shortage of overtime

      Cons

      Incompetent and self-serving management, unrealistic expectations of their employees, harassed by both passengers and leadership, and extremely high stress with short breaks.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Believe it or not, I’d go back 🙄

      Feb 3, 2020 - Transportation Security Officer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      To me the best thing about working for TSA was the ability to live in different states/cities & know that I always had a job. I started in Los Angeles, moved to Houston, & ended my career in Dallas. No matter what airport I was at my coworkers quickly became my family ! Benefits are good & pay is decent .. I started working for TSA while I was in college & I had very little working experience so I felt like I had hit the jackpot working for TSA. To me, TSA was not where I wanted to work for the rest of my life, but it gave me a great start. There were plenty of opportunities for advancement & it made getting into other federal jobs much easier. Pretty flexible scheduling, PT & FT available, Shifts starting from 4am all the way to 3pm. Vacation & sick leave & you can always give your shifts away or pick up extra shifts, lots of opportunities for OT.

      Cons

      Alwayyys understaffed, passengers can be rude, officers deserve yearly raises.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      officer

      Oct 31, 2020 - TSA OFFICER in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good benefits because it's government job

      Cons

      bad scheduling and the start time for most people would be 4am

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Never Again

      Jan 21, 2021 - TSO (Transportation Security Officer) in Bwi Airport, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only the benefits are good and you can move up in the agency

      Cons

      Horrible Leadership Need an investigation of all management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Fed Job but worth it?

      Oct 24, 2020 - Senior TSO 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits. Very flexible hours if have seniority to bid on available shifts. New folks at the bottom of the pile are placed where you're needed. "Operational necessity"

      Cons

      Working under microscope. Can an employee thrive here? Staying in a job because if retirement benefits, current benefits to the detriment of current health isn't good for you. I stayed way too long just for those.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Basic Job, Very Demanding with lots of Cons

      May 18, 2019 - Transportation Security Officer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good Benefits -Stability -Easier to transfer/transition to other departments -Gives you a transparent look at the internal workings of the government. In a way, also prepares you for other government jobs

      Cons

      -Terrible Management. Lack of concern/consideration for workforce and abuse their powers. -Inflexibilty. The hours they have are the hours you get. Mercy on your soul if you want part-time at one of the larger airports. -Mandatory Overtime -Promotions don't feel merit based. More often it's whoever sucks up to management the most. This shows a lot when it comes to those in management roles. -Constant ambiguity. Lack of understanding/implementation of new rules/procedures, and lack of ability to explain it to the workforce. Many times, a manager will say one thing, only to be contradicted by another one. -Lack of communication. See above. Very little is communicated, it's often vague, and there isn't enough time for the workforce to understand what is going on. -Insane variability- things can change on a day to day basis. Sometimes, literally minutes later. Hard to keep track of everything, particularly when different management people tell you to do different things. -Weak post-certification training. Once you're certified, you're expected to know every aspect of the job and every single rule and procedure, and there is little room for error. -Hostile environment. Passengers act terribly, and you are in general treated badly most of the time. This extends to the workforce too; many of the long time employees have little respect for newer ones. -Attrition. You lose alot of people everyday. In practice, this means they will work you extra hard every day as much as they can. Holds especially true for the females (may the lord have mercy on your kind soul)

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      tsa

      Sep 16, 2020 - Security Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very good medical insurance plan is available. good benefits...

      Cons

      hours for shifts can change. hard to get a shift necessary to work added job on side. inflexible management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      very boring work

      Sep 27, 2020 - TSO (Transportation Security Officer) in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good benefits and average pay

      Cons

      have to deal with some very angry travelers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 131 Reviews

    Popular Careers with TSA (Transportation Security Administration) Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at TSA (Transportation Security Administration)? Share Your Experiences

    or