TSL Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor

TSL Marketing Reviews

Updated May 4, 2017
74 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
David English
45 Ratings

74 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great culture, friendly atmosphere, opportunities for growth (in 4 reviews)

  • Current work environment in this organization is very good (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • Because of the low pay scale, many staff (including managers) are very young and inexperienced (which can also be read as immature) (in 4 reviews)

  • They have high turnover for in their tele-sales department for a reason (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great vibe and strong future"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TSL Marketing full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    1. Great people working in a collaborative environment. 2. Access to working with great companies/customers. 3. Constant push for improving and innovating 4. Open atmosphere where your ideas are put into action.

    Cons

    Due to the transformation of the company things will change but management is doing a good job letting us know ahead of time. SO if a dynamic environment is not comfortable then this might not be the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. The changes are working.


  2. "Awesome place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TSL Marketing full-time

    Pros

    The best part about TSL is the people. I really love coming to work everyday because of the people I work with day in and day out. Everyone is so helpful and honestly care if you succeed, from your peers all the way up to the highest level. There are also great opportunities for growth for those that are willing to work for it. I have learned so much here and cannot wait to see what the next year brings.

    Cons

    Can't think of one off the top of my head.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing into the team! I love all the company events!


  3. "good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TSL Marketing (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good atmosphere to work with the employies

    Cons

    Rise in job for a promotion in title

    Advice to Management

    Nil

    TSL Marketing Response

    May 4, 2017 – Vice President, Customer Experience Group & Strategy

    Thanks for taking the time to collect your thoughts and share them here with us. - Jeff


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Business Development Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Technology Specialist in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Business Technology Specialist in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TSL Marketing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Diverse group of outgoing colleagues, culture created by team is decent. It is like a cult, you really want to be member and stay. Open communication.

    Cons

    More work than they can handle. It is purely a telemarketing position and mostly cold calling, with undeveloped contact lists. Company is reorganizing and is having major growing pains. Some of the top management is not qualified for their positions and hurts the company's growth. Very young group of upper management that didn't have any management experience before their job with the company. Lots of stress and micromanagement. Opportunity to move up their ranks but you are still doing the same telemarketing, job just make more money.

    Advice to Management

    Don't let your best talent walk out the door. Pride can be your worse enemy.

    TSL Marketing Response

    May 4, 2017 – Vice President, Customer Experience Group & Strategy

    Thanks for the review. You statement about "growing pains" was interesting since the Customer Journey Group has remained constant through some of the other positive forward transformation. I liked ... More


  6. "Living Above the Line"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Lead Progression Specialist in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Senior Lead Progression Specialist in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TSL Marketing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    TSL is a great company to work for. They have a great office space with friendly co-workers that make you feel like family. Everyone was a joy to work with. Management knows what they are doing and is there if you ever need anything. They recognize greatness and reward those who show up to perform. "Huddle" (weekly company meeting) is when they recognize the great efforts that each team member has made the previous week to reach if not exceed their goals.

    Cons

    Honestly can't think of anything besides the Columbia area has a lot of traffic for lunch time and leaving at 5pm but that is expected in any busy area.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow and open more doors in other states.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Promises made but never kept. . ."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TSL Marketing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice office space - especially spacious kitchen area
    Free parking
    Free coffee

    Cons

    Pay scale is out of whack
    Commissions are really hard to earn - and qualified commissions are often thrown out by client or manager
    Benefits are terrible!
    Managers have unrealistic goals so they tend to micromanage staff
    Turnover is very high - and management believes this is acceptable
    No HR - they call it "Internal Customer Experience" but it is the least professional HR experience I have ever seen
    Because of the low pay scale, many staff (including managers) are very young and inexperienced (which can also be read as immature)

    Advice to Management

    Invest in some management training, including for the top executives; create a more balanced compensation and benefits system, set realistic expectations of staff and managers, bring in someone with actual experience in human resources

    TSL Marketing Response

    Jan 31, 2017 – Vice President, Customer Experience Group & Strategy

    Thanks for this feedback. I do feel that we should always be growing our skills and will continue to invest in training our team.


  8. "Agency Life"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Media Manager in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Social Media Manager in Columbia, MD
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TSL Marketing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Working with some world class brands
    Ability to work from home
    Tools/budget available

    Cons

    With a lot of people working at home, hard to keep great people to people relationships
    Compensation not in line with market

    Advice to Management

    I enjoyed my time at TSL and saw a lot of good changes internally, especially in the last year. The company is growing and concentrating more on longer term strategic campaigns rather than shorter tactical ones. Focusing on one specific sector does tend to limit the creativity. The people are the greatest asset and the best group of people I have worked with. Culture has definitely improved and I wish the team, many of whom I am still friends and stay in touch with, the best of luck.

    TSL Marketing Response

    Dec 13, 2016 – Vice President, Customer Experience Group & Strategy

    Thanks for posting this review. In the 21st century remote work is both a blessing and a curse to companies and their culture. We enjoy making this opportunity available to our team and will continue ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Laurel, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Laurel, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    They pay on time sometimes

    Cons

    Everything 😱, worst trap company ever

    Advice to Management

    Close doors

    TSL Marketing Response

    Jan 31, 2017 – Vice President, Customer Experience Group & Strategy

    It is disheartening to see such a negative review from someone with so much anger. There is not much detail above to act upon. I would be keen to hear form you the situation where you did not get ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "STAY AWAY!!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    I would like to say working from home. However, you have to get approval from senior management for that and they will deny you every time unless it's snowing....

    Cons

    Almost everything, too many cons to list. Hands down, worst company that I have ever worked for.

    Advice to Management

    Quit writing fake reviews for your company and get it together.

    TSL Marketing Response

    Jan 31, 2017 – Vice President, Customer Experience Group & Strategy

    I want to thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We do have a wok from home policy in place which should be very clear. I ask anyone considering joining the team to request a copy of ... More


  11. "Business Development Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at TSL Marketing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good experience in the IT field of work.

    Cons

    Low commission and bonus pay.

    TSL Marketing Response

    Jul 28, 2016 – Vice President, Customer Experience Group & Strategy

    Thanks for taking time out to offer us feedback. Through our exciting transformation we are looking at all aspects of the business.


Showing 74 of 76 reviews
Reset Filters