TSNE MissionWorks Reviews | Glassdoor

TSNE MissionWorks Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
TSNE MissionWorks CEO Elaine Ng (no image)
Elaine Ng
3 Ratings
  1. "Strong culture and values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TSNE MissionWorks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well organized, good benefits, commitment to equity & inclusion

    Cons

    Staffing changes sometimes make it challenging to build longlasting relationships.

    TSNE MissionWorks2019-05-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "TSNE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TSNE MissionWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Food Monthly MBTA pass Good Insurance

    Cons

    Managers Constant change that workers aren't ever aware of New Employee Turnover

    TSNE MissionWorks2019-06-16
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TSNE MissionWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -good work life balance -great benefits -wonderful colleagues -beneficial work - new changes coming through

    Cons

    There are many people who have been at the organization for many years, as a result there is no upward mobility.

    TSNE MissionWorks2018-11-03
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Do as I say not as I do..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TSNE MissionWorks full-time

    Pros

    Office is in an easily accessible location Benefits are good

    Cons

    Organization presents itself as a leader in the non-profit field but internally is dysfunctional and does not follow practices preached. Continued restructuring with little transparency to staff or clients. Over worked staff with work loads that are not manageable. Management does not offer clear expectations, no professional development, no upward mobility with career. Systems in place that are... antiquated and little movement to correct them. Incredible amount of ambiguity over mission. Training for new employees is minimal at best. It is a sink or swim organization, you are thrown into your work and expected to know how to do it. High levels of anxiety and stress due to management's lack of communication and distrust from staff.

    Show More
    TSNE MissionWorks2018-03-10
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at TSNE MissionWorks for less than a year

    Pros

    Very smart professional women willing to teach you

    Cons

    Not a structure plan for volunteers /interns

    Advice to Management

    More attention to volunteers

    TSNE MissionWorks2016-08-10
  6. "Non-profit Incubator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at TSNE MissionWorks full-time

    Pros

    A great of team professionals who provide the legal and financial backbone for non-profits

    Cons

    Down sized in recent years.

    TSNE MissionWorks2016-03-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Pleasant all around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at TSNE MissionWorks

    Pros

    TSNE is relaxed, but results oriented. When I was there, the supervisor was fantastically on top of all our work plans and kept us rigidly and helpfully accountable. She made sure we also got interesting products and opportunities to face with various career nonprofit consultants. Was especially great to sit on an more innovative internal committee.

    Cons

    It would have been great to have had more face time with other employees, since the work is pretty unique in Boston. Would have been awesome to have had a slightly more flexible work plan to opportunistically fit in other projects.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your interns more! We're actually pretty smart and have a lot of experience.

    TSNE MissionWorks2016-03-16
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at TSNE MissionWorks for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, especially in the summer.

    Cons

    Limited communication across divisions, could be improved.

    TSNE MissionWorks2016-02-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A chance to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at TSNE MissionWorks

    Pros

    Willingness to let you try new things but not always the structure for professional development that some junior-level employees need. Well compensated Ethical value structure

    Cons

    Small and who you know and who regards you well has even more power than at a larger place

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that you do not lose sight of your values during the difficult times. Actions speak louder than words.

    TSNE MissionWorks2012-03-29
  10. "The people make the organizaiton!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at TSNE MissionWorks

    Pros

    Work life balance Collaborative environment Well respected by constituents Leader in fiscal sponsorship services Strong board of directors Owns building which funcstions as area non-profit center housing other nonprofit organizations

    Cons

    No bench; very little cross-training among staff making it difficult to keep up with service demands No career track for most employees; professional development funding has declined significantly over the years.

    TSNE MissionWorks2012-03-22
Found 12 reviews