TSYS|Total System Services Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

TSYS|Total System Services Software Developer Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
TSYS|Total System Services CEO Troy Woods
Troy Woods
19 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic place to learn, grow and work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Lead in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TSYS|Total System Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with very bright talent. Fast paced work environment. Collaborative work culture. Good work / life balance. Management is very reasonable and listen to employees. Great location

    Cons

    High security environment can sometimes hinder downloading open source software / use common tools that most people use.

    TSYS|Total System Services2014-07-09

    TSYS|Total System Services Response

    February 19, 2015HR

    Thank you for your honest feedback. The security concern is one we hear frequently, especially from our younger team members. We promise our clients the highest level of security and service to their customers. This means we have to be diligent in making sure our buildings and systems are secure. At times it may feel a little over the top but our clients know their customers are getting exceptional customer service and confident their information is secure. Be assured, we do have teams looking at ways to open the architecture while maintaining these high security standards. We appreciate your enthusiasm and patience as we address these needs.

    Continue reading
  2. "Reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Columbus, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TSYS|Total System Services full-time

    Pros

    Pay dependant location, good working environment. Work from home, nice people, challenging environment. Comfortable places to sit and no assigned seating with the exception of sitting with your team.

    Cons

    Lot's of grey hairs which challenge the new way of thinking but this is something that can be overcome. No real 1 on 1's with you're current manager which was something I experienced at other companies which sought growth in it's employees.

    Continue reading
    TSYS|Total System Services2019-08-13
  3. "Digital Innovation Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer II in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TSYS|Total System Services full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay , Nice people

    Cons

    Seniority is valued over applicable experience. Very corporate.

    TSYS|Total System Services2019-07-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Emplyoees Expertise Have No Value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TSYS|Total System Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It pays really well, but at times it feels that the money is not worth the hassle and the lack of worth and the feeling of accomplishment and contribution.

    Cons

    1- The company has very little regarding for capable employees' expertise. 2- Lots of changes there were meant to make the company more agile and nimble, but there are lots of issues and things just don't work as they should. 3- Security take precedence over anything, including employees! 4- They only want "YES" man. If you have any ideas don't expect them to go anywhere. 5- No room for growth! Only a few select people located at the corporate offices have the chances that knowledgeable employees do! Forget it! If you are part of the "C" circle there's no change you can ever get anywhere. 6- Employees are expected to work overtime simply because they are mostly salary. 7- There very little regard for those who take pride in what they do daily. There's no recognition to those who really care about what they deliver. 8- The only one getting any recognition are those connected to management. 9- Oh, yeah! You can't contradict management as you can be written up and that would eventually be used to FIRE YOU!

    Continue reading
    TSYS|Total System Services2019-03-30
  5. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Developer in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at TSYS|Total System Services for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love working on your own and think for your own without nobody telling you what you're supposed to be doing, then this company is for you

    Cons

    - You are on your own. No help - yearly layoffs

    TSYS|Total System Services2019-02-07
  6. "Awesome company that really is moving in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Columbus, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TSYS|Total System Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    TSYS is full of team members that want to make a difference. Most of the people that I know here are very friendly and have great attitudes. They're trying to transition to performance based raises so high performers really are rewarded.

    Cons

    Some divisions (not all) appear to be losing sight of a healthy work/life balance. This isn't company wide, but something to be aware of. The same division also has promoted unhealthy competition between teams. It makes for a hostile work environment when we're working to out-do each other instead of working together.

    Continue reading
    TSYS|Total System Services2018-02-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Management of Acquisitions?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at TSYS|Total System Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent health benefits through Anthem BlueCross BlueShield, work-life-balance is OK, friendly office environment.

    Cons

    I didn’t work at the main TSYS campus in Georgia, and was located off campus in a different state for a company that was acquired by TSYS. So, I’m reviewing my experience with how TSYS managed the acquisition of a company, not what you’d experience at their main campuses. Initially we were able to manage our product offering with a reasonable degree of freedom. However, once TSYS decided to more completely “manage” the product, seamless would not be the word I would use to describe the process. It eventually ended with closing two offices, and offshoring of development, after three years of “management”. So, I can’t really give a positive review, under these circumstances.

    TSYS|Total System Services2017-06-29
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TSYS|Total System Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly coworkers of all skill levels who are always open to collaboration - Management took a sincere interest in what projects I wanted to work on and skills I wanted to develop - Lots of interesting new projects right now that use React and React Native, great time to get in - Breaks up work cycle with events for watching conferences about modern technologies for the sake of learning, team appreciation events just for having fun

    Cons

    - persistent issues with network security settings blocking necessary API calls and tools, lost a lot of productivity to it (but they're working on it) - Intermittent compliance training mandated by corporate is pretty boring

    TSYS|Total System Services2017-05-11
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Software Developer Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Development Engineer in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TSYS|Total System Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and Work/Life balance.

    Cons

    Their commitment to doing the right thing has slipped over the last year or so. The compensation package hasn't kept up with the market and they haven't paid into profit sharing account even though their earnings have be incredible.

    Continue reading
    TSYS|Total System Services2017-05-26
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Leave while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Golden, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TSYS|Total System Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    resume padding... Really its a big company and looks good on a resume. Until word gets out at least...

    Cons

    Everything. The company has entered a death spiral. It is best to leave as its easier to find a job while you still have one. Management started an indiscriminate culling to seek even higher profits, removing the jobs of those that helped build this company, in many cases exemplary employees with contributions in the millions. The corporate culture has been killed. Morale is down. Noone matters. With these kind of ratings no employee with a choice will pick tsys. Tsys has ended the age of record profits. The chiefs killed it. Not a competitor. Thanks patti! PS I wonder if TSYS owns ethisphere...

    Continue reading
    TSYS|Total System Services2017-04-06
Found 33 reviews