TWG Insurance Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

TWG Insurance Account Executive Reviews

Updated Apr 11, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
TWG Insurance CEO Mark E. Jones (no image)
Mark E. Jones
10 Ratings
  1. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TWG Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best thing about working at Goosehead, is being able to help other people find solutions with their insurance. An added bonus is you're surrounded with a great family of liked minded people. Since the day I started, I have felt more than welcomed in the office, and building relationships with my superiors and mentors is a huge Pro. More importantly, having coaches available to my everyday process. This is only setting me up for the mass amount of success that can be achieved here at Goosehead. The work environment is Great! Management is world class and having them as mentors through your process, just gives you the most grit and drive to making sure you're performing and organized daily.

    Cons

    The only Con is there is a lot to distinguish through the carriers. But rather than con, it's more of an educational process. It comes with time. Everything about Goosehead is tremendous and World Class.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2018-04-11
  2. "Great place to work and grow with if you are willing to work hard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fairly young company, a lot of hires directly from college so it is a really good environment if you are in the 21-35 age bracket. - As a quickly growing company (fastest growing independent insurance agency in the US) there is and will continue to be A LOT of room for advancement. - The company does a good job of setting up extra-curricular events and rec league teams for the employees to enjoy. Dodgeball, Softball and Volleyball leagues as well as monthly happy hours and other events. - For the sales side, the pay is as good as you are and grows overtime since you get renewals every year on the clients that you maintain. The longer you stay, the more you make regardless of advancement opportunities. - Management has shown that they care about the well being and happiness of the employees. - The company has strong ethical values (hard to find in the insurance world) and has shown time and time again that they will cut loose people who breach integrity or write unethical business (even top producers and tenured agents).

    Cons

    - Training can be arduous and a lot is expected of you. - Like any sales position, it is very stressful (especially when you are behind) and can sometimes become overwhelming if you are not good at managing your stress. - Especially early on, you will be putting in a lot more than 40 hours a week. But in this job, the more you work the more money you can make and the faster you will advance so if you are willing to work hard early and often it will pay off dividends. - Benefits, while affordable, are a bit lackluster when it comes to coverage. - If you want an easy job where you come in, chill and get on Facebook from 9-5 this is not the place for you.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2014-09-19
  3. "Lots of opportunity if you are willing to work for it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Irving, TX
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TWG Insurance part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Like other insurance agencies, if you put in the work up front (the first three years or so), you get paid big dividends every year after. You can definitely make a lot of money within a few years and set yourself up for a cushy paycheck in the long-term. Also, you get the feel of managing your own clientele, which helps you build autonomy in your job as you progress in your career. The industry and this firm are very stable, so job security is high. The training program is very helpful and everyone at the company wants to help you succeed.

    Cons

    Even in interviews, you are informed about how tough it is mentally to do well in this job. The learning curve coupled with the small paycheck at the beginning plus long hours don't add up to be worth it for a lot of people. If you have a vision of your priorities, stick to it through the ups and downs and you'll fare better.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2013-11-15
  4. "Amazing Growth Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    TWG is a relatively young company, since we've been around for only 10 years. This offers you the unique opportunity to grow your career with a company that is growing with you. Most managers have been promoted from within, so as the company grows that provides more opportunities to advance your position. The pay structure and compensation is excellent. First year agents have base plus commission and the next year are compensated solely off of commissions. The executive team is extremely knowledgeable and have the company growing in a smart, sustainable way. They also take input from employees and use that to improve processes or fix issues. I also like that depending on what you want out of your career, there is a defined career path that correlates with that.

    Cons

    The job can be hard work and you will put in a lot of hours your first year, but I don't think that is outside of the norm, since that will be the case just about anywhere you go.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2013-09-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I will begin and end my career at TWG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Fun and energetic culture, of like-minded individuals! -The people I work are the people I would rather associate myself with because of their desire to be great! -Limitless growth potential. I sincerely mean this when I say "Limitless" -Constant Improvement. You're manager and team will always find ways to improve. I like this because I'm a firm believer in never accepting mediocrity. -Great Leadership, I can't stress that enough. Our leaders running the company care more about their employees than any other company I've come across. -Flexible schedule. After I worked a couple years in the company, I now have the freedom to work more hours scheduled the way I need it.

    Cons

    When you start out you will probably work longer hours and make less money compared to your friends. It's a sales job, and there will always be hard times. With hard work, determination and TIME you will be success at this job.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2013-05-29
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Great Sales Experience-This is a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    I had no idea what glassdoor was until some of my co-workers were discussing the site one day in the office. I asked one of my closest colleagues to describe exactly what the site’s purpose was and what was going on. Some of the top producers in the company had recently quit or had been let go…and the rumor mill was in full force. My friend informed me that the site contained multiple misleading reviews about the company, but some of the reviews were quite accurate. I worked at TWG for less than two years, and I saw everything. From close friends unexpectedly quitting, to top agents being fired for insubordination…you couldn’t predict what would happen when you walked in the door for work. Because the company is so young, the culture is constantly evolving. The pay structure, the hours, the incentives, the parties, the rules, the atmosphere, the morale, and the people are always subject to change. If you have a hard time adapting to change, TWG is not the place for you. The company is still in its infancy, and everyone from the new agent in the training room to the CEO is constantly learning and adapting. I joined TWG because I didn’t want to join a large company with a corp environment right after college. I wanted to be recognized for my hard work through promotions as quick as possible, and I wanted to learn sales. I don’t regret my decision for one minute. Clearly, if you read all of these reviews you will understand that this job isn’t for the lackadaisical. You must be cognizant of the fact that this job is quite difficult. You will be tested mentally, physically, and most of all emotionally. You will feel bored, annoyed, angry, and discouraged…welcome to sales. Every month you are expected to work your butt off. However, the harder you work the more you will get back. Everyone has a hard time making the transition from college to their first “real world” job. I feel as though TWG received a lot of negative press from the employees who couldn’t handle the pressure and time commitment expected of you here. This is sales people, this is a career…not a walk in the park. You can’t wake up and “take the day off” like you could in school. You are constantly on the grind, and every day you are busy. In college, I followed most of my classmates in the “work hard..play hard” mentality. At TWG you can definitely play hard, but you must work efficiently. It was hard for me to leave TWG in order to pursue a different career in my hometown. After working in financial services for almost three months, I actually missed the insurance business. I now work on the commercial side of the insurance arena, but I definitely owe TWG credit for giving me an invaluable sales experience. The least I could do was write an honest review on this site. Pros: -You can actually see your contribution in the overall success of the company. -I was never micromanaged; just do your job and you won’t be bothered. Work hard…perform well. You will be rewarded with flex-time, longer lunches etc. -The company is constantly growing, and doing extremely well. -Incredible office and location. Las Colinas is rapidly becoming a premier location for businesses. -The opportunities for advancement come at you quickly. Your overall performance can open doors. -Your manager actually cares about your success, their paycheck depends on it. -The people. Everyone is young and full of energy. The competition pushes you to strive for excellence. Everyone is working just as hard as you are, so everyone is ready to unwind after a long day. -Constant opportunities for happy hours, Rangers/Stars/Mavs games, volleyball, kickball, and weekend getaways. -Goal hit lunches and dinners, occasional cash incentives. -The relationships your build with your coworkers. All my friends looked at me like I was crazy when I told them I was going to hang out with my co-workers during the weekend. I find that to be a very unique quality. I consider many of my old colleagues as best friends and trustworthy advisors. -Hours. You can leave at 6pm if you want, they will never force you to stay. However, if you aren’t working a little more than the official office hours at your first job, you will not succeed. The day flies by if you are working efficiently. -You do not have to come in on Saturday, if you want to you can. The previous posts are BS. -The CEO values honesty, integrity, and hard work. The company’s successes and failures ride on his shoulders. He is clearly leading this company in the right direction. He truly cares about all of his employees. -You have the potential to earn commission your first year. The agents in my start group who could sell and who worked hard saw bonuses and commission. -Call center in Manilla does all the “cold calling”. These leads are handed to you on a silver platter. -The Risk Management Dept does a fantastic job, they are there to protect the company and the agents.

    Cons

    -Selling is a roller coaster ride, you feel on top of the world one day...but the next you feel helpless. -No ownership of your book. Once you leave TWG, your book of clients goes to the corporate account. -Commission percentages could be adjusted. -High pressure. "call center" atmosphere -Benefits could be better.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2012-03-27
  7. Helpful (8)

    "A great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    Great people, great management, great product, and you get weekends off.

    Cons

    You have to work hard at first to build your success. Patients will be needed to start off the job, but it will pay off in the long run.

    TWG Insurance2011-09-07
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Phenomenal Structure Compared to Previous Sales/Consulting Positions I've had; but Definitely Not for Everyone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    If you have the fortitude and desire to work hard, smart and ethically to earn a great long-term living with reasonable job security and a positive working environment, this is an excellent place for you: The most important word in the previous sentence is the word "If." A ton of the posts on this site highlight a romanticized view of the perfect job for everyone, and others are clearly posted by disgruntle employees upset about their lack of success in the workplace or the fact that they were caught doing things they shouldn't. One of the things I respect most about this company is that no one employee is view by the upper management as 'above the law' so to speak. I have worked in various corporate environments and learned that unfortunately incompetence and laziness are simply a matter of life with many of America's top companies (name banks, hospital, government agency or restaurant to your self and observe their employees if you doubt this). At TWG I have a daily goal which is reasonably realistic (admittedly aggressive, as any progressive sales company should be), and a weekly and monthly goal based on this number that I am expected to achieve; and rewarded when I do so. I fully acknowledge that the company's checks and balance system will become aware if I engage in any destructive practices. This means that I have absolutely zero incentive to try to lie, cheat or steal my way to the top. I have to rely solely on my principles, sales skills, and hard work to achieve success. The income structure clearly supports employees who have a long-term commitment to the company, and justifiably so. Realistically, why would any relatively young company reward fair-weather employees? I, personally, want to work for a company that I know is providing a service to its clients, and will benefit me long-term for helping to provide that service. Quite honestly, I don't care much about the first year's income; with the economy as it is I'm thankful that I haven't had to miss a paycheck since I started work after College. I'm more concerned that I will be able to support my family when they need me years down the road, that I'll be able to retire comfortably and enjoy a long-lasting career without the stress of job hopping every few years. The innovative nature of the company is also quite impressive. Having bought and sold several houses prior to employment here, and helping dozens of others to do the same, I have never seen many of the features utilized by TWG in this industry. It is very refreshing to be able to correctly state to my friends that no other insurance company that I know of does business the way that we do, and that I can confidently state that for a very large majority of our prospective customers, we are poised to provide them the best service available. (Hats off to our service team for this, especially) The lower level management system currently in place is proving to be pretty effective as well. I have regular meetings behind closed doors with my immediate supervisor so that I can discuss any issues or concerns that I have with my performance, with my co-workers, etc. I have yet to have an concern that wasn't answered swiftly and to my satisfaction. While no management style is perfect for everyone, the "How Can We Help You Be Successful" attitude is immensely appreciated. Even when I have been behind my projected goal (and have been a few times), meetings focus on the necessary changes required to return my production numbers back into the black. It's never a question of "Why are you under performing" but has so far always been "I know you can perform better; how can I help you reach your potential?"

    Cons

    If you want a 9-5 job that will let you get by with minimum effort and no real commitment and dedication, please don't waste your time or our corporate resources. Is this the easiest job ever? No Will you work long hours? Yes Will you earn more than the Salary the first year? No (in fact, the CEO informed me prior to my accepting the offer letter that I should anticipate earning at or around the salary the first year) Will there be pressure to work overtime? Not if you work hard during the regular 44 hour work week! Do I work more than the required 44 hours? Yes, solely because of my poor (but improving) time management skills, and has only included one Saturday due to a ton of missed production days that I needed to catch up from. If you plan on working for a year or two, then moving on to something else, please don't even apply for this position. Since the model is based for long-term employee benefit and retention your first year will require a lot more work than other sales jobs. If you want to make 100K your first year out of college, then go sell mortgages and accept the risk of no residual income if your sales falter. If you can accept a modest income while you build a book of business worthy of being rewarded year after year, then the model works for you. The job is office based. You will likely be at a desk for a year doing nothing but selling insurance. If you join with the intentions of moving on to bigger and better things within the company, make sure that you can accept paying your dues becoming proficient at phone-based sales before you expect anyone to give you a shot at any more prestigious positions or sales models. If you can't handle rejection, don't like pressure, or are easily frustrated with customers doing illogical things this probably not a good fit for you. Since we service a very broad market we see a lot of people make poor choices and it can be very frustrating when people tell you "no" for the sole reason that they are willingly doing the wrong thing because it takes less effort or feels better. Again I stress the largest con: This job requires a lot of work. At times it feels futile (as any sales agent will tell you on a bad day) to try to keep up with all of the activities and follow ups with customers that require attention. Sometimes I feel so limited by my time management that I have no clue how more senior agents produce so well and maintain their work-life balance. Any new hires should remember to focus long term, and always practice principles that hold true regardless of scale. I'm working on this greatly, and have improved some, but am still not as efficient as I would like to be, and will likely take a good bit longer to satisfy myself. Also, if you're the type of sales person prone to manipulate, fabricate, mislead, or otherwise misrepresent material information just to get the sale or earn the revenue, don't even bother with TWG. The checks and balance system will catch you, and is ever-improving. While honest mistakes happen, it is very evident that malicious behavior of this nature is not tolerated, regardless of how much revenue you're bringing in.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2011-06-17
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Great company with an even greater future."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    1. Managment -From the top to the bottom all individiduals in leadership positions not only want TWG to thrive, but want each individual succeed in all aspects of life. 2. Compensation Structure -Although no structure is ever perfect, in general, pay strucutre at TWG compensates fairly and provides GREAT longterm growth opportunity. If you plan on making $75K after your first year this job may not be the right one for you. -However, if you truly put the time and the work into your job and have the patience to do what it takes to succeed you will top the 6-figures probably in 4-7 years. If you are a soon top be college grad think about how many of your friends 4-7 years from now at ages 25-28 will be making 100K or more a year. 3. Work Schedule -In my opinion, could be considered both a pro and a con. Admitedly, this is not the job for someone looking to work 40 hours a week. Hours are officially (8-6pm M-Th, 8-5pm F). If you are in the top 10% or so you will have more flexibility than this. With my math, that makes required working hours about 44 per week which is not at all unreasonable for a job that is predominantly sales. 5. People! Our CEO will tell you that this company's competitive advantage is truly its people. Although I am not close with every individual at the office, I can say that those that work here, for the most part, care very much about making the office a great atmosphere and a comfortable place to work. 6. Comapny Events -Although this is more of a bonus than a positive, I do appreciate the fact that TWG cares enough about its employees to spend hug amounts of money every other month or so for an event that rewards its employees. These events are also an excellent way for co-workers to get to know one another better, which makes the workplace a much more comfortable place. 6. Diversity -When I started work at TWG, one demographic accounted for the vast majority of employees at the company. I can now say that this is quickly changing. Although a slow process, recruiters at TWG are making a huge effort to recruit outside the box. By this I mean that TWG is no longer soly recruiting large state Universities. They are using other resources that are more capable of finding qualified individuals from a multitude of backgrounds and life experiences .Although bringing diversity into the workplace is a slow process, I am already seeing a huge difference from the day I started working.

    Cons

    1. Work Schedule -This, like I said above, is both a Pro and a Con. I completely agree with the official work hours here but, unfortunately, often find it difficult to actually be ready to go by 6pm. This is partly because I am still learning to become more efficient at how I manage my time, but is also partly because I am often stuck on the phone with a potential client that requires attending to at a late hour. Neither of these issues are the direct fault of TWG, but ARE an inevitable part of a sales career, especially this one. With time, I am sure I will learn how to use my time better and put myself in position to head home at closing. Many people, even less experienced people do this. 2. Emotional Toll -As this job is cyclical in nature, there will be times that will make you want to question your desire to stick with it, or will make you question your ability to succeed (In my opinion, this more than any other factor has contributred to the high turnover that other before have referred to). It is important, however, to always think long term with this job. It is also important to be mentally tough so that down times only make you stronger and do not casue you to make a rash decision and give up before having an opportunity to succeed.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2011-06-14
  10. "Terrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    - Work with a lot of great people. You develop close friendships with those you experience adversity with so naturally you develop a lot of really great friendships at TWG.

    Cons

    - Compensation is out of whack. If insurance is really your thing work for a different firm that rewards you for your performance and doesn't look for opportunities to withhold commissions. - Morale is terrible. More than half of all account executives are actively looking for a way out. - No book ownership - Very misleading recruiting tactics

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2011-05-12
Found 12 reviews