TWG Insurance "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

TWG Insurance Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 30, 2014

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
TWG Insurance CEO Mark E. Jones (no image)
Mark E. Jones
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun work environment, including extracurricular activities once or more each week(in 14 reviews)

  • "Hard work is rewarded, no politics involved(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "The learning curve coupled with the small paycheck at the beginning plus long hours don't add up to be worth it for a lot of people(in 11 reviews)

  • "You basically work in a glorified call center, so you are constantly getting phone calls(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Phenomenal Structure Compared to Previous Sales/Consulting Positions I've had; but Definitely Not for Everyone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    If you have the fortitude and desire to work hard, smart and ethically to earn a great long-term living with reasonable job security and a positive working environment, this is an excellent place for you: The most important word in the previous sentence is the word "If." A ton of the posts on this site highlight a romanticized view of the perfect job for everyone, and others are clearly posted by disgruntle employees upset about their lack of success in the workplace or the fact that they were caught doing things they shouldn't. One of the things I respect most about this company is that no one employee is view by the upper management as 'above the law' so to speak. I have worked in various corporate environments and learned that unfortunately incompetence and laziness are simply a matter of life with many of America's top companies (name banks, hospital, government agency or restaurant to your self and observe their employees if you doubt this). At TWG I have a daily goal which is reasonably realistic (admittedly aggressive, as any progressive sales company should be), and a weekly and monthly goal based on this number that I am expected to achieve; and rewarded when I do so. I fully acknowledge that the company's checks and balance system will become aware if I engage in any destructive practices. This means that I have absolutely zero incentive to try to lie, cheat or steal my way to the top. I have to rely solely on my principles, sales skills, and hard work to achieve success. The income structure clearly supports employees who have a long-term commitment to the company, and justifiably so. Realistically, why would any relatively young company reward fair-weather employees? I, personally, want to work for a company that I know is providing a service to its clients, and will benefit me long-term for helping to provide that service. Quite honestly, I don't care much about the first year's income; with the economy as it is I'm thankful that I haven't had to miss a paycheck since I started work after College. I'm more concerned that I will be able to support my family when they need me years down the road, that I'll be able to retire comfortably and enjoy a long-lasting career without the stress of job hopping every few years. The innovative nature of the company is also quite impressive. Having bought and sold several houses prior to employment here, and helping dozens of others to do the same, I have never seen many of the features utilized by TWG in this industry. It is very refreshing to be able to correctly state to my friends that no other insurance company that I know of does business the way that we do, and that I can confidently state that for a very large majority of our prospective customers, we are poised to provide them the best service available. (Hats off to our service team for this, especially) The lower level management system currently in place is proving to be pretty effective as well. I have regular meetings behind closed doors with my immediate supervisor so that I can discuss any issues or concerns that I have with my performance, with my co-workers, etc. I have yet to have an concern that wasn't answered swiftly and to my satisfaction. While no management style is perfect for everyone, the "How Can We Help You Be Successful" attitude is immensely appreciated. Even when I have been behind my projected goal (and have been a few times), meetings focus on the necessary changes required to return my production numbers back into the black. It's never a question of "Why are you under performing" but has so far always been "I know you can perform better; how can I help you reach your potential?"

    Cons

    If you want a 9-5 job that will let you get by with minimum effort and no real commitment and dedication, please don't waste your time or our corporate resources. Is this the easiest job ever? No Will you work long hours? Yes Will you earn more than the Salary the first year? No (in fact, the CEO informed me prior to my accepting the offer letter that I should anticipate earning at or around the salary the first year) Will there be pressure to work overtime? Not if you work hard during the regular 44 hour work week! Do I work more than the required 44 hours? Yes, solely because of my poor (but improving) time management skills, and has only included one Saturday due to a ton of missed production days that I needed to catch up from. If you plan on working for a year or two, then moving on to something else, please don't even apply for this position. Since the model is based for long-term employee benefit and retention your first year will require a lot more work than other sales jobs. If you want to make 100K your first year out of college, then go sell mortgages and accept the risk of no residual income if your sales falter. If you can accept a modest income while you build a book of business worthy of being rewarded year after year, then the model works for you. The job is office based. You will likely be at a desk for a year doing nothing but selling insurance. If you join with the intentions of moving on to bigger and better things within the company, make sure that you can accept paying your dues becoming proficient at phone-based sales before you expect anyone to give you a shot at any more prestigious positions or sales models. If you can't handle rejection, don't like pressure, or are easily frustrated with customers doing illogical things this probably not a good fit for you. Since we service a very broad market we see a lot of people make poor choices and it can be very frustrating when people tell you "no" for the sole reason that they are willingly doing the wrong thing because it takes less effort or feels better. Again I stress the largest con: This job requires a lot of work. At times it feels futile (as any sales agent will tell you on a bad day) to try to keep up with all of the activities and follow ups with customers that require attention. Sometimes I feel so limited by my time management that I have no clue how more senior agents produce so well and maintain their work-life balance. Any new hires should remember to focus long term, and always practice principles that hold true regardless of scale. I'm working on this greatly, and have improved some, but am still not as efficient as I would like to be, and will likely take a good bit longer to satisfy myself. Also, if you're the type of sales person prone to manipulate, fabricate, mislead, or otherwise misrepresent material information just to get the sale or earn the revenue, don't even bother with TWG. The checks and balance system will catch you, and is ever-improving. While honest mistakes happen, it is very evident that malicious behavior of this nature is not tolerated, regardless of how much revenue you're bringing in.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2011-06-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Glad to be out of this company..best thing I ever did"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TWG Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -You will meet some nice people here -The company does do fun events from time to time such as dodge-ball tournaments, BBQ, fancy holiday party -Office space is nice and breakfast was provided every week -Some people have flexible schedules where they are out of the office more and able to set their own schedule -Sometimes during hot periods the company will let you wear shorts or have theme days -Casual Fridays

    Cons

    -Compensation is ridiculous- the company hired a lot of people right out of college who don't realize how little they are making and killing themselves to do so -Long hours expected- they have a set schedule of hours 8-6 M-Th and 8-5 F. However, if you are there at 8 and not before its frowned upon. If you leave on time, its frowned upon. And lunch had better be 1 hour on the dot. There is no flexibility for 99% of employees -A certain member of upper management is arrogant and sue happy- tons of employees who have left to go sell insurance have been hit with lawsuits- so be careful if selling insurance is something you want to do as a career (common knowledge within the company.) This person likes to refer to anyone who leaves the company as barnacles on his TWG ship- talks a lot of trash about those who leave the company anytime he wants- company staff meetings, the hallway, etc. -Lots of immature people and drama- they hire right out of college, so its not a shock but this company does not have the maturity of other organizations -Company definitely plays favorites and its no secret who those favorites are, as a result there are a lot of double standards and promotions that don't always make sense -Lots of egos in this company -Company also has people go in and post positive reviews- this is done regularly- so be careful if you are basing your decision off of only the positives

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2014-01-30
  3. "Lots of opportunity if you are willing to work for it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Irving, TX
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TWG Insurance part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Like other insurance agencies, if you put in the work up front (the first three years or so), you get paid big dividends every year after. You can definitely make a lot of money within a few years and set yourself up for a cushy paycheck in the long-term. Also, you get the feel of managing your own clientele, which helps you build autonomy in your job as you progress in your career. The industry and this firm are very stable, so job security is high. The training program is very helpful and everyone at the company wants to help you succeed.

    Cons

    Even in interviews, you are informed about how tough it is mentally to do well in this job. The learning curve coupled with the small paycheck at the beginning plus long hours don't add up to be worth it for a lot of people. If you have a vision of your priorities, stick to it through the ups and downs and you'll fare better.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2013-11-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Get in while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TWG Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Constant growth opportunities, Open door policy with CEO, Outstanding training, Professional & Fun work environment, Top of the line technology and equipment, Warm leads handed to you on a silver platter, Pay based on meritocracy (con if you are not self motivated), healthy internal and external competition

    Cons

    Long Hours, Benefits are cheap, but can have limited coverage

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2013-06-27
  5. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesman in Colleyville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TWG Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I haven't worked there in years, but I guess the pro would be: 1) The folks you work with are young, college grads and very nice people 2) You get a based plus commission salary 3) You have benefits

    Cons

    Again, this was a while ago, but to join the site they make ya write a review, so based on past experience - Basically all the cons listed on here are true. Long hours, asked to work weekends, low pay unless you were there for a long time. As for the training - I fell through the cracks because I barely got any at the time. I knew other people who got alot more training and did better.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2012-08-03
  6. "Great people, but high pressure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    Young company makes for a fun culture. If you can sell over the phone you will have the opportunity to advance quickly.

    Cons

    The first year is very tough. You have to be willing to put in long hours for very little compensation in the short term. If you don't have the right personality to sell over the phone it's pretty rough.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2011-01-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Oppurtunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Associate in Colleyville, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    Base Salary + Commision - Most insurance jobs are commission only. Here you are guaranteed a paycheck to live on while having the potential to earn alot more. Good support from manangement to create business and new relationships. Very Qualified Leaders running the company. - The CEO and VP know how to grow a business.

    Cons

    Sales is not for everyone. Long hours

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2010-04-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "This is a Career, not a job, act like it !!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Associate in Colleyville, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    The main reason I chose TWG is the opportunity to move up in a young successful company as fast as I can handle it. TWG is a complete meritocracy, which means you can move up as fast as you prove yourself in many aspects. The other reason I love my job here is the fact that I am not a number in some large corporation. I have direct contact with CEO, COO, Directors, and Managers on an every day basis. Another reason is the fact that my success at TWG is in my hands. I know this is a career and any career you must work very hard everyday to acheive those goals. The good thing is, in a sense I am building my own business with in TWG and because of that I can not blame anybody, but myself on how hard I work and how many sales I have. The last reason is the fact that everyday there will be new clients, new phone calls, and completely different work days. The bottom line is I enjoy my career here, because I love being rewarding for my hard work and that hard work is going to lead me to endless opportunities at TWG.

    Cons

    At the end of the day this is a sales job. With any sales there is going to be bad days, and possibly bad months. The past is easily forgotten, be better than the day before and you will be fine. Like I mentioned earlier, I look at my job as building my own business here, with building that new business there will be long hours and long weeks to get any business off to a good start. Not every perspective client is going to be the " ideal client " however just stay positive and be willing to cater to each client in their own way.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2009-11-20
  9. "The Good, The Bad, And ALL The Ugly About TWG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Associate in Colleyville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    First let me start this review by saying I'm writing this because I wish I would have known all the good and the bad about TWG before joining. When I joined in 2008 there was just no information out there. My history at TWG was lengthy, and I received many commission checks as a good producer. I did not leave TWG because I "couldn't hack it." Most current TWG employees would have you believe that is why everyone leaves. All Pros and Cons here don't apply to all employees (for example, if you are an exceptional salesperson, pay will be better for you), but will apply to 90-95% of all people reading this. Enough of that and on to the positive. 1. Great people. Most of the agent base at TWG is extremely talented. The people are smart, energetic, young, and fun. Most graduated near the top of their class from great colleges throughout Texas and elsewhere. Most are also very hardworking. 2. Stability. As long as you are a decent salesperson, you never run the risk of losing your job at TWG. Few people get fired for under performance (although it does happen). Also, the insurance industry in general didn't seem to take a hit at all (at least as far as we at TWG were concerned) during the recession through much of 2008 and 2009. This means if you are a decent salesperson, you can work at TWG without running the risk of being laid off. One other positive point about stability is that unlike other insurance opportunities out there, at TWG you start with no debt (I'll explain why that can also be a bad thing later). TWG will pay for all your equipment, leads, etc. 3. Directors make lots of money. If you are fortunate enough to rise to the ranks of director at TWG, you will do VERY well for yourself. There is no denying this. Also, if you are in the minority of being in the top 5% of salespeople, you will also make very good money, even if you are a Client Associate or a Manager. 4. Upper Management (this is a good and bad one). The CEO and COO are both ex-Bain partners. They are very smart businessmen, and they know it. This can be good for the company, because years of helping companies solve their problems is a great background and has proven successful so far at TWG. 5. Relative Autonomy. As a Client Associate, you do have some autonomy. Although you have to be there at 8 and you can't leave for home before 6, what you do to make sales in between time is up to you. You can't just leave for hours on end, but on the same token, your Manager most likely isn't going to be timing your lunch break. This relative autonomy, however, is only given to you if you consistently hit your sales goals. If not, you might start to see some micro management.

    Cons

    1. Deceitful Recruiting. Turnover. Recruiters imply that turnover is virtually non-existent. However, from when I got hired to when I quit, over 60 agents were hired, but the agent base only grew by about 20 agents. I think you can do the math. Comparison to Accounting & Investment Banking. Really? This is nothing like those industries. This job is the equivalent of working at a call center. You learn no skills you could take to a future career (unlike accounting and investment banking). This job is NOT a stepping stone to another career and will only be beneficial if you want to be in insurance for the rest of your life. Painting an Untrue Picture. I know Upper Management has personally asked many of their favorite agents to fill out overwhelmingly positive reviews on glassdoor because "apparently recruits look at this stuff." That is just one of many examples. 2. Advancement. Advancement means... you do the exact same thing you did when you were a Client Associate. If you think advancing at TWG means you will eventually not have to sell insurance anymore, you are sorely mistaken. Even the Directors still sit in their cubicle and sell insurance for a majority of the day. The only real difference between them and a Client Associate is they make more money and they have a few added responsibilities. They are too valuable to take out of the sales force. Director Promotions Few and Far Between. In the past two years there have been no additional Directors added to the company, with the exception of one who was promoted to fill a gap of one who quit. The "waiting list" for Director already has some great candidates, and unless you plan on sticking it out for years and years, the ship has sailed on the "I'll join TWG and in 3 years become a Director" days. No Real Benefit to Being a Manager. The only benefit you have if you are promoted to Manager is the possibility of higher bonuses if your team hits its goal (and I guess the possibility of eventually being a Director). You do not get paid more and your commission structure doesn't change. If you are a great manager, and your team always hits goal, you do stand to earn a couple extra thousand over the year... but your team always hitting goal is not realistic. 3. Pay. Client Associates Pay is Poor. That is an understatement. It's terrible unless you are one of the top sellers. If, however, you are the 90-95% majority, you have a meager salary and when you do see commission, the amount you receive is staggeringly low. After you sell enough to become "commissionable," you make anywhere from 2-4% commission on the overall cost of the policy. The company is structured to make the guys at the top rich and the people at the bottom sweat it out. If you end up getting to the top, great. But for those that never do (99% of all people hired), then you worked your butt off and never really saw much benefit. Benefits Are Grossly Expensive. A family with children pays over $500 a month out of their own salary. A couple over $300, and a single person around $150. That in itself is a thousands of dollars salary reduction on an already meager salary. 4. Hours. Plan To Work 12 Hour Days. If you really want to advance, you should plan on working from 8 to 8, and come in on weekends. Most of the "dedicated" employee base does this. Therefore, if you want to be promoted, you pretty much have to do that just to be on the same playing field with your fellow employees. Long Hours of The Same Old Thing. This job is long hours of call center sales. You call lead after lead after lead after lead. That's what you do... all... day... long... Work Harder, Not Smarter. The people that are praised are the ones that show mindless determination to be the last ones at the office. Their work ethic is praised, while the guy that leaves at 6 is looked down on. 5. Book Ownership. At TWG, you don't own your book of business, TWG does. So that recurring revenue stream all other insurance agents get even if they quit or do it part time? You don't get that if you ever leave the company. Also, because they pay you a weak salary and for your leads they justify saying things like "we take the risk, therefore we own your book of business" or "you have to be in the office 45 hours a week because we pay you salary." 6. Upper Management. Atmosphere. Upper Management has created an atmosphere where people are scared to voice their complaints and opinions about the company for fear of Upper Management looking down on them or not liking them. This only leads to a majority of the employee base having a beef but refusing to tell anyone about it. Upper Management is Too Smart. Upper management is very talented, but that actually works against them. Because they are so smart, they seem to think they know it all and have a very hard time listening to their employees. This creates resentment in many employees.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2009-12-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Proceed at your own risk..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    You've already read all the glamorous reviews so I'll spare you comments about the huge income potential and how insurance is the most prestigious industry in the US. Oh, and lets not forget that you can be a director some day (which means they'll really hate you when you leave).

    Cons

    -Search around the site and you'll get a pretty good feel for what the job is like. The biggest downsides for me: -Low pay -High turnover -Very long hours

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2011-06-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews