Cover image for TWG Insurance
Logo

TWG Insurance

Is this your company?

TWG Insurance

Add a Review

TWG Insurance Employee Reviews about "twg insurance"

Updated Sep 5, 2013

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 81 of over 81 reviews
4.0
80% Recommend to a Friend
84% Approve of CEO

Found 16 of over 81 reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
TWG Insurance CEO Mark E. Jones (no image)
Mark E. Jones
60 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Bad benefits and low wages(in 7 reviews)
  • "Long Hours of The Same Old Thing.(in 7 reviews)
  • "However, our recruiting team is making necessary changes so that average pay, turnover, etc. are portrayed truthfully.(in 4 reviews)
  • "I know Upper Management has personally asked many of their favorite agents to fill out overwhelmingly positive reviews on glassdoor because 'apparently recruits look at this stuff.'(in 3 reviews)
  • "high pressure(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "twg insurance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Not much of a writer, but here it goes...

    Jun 7, 2010 - Client Associate in Colleyville, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are many things that make TWG Insurance a pleasant company to work for. I am confident when I say that every former and current employee will agree with me on the following points. 1. The people – every single individual that works at the company is an exceptional one. I made some very good friends during my time at TWG and I hope I will never lose contact with them. It was very easy to wake up in the morning and get ready to go to work, knowing that you would be surrounded by incredible people the whole time. 2. Freedom – the amount of liberty given to us at TWG is unlike any other I have experienced anywhere else. We were truly free to do whatever was necessary to achieve our goals. 3. Staying busy – one of my favorite things of working at TWG was that I almost always lost track of time. There were very few days where I had time to stare at my clock and wish it was time to leave. I would much rather have a job where I am busy, working the entire time, than one where I stare at the clock until the end of the day.

    Cons

    Every company has its flaws and TWG Insurance is no exception to this. 1. Location – I can only speak for the Colleyville office, because I never had the opportunity to work in the Houston office. The reality here is that most of the employee’s in the company are fresh out of college. They are young, and ready to take over the world. Colleyville is located in the middle of nowhere and I personally think that if the office moved to a more central location, there would be a lot more interest from potential recruits. 2. Compensation – the starting salary is low. The hopes of making commission money on the first year are also low. The New Jersey days are over and money will not come to you that easy. There is no doubt that in the long run your income potential is uncapped. Clearly obvious when looking at some of the people that have worked there the longest. However, it will be a while before any new person reaches those heights. This should be made clear from the beginning. 3. Hours worked vs. recognized – the days can be very long at TWG Insurance. I personally know this because I was often one of the last to leave the office. This is a sales job and sometimes, no matter how hard or long you work, people will still not want to buy from you. The biggest frustration here is that unless you are selling during those extra hours, they will go unnoticed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Would Recommend for about 1% of Applicants

    Feb 23, 2011 - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As mentioned before, great people. Almost everyone is within a few years of your age, so you work with your friends. The job can be good experience if you're looking to make a career out of sales. If you go in and sell your way to the top 5-10%, you can earn some freedom with your time albeit the freedoms are fairly limited.

    Cons

    If history is any indication, the odds of your success at TWG are pretty slim. How do you argue with 75% turnover over two years? The company has not experienced any positive growth in FTEs in the last two years. There are a few that have stayed and plan to stay at TWG for the foreseeable future but when I left, I knew of more people looking to make a change than not. I know of no better way to sum up the general feeling at TWG. The numbers don't lie. Why such turnover? The TWG rebuttal to this is that these are weak employees that couldn't hack it; barnacles on the ship that needed to be removed. Interestingly the employees making these comments have never sold insurance a single day at TWG. They are CFOs, risk management, or the CEO out of touch with what an Account Executive does at TWG with totally different jobs and responsibilities. But maybe TWG has just repeatedly gotten bad bunches of apples. Maybe they just have had bad luck with picking in the wrong orchards over and over again. One last point - when I was recruited, I got a letter from the CEO with 'average' earnings numbers over the course of a few years. In my experience, I would say those numbers were accurate for about 3-5% of the employees. For most, it will take much longer to attain anything close to what I was told. Everything else has already been mentioned in other reviews and doesn't need to be reiterated. You can find those reviews scattered throughout a flood of 'positive' reviews called for by the CEO. Yes, he asked that the employees flood this site with positive reviews to drown out the ones that had anything negative, so take the positive ones with a grain of salt. You may be among the few that enjoy insurance sales over the phone; I would just be sure that you understand completely what your responsibilities will be and the nature of the job. If the past is an accurate yardstick, the chances that you'll enjoy this job are paltry.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the TWG Insurance team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work and build a career

    Jun 24, 2010 - Agent in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TWG Insurance helped prepare me for my current role as a Project Managert role as a Project Managert role as a Project Manager for a fortune 100 company. My time at TWG was invaluable. The leadership within that organization really cares about their employees. They take a personal interest in helping develop your business skills. I have no doubt that my time at TWG paid major dividends for helping me get where I am today. From the office culture-second to none-to the endless job growth opportunities, TWG insurance is a great opportunity for any well-qualified job seeker.

    Cons

    Long work hours, but this is what you’d expect in a high octane, results oriented business

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Exceptional opportunity for ambitious, hard working, and entrepreneurial young business minds

    Jun 16, 2009 - Director in Colleyville, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a former Client Associate and Director at TWG Insurance, I can attest that working at this company prepared me in so many ways to start and run my own business. I'd like to point out that I graduated with High Honors from The University of Texas and started two companies while I was in college. I had multiple job offers from top tier companies and I left like TWG Insurance was the best starting point for my career. I can tell you that I don't regret my decision for one second. I feel like Mark Jones and the rest of the management staff and owners cared deeply about my professional development. I can also say, without a doubt, that I sharpened my sales and management skills here to a point where I was able to found and run my own successful small company.

    Cons

    This is not a place for everybody. You must be willing to work hard, work smart, and invest in your career. This is not a job for lazy people or the "get rich quick" crowd; however, your hard work will not go unnoticed and will pay off in the long run.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    TWG Insurance - A Unique Opportunity

    Sep 10, 2009 - Manager in Colleyville, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TWG Insurance is a true meritocracy. You truthfully will be rewarded professionally and financially for your hard work. You have an amazing opportunity for professional growth and development and an unparallel opportunity to advance your career quickly here. You are given a great deal of responsibility early on and much is expected of you. You are being guided by some of the greatest business minds around that have your success as their priority. The people that you work with are young, smart, fun and very ambitious; your colleagues will quickly become your mentors and friends. I came to TWG as an interim job, three years later I am still here as a manager, earning good money, having fun and am developing my professional skills. I donâ??t have plans on leaving anytime soon!

    Cons

    Face-paced work environment with the pressure of hitting goals can be challenging for some. You are required to work hard and are challenged daily.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    A Message to New Recruits

    May 30, 2010 - Client Associate in Colleyville, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The biggest positive at TWG is the people you work with. Due to competitive recruiting, you are surrounded by a lot of fun people that are fresh out of college. A select few people stand to make a lot of money at TWG.

    Cons

    The biggest negative at TWG is the compensation. There are a few people who are on track to make a lot of money at TWG... And I mean a few. The vast majority is over worked and under paid. Even though I was quite successful at acquiring new clients and well above average in new production every month, I found the ROI to be very disappointing. TWG is not living up to the expectations set in recruiting. There is talk of an IPO, but TWG is no where close to the trajectory needed to get there in the next 5-7 years like they tell you. Mid 2009 there was a staff meeting where upper management showed their plan to get the company staged for the IPO in the next 5-7 years. In order to keep up with that plan, monthly revenue needed to nearly double between mid 2009 and December 2009. Due to excessive recruiting and not enough lead sources, the monthly revenue didn't even increase by 20% in the time period. Even today, almost half way through 2010, TWG is no where close to where they wanted to be back on Dec 31st. They are a good 20 years out from being anywhere close to an IPO. You might have heard that TWG is doing something that has never been done before in the Insurance industry. There is a reason for this. Anyone with a lot of experience in the industry would know better. TWG's CEO started the company with no prior insurance experience. Go watch the clip of the info session that he spoke in and you'll see for your self. To this day, I don't think he has ever personally sold an insurance policy. Last I heard, he wasn't even licensed to sell a policy. He saw dollar signs and assumed that he was smarter than anyone else who had ever had ambitions of starting an insurance company had he dove in head first. As it turns out, there are plenty of smart people who work for insurance companies and there are plenty of large insurance brokers in Texas that are more successful by leaps and bounds. TWG has a ton of agents who all make a little money. Other insurance brokers have a few agents who all make a lot of money. TWG's business model is backwards. TWG's required hours are 8-6 Monday -Thursday and 8-5 on Friday... That is, if you are tracking at or ahead of goal. If you are behind you are expected to stay late and come in on weekends. All in all, you are lucky to make $15/hour and you work a ton of hours. Just as well kiss your hobbies goodbye. In recruiting they will tell you that they have staged everything so you can be successful. What they don't tell you is that they are going to, in essence, tie one hand behind your back. First, while competing for clients TWG is commonly up against other insurance brokers who write policies for the same companies that TWG does. The problem is that TWG charges a first year policy fee that is huge. Of the potential clients that I lost at TWG, a very large portion went with a company I quoted but through a broker who didn't charge a huge fee. TWG also has tons of restrictions on when and how you can write policies. With some carriers they require both home and auto to be written with the same carrier. With some carriers they have very low maximum Dwelling limits. TWG also has a history of having unhealthy relationships with the insurance companies they write for. They consistently fight loss ratio problems and have even been banned from insurance companies over it. They are also heavily weighted on 2 insurance companies. Probably half of all the new business through TWG is written with these 2 very small and new insurance companies new insurance companies new insurance comness through TWG is written with these 2 very small and new insurance comness through TWG is written with these 2 very small and new insurance companies. If something were to happen to either or both of those companies (both relationships are already strained), TWG's progress would grind to a fast halt.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Work hard, make lots of money.

    Apr 21, 2010 - Client Associate in Colleyville, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    To start, I want to share with everyone reading this what my professional background was prior to working at TWG. I believe this is relevant for you to know when reading my review. I spent several years employed for a “captive” insurance agency. By captive I mean, they only offered insurance for one company. I was not an agent for this company and if I had wanted to be one it would be a very long road until that opportunity was available (Very common across the industry). After that I spent time doing outside sales and marketing for a company that was not insurance related. With that being said I believe that my prior industry experience allows me to give me a very accurate review of TWG because if the experience I have outside of the company. TWG is one of the only companies that gives you an opportunity to become an insurance agent at such a young age. Most companies, including my previous employer, require you to have had at least 3-5 years of industry experience and be at least 30 years old. TWG has seen that it is important to hire young, energetic people to pave the way in this changing industry. The insurance is one of the best industries to get into, if you are able to be an agent (“Client Associate” at TWG). The reason for this is because as an Insurance Agent you will make more money than you would at any other sales position. Insurance policies renew every year or every 6months depending on the policy. Agents get PAID on every one of these renewals… so what does this mean for you? It means that every day you work you are just adding to your book of business and adding to your future income. Another way to put it is that at traditional sales jobs, at the end of the month you are a hero and then the beginning of the next month you are a zero… NOT the case at TWG. The TWG type of compensation is a very hard concept to wrap your head around if you have not had a lot of previous work experience. To make it more clear… imagine a line graph. A traditional sales job would consist of the line going from zero to some number for a month, then back to zero at the beginning of the next month. Insurance agents don’t start back at zero… the like keeps going up. This was something that I already knew before coming to TWG, and when I found out the “Client Associate” position was the position of being an Insurance Agent I thought it was too good to be true… but it’s NOT. The hardest thing for people to understand is that it is extremely rare to be given the opportunity to start the career of being an Insurance Agent at such a young age. TWG is kicking the image the industry had for being of full of “Good old Boys,” and giving the industry a facelift. I just explained to you the best part of being an agent (“Client Associate”) at TWG. The second best part, a very close second at that, is the supportive and fun work environment. Whether you have a good or bad day you will always come to work knowing that you have a team of managers who support you and WANT you to succeed. While this is WORK we do have fun too… it is so fulfilling working side by side with other people your same age who have the motive as you to be successful. We have team meetings several times a week where rally support for each other and encourage each other. We also talk about ways to improve as agents. Also, your manager has a weekly one on one with you where you get individual coaching. You might be asking “Is it hard being a Client Associate?” Well duh any job right out of college with HUGE income opportunities should be challenging… that’s why it’s called “Work.” When With that being said, yes, we work hard… but every day you spend working hard, you are just putting more money in your pocket… so the harder your work, the more money in the pocket! A very simple concept… work hard, make lots of money.

    Cons

    The problem I have with my job at TWG is the location… but this is my own problem because I knew where they were located before I chose to live 45min away. Although the Colleyville is very beautiful, I do look forward to when the office moves to an even more amazing office in the Las Colinas area which I am looking forward to. Several people had problems with the deductibles for the healthcare. The company did an entire overhaul of our benefits to make them more affordable and cost effective for the employees. This is a good example of the way TWG handles employee issues. They evaluate the situation and look for a better solution.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at TWG Insurance? Share Your Experiences

TWG Insurance logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

TWG Insurance Photos

+ Add Photo
TWG Insurance photo of: TWG Insurance - Dallas office
TWG Insurance photo of: Career Fair at Texas Tech - Spring 2020
TWG Insurance photo of: Career Fair at Texas A&amp;M
TWG Insurance photo of: Goosehead Gives Back
TWG Insurance photo of: Annual Party 2020
TWG Insurance photo of: Remote Working During COVID-19
TWG Insurance photo of: Annual Party 2020
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Goosehead Insurance Agency, LLC

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

TWG Insurance Job Seekers Also Viewed

Goosehead Insurance Logo
Goosehead Insurance

3.7

1,012 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 81 TWG Insurance reviews submitted anonymously by TWG Insurance employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if TWG Insurance is right for you.