TWG Insurance "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

TWG Insurance Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Apr 11, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
TWG Insurance CEO Mark E. Jones (no image)
Mark E. Jones
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun work environment, including extracurricular activities once or more each week(in 14 reviews)

  • "Hard work is rewarded, no politics involved(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "The learning curve coupled with the small paycheck at the beginning plus long hours don't add up to be worth it for a lot of people(in 11 reviews)

  • "You basically work in a glorified call center, so you are constantly getting phone calls(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TWG Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best thing about working at Goosehead, is being able to help other people find solutions with their insurance. An added bonus is you're surrounded with a great family of liked minded people. Since the day I started, I have felt more than welcomed in the office, and building relationships with my superiors and mentors is a huge Pro. More importantly, having coaches available to my everyday process. This is only setting me up for the mass amount of success that can be achieved here at Goosehead. The work environment is Great! Management is world class and having them as mentors through your process, just gives you the most grit and drive to making sure you're performing and organized daily.

    Cons

    The only Con is there is a lot to distinguish through the carriers. But rather than con, it's more of an educational process. It comes with time. Everything about Goosehead is tremendous and World Class.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2018-04-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best career decision I've made!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    TWG offers a chance for employees to make an immediate impact in the company. Management is open to new ideas and input from all levels of employees. Competitive pay and benefits. Fun work environment, including extracurricular activities once or more each week.

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con, but you will be pushed hard. Longer hours than some other jobs, but nobody successful works 40 hrs/week.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2013-08-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Get in while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TWG Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Constant growth opportunities, Open door policy with CEO, Outstanding training, Professional & Fun work environment, Top of the line technology and equipment, Warm leads handed to you on a silver platter, Pay based on meritocracy (con if you are not self motivated), healthy internal and external competition

    Cons

    Long Hours, Benefits are cheap, but can have limited coverage

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2013-06-27
  4. "They make all the right decisions, and are always guided by integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Positive, fun, energetic work environment -Strong leadership team that makes the "right" decisions and truly cares about their employees -Many opportunities for growth

    Cons

    -vacation time is 2 weeks accrued over time -hours go until 6, wish they went until 5

    TWG Insurance2013-06-21
  5. Helpful (11)

    "This company has the highest level of integrity and intellectual capital I have ever seen in a company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director of Business Development in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    -Incredible culture -Unlimited opportunity for growth -High level of integrity -Strong leadership -A "forward thinking" company that utilizes great technology, which makes the day to day work environment desirable -People in general are very content here, and there is a very positive atmosphere

    Cons

    -Vacation time is 2 wks until after your 3rd year, and you can not borrow advance days -Hours are strictly 8a-6p, many people come in earlier and work later, so hours can be long

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2012-03-13
  6. Helpful (8)

    "TWG Insurance is the right place for ambitious and dedicated people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    Hard work is rewarded, no politics involved. The work you put in is recognized by management. Management does a great job helping you develop your strengths and strengthen your weaknesses. Promotions and compensation are fair and merit based. Fun work environment and plenty of events/parties that allow for socializing outside of the office.

    Cons

    Just like every other company, some coworkers who don't want to put in the hard work necessary to develop their own skills and to further the productivity of the company as a whole can create negativity in the office.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2011-05-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Positive learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    1) you get to learn from the best 2) you don't have to wait 15 years to get a promotion 3) fun work environment, great people 4) commission on new sales + commission on renewals

    Cons

    1) not everyone can sell 2) people who are allergic to hard work can bring down office morale

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2011-06-01
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Strong learning and professional development."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    Great People Fast paced learning environment Management is respectful and knowledgeable Growing company Room for upward movement Pay for performance Fairly paid Fun work environment Great location (next to a bunch of restaurants) Very nice building Comfortable work environment Management is interested in you as a person

    Cons

    Pay for performance is a two edge sword- If you are performing well you are paid well but if you are having a slow month you do not get paid very much Work hours can be long Some employees have an entitlement attitude that gets frustrating to those around, some of the out of state hires have been particularly annoying

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2011-05-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "TWG, My Career Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    I am very happy at TWG and plan at this point to make it my career. Many of my close friends are co-workers and it is fun to work around a generally positive, energized team. Over the last couple of years there have been a number of major changes to help an agent succeed in his/her job. 1. Technology. The company's use of technology is awesome. TWG gives you the tools you need to be very successful. 2. Training. Starting with the August 2010 class, the company implemented a new training program that has been dynamite. People are well prepared for their jobs. In addition to managers working the floor, there is a floor trainer who circulates and helps people real time. Plus, work stations are clustered so everyone has at least one experienced person readily at hand to answer questions. In addition, the company has developed a good program for those interested in outside sales to mortgage lenders. It is led by a very experienced outside sales manager who supports and trains the participants well. 3. Management. The sales teams in Dallas are managed by full-time managers who's primary function is to help their people succeed. They are smart, use good analysis and are very helpful. 4. Product. In connection with expanding to other states, the company has added several new carriers. Our product is almost unbeatable. 5. Growth opportunities. My career is what I make it. I get the support I need from management and help focusing on my strengths. Team managementy is one option, outside sales is another, helping to open another market (New York right now) or another office (Chicago down the road), getting involved in marketing or other corporate projects, training is another possibility, etc. Growth creates opportunities for people to assume more responsibility. In 2 weeks we will be adding to our agent force by over 20% and adding to our service team by about 25%. 6. Work environment. The employee group is young, energetic and ambitious. The changes in training and management have resulted in strong morale. I don't believe we have had any turnover of new agents that completed training since these changes were made last summer. The office is very professional and comfortable and I am proud to show my friends and family where I work. 7. Flexibility. There are several women at TWG with children and the company does a good job helping them balance their responsibilities in a way that works for their lives. We have several women (in HR, Risk Management and Sales) who work from home part of the week. This flexibility helps make TWG a viable long term career option. 8. Ownership potential. I love working at a company where I know that strong performance and commitment over time can open the door to becoming a Director and partner in the company. 9. Executive leadership. They don't get everything right 100% of the time, but executive management is always willing to listen to my ideas. I know that I can get an appointment with Kevin, Mike, Robyn or Mark whenever I want to discuss something. I also know they care about me as an individual and are deeply committed to the success of TWG. Sometimes they have to make hard decisions but I am glad to know they place a very high priority on protecting everyone's livelihoods.

    Cons

    We work hard, but I would work hard wherever I worked. I want to succeed and build my career. Sometimes this means putting in a few extra hours. This is a sales company and attitude is an important part of being successful. It's great to work around people who encourage and lift you when you have a bad day or week and this is normally the case now. There used to be a group of employees who were constantly complaining and creating problems as opposed to being part of the solution. I think someone else referred to an "entitlement" attitude. Happily, most of these people are gone now so they are not here to drag others down with them. TWG is also a place where lots of change happens. This is part of the fun and excitement of working for an aggressive, nimble company. You need to be flexible to enjoy working here.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2011-05-26
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Work hard, make lots of money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Associate in Colleyville, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWG Insurance

    Pros

    To start, I want to share with everyone reading this what my professional background was prior to working at TWG. I believe this is relevant for you to know when reading my review. I spent several years employed for a “captive” insurance agency. By captive I mean, they only offered insurance for one company. I was not an agent for this company and if I had wanted to be one it would be a very long road until that opportunity was available (Very common across the industry). After that I spent time doing outside sales and marketing for a company that was not insurance related. With that being said I believe that my prior industry experience allows me to give me a very accurate review of TWG because if the experience I have outside of the company. TWG is one of the only companies that gives you an opportunity to become an insurance agent at such a young age. Most companies, including my previous employer, require you to have had at least 3-5 years of industry experience and be at least 30 years old. TWG has seen that it is important to hire young, energetic people to pave the way in this changing industry. The insurance is one of the best industries to get into, if you are able to be an agent (“Client Associate” at TWG). The reason for this is because as an Insurance Agent you will make more money than you would at any other sales position. Insurance policies renew every year or every 6months depending on the policy. Agents get PAID on every one of these renewals… so what does this mean for you? It means that every day you work you are just adding to your book of business and adding to your future income. Another way to put it is that at traditional sales jobs, at the end of the month you are a hero and then the beginning of the next month you are a zero… NOT the case at TWG. The TWG type of compensation is a very hard concept to wrap your head around if you have not had a lot of previous work experience. To make it more clear… imagine a line graph. A traditional sales job would consist of the line going from zero to some number for a month, then back to zero at the beginning of the next month. Insurance agents don’t start back at zero… the like keeps going up. This was something that I already knew before coming to TWG, and when I found out the “Client Associate” position was the position of being an Insurance Agent I thought it was too good to be true… but it’s NOT. The hardest thing for people to understand is that it is extremely rare to be given the opportunity to start the career of being an Insurance Agent at such a young age. TWG is kicking the image the industry had for being of full of “Good old Boys,” and giving the industry a facelift. I just explained to you the best part of being an agent (“Client Associate”) at TWG. The second best part, a very close second at that, is the supportive and fun work environment. Whether you have a good or bad day you will always come to work knowing that you have a team of managers who support you and WANT you to succeed. While this is WORK we do have fun too… it is so fulfilling working side by side with other people your same age who have the motive as you to be successful. We have team meetings several times a week where rally support for each other and encourage each other. We also talk about ways to improve as agents. Also, your manager has a weekly one on one with you where you get individual coaching. You might be asking “Is it hard being a Client Associate?” Well duh any job right out of college with HUGE income opportunities should be challenging… that’s why it’s called “Work.” When With that being said, yes, we work hard… but every day you spend working hard, you are just putting more money in your pocket… so the harder your work, the more money in the pocket! A very simple concept… work hard, make lots of money.

    Cons

    The problem I have with my job at TWG is the location… but this is my own problem because I knew where they were located before I chose to live 45min away. Although the Colleyville is very beautiful, I do look forward to when the office moves to an even more amazing office in the Las Colinas area which I am looking forward to. Several people had problems with the deductibles for the healthcare. The company did an entire overhaul of our benefits to make them more affordable and cost effective for the employees. This is a good example of the way TWG handles employee issues. They evaluate the situation and look for a better solution.

    Continue reading
    TWG Insurance2010-04-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews