TWIA Reviews | Glassdoor

TWIA Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
TWIA CEO John Polak
John Polak
13 Ratings
  1. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible managers , willing to train for a specific role, friendly people in the office, pension after 5 years of employment, good benefits,

    Cons

    When you excel in your position-they don't reward you (no pay bump), they say competitive salary but it's not . No additional pay for being bilingual.

    TWIA2017-08-23

    TWIA Response

    September 4, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are working hard to set competitive salaries compared to the market. Thank you for your contribution to the company and we welcome you to speak to us anytime.

  2. "Some good, some not so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Probably the main advantage is the pension benefit, very rare to find nowadays.

    Cons

    Poor project management, finger pointing and blame instead of a collaborative atmosphere, too many projects going on at one time

    TWIA2017-08-03

    TWIA Response

    September 4, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your tenure at TWIA. The collaboration of the projects is important to us and we encourage you to speak with us on ways to improve it. We appreciate your feedback.

  3. "Nice work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, competitive salary Good work/life balance

    Cons

    A little bureaucratic since it is a quasi-state organization Dress code

    TWIA2017-06-16

    TWIA Response

    September 4, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are very proud of our organization and we hope to continue providing a good atmosphere for all our staff.

  4. "Previous employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at TWIA

    Pros

    Small company provides a family feel

    Cons

    I am only completing this to keep full access

    TWIA2017-04-23

    TWIA Response

    September 4, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    I agree that we have a small-family feel to our organization, as we have been since 1971. Thank you for giving us a positive rating!

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Very Confused Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at TWIA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, vacation, holidays and sick time.

    Cons

    Low office morale, managers only looking out for themselves. Meetings show high quality control scores which was not true due to the excessive phone calls of errors . New system not user friendly for agents nor for TWIA employees having to use it and help the agents.

    Advice to Management

    Replace all management in TWIA.

    TWIA2017-04-30

    TWIA Response

    May 4, 2017Director of HR

    Thank you for your review.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "TWIA is 'OK'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA full-time

    Pros

    good benefits, familial environment[not including management], moving to more professional IT environment

    Cons

    too much reliance on contractors instead of grooming full time employees, more communication needed.

    TWIA2017-03-03

    TWIA Response

    September 4, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am glad we are able to provide good benefits and professional atmosphere. We value all our employees and we want to continue to develop our teams. We welcome you to speak with us anytime to continue that growth.

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very professional atmosphere and great people!

    Cons

    Still trying to shake off the way we were portrayed in the media in the years following Hurricane Ike. It is a completely different Association than it was back then and the reputation has been far slower to change than the company culture itself.

    TWIA2016-07-14

    TWIA Response

    May 4, 2017Director of HR

    Thank you for the review and important insights you have shared with the TWIA Glassdoor Community. We appreciate your tenure.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Overview- claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TWIA full-time

    Pros

    GREAT people to work with & everyone is super nice, & always available to answer questions to help each other out!! Management is so great, they understand we have lives outside of the workplace and are very flexible. Management gives you the opportunity to learn, and are helpful when you have a question to ask. Benefits are great.

    Cons

    training and on-boarding needs some work

    TWIA2016-05-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Possibly a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TWIA full-time

    Pros

    Good leadership Great people to work with Loved the challenges I was eventually offered

    Cons

    High turnover in management made expectations confusing Took several years, and the right manager, for someone to see my actual skills weren't being used

    Advice to Management

    Convey clearer expectations and hold everyone to the same standards

    TWIA2016-03-29
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good benefits and potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, organization moving in the right direction

    Cons

    Communication is improving but still needs more transparency and cross department cooperation

    TWIA2015-09-18
Found 32 reviews
</>Embed