TWIA Reviews | Glassdoor

TWIA Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
TWIA CEO John Polak
John Polak
13 Ratings
  1. "Very busy stressful office, at least in the operations department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TWIA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is always steady and somewhat predictable. There is a great potential for overtime during the busy hurricane season.

    Cons

    The pay is low and due to issues regarding past claims from prior stos that were handled poorly, raises are few and pressure is high.

    TWIA2015-03-23
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Honesty is not a policy at TWIA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you can make the boss love you, kiss kiss, you will do fine here.

    Cons

    The jobs are often misrepresented in order to get someone to hire. The place is highly political, prospective employees beware.

    Continue reading
    TWIA2015-04-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Since the change in management, life at TWIA is pretty good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and good benefits.

    Cons

    Going through a change in culture and processing system, which will be great in the end but is a bit stressful now.

    TWIA2015-01-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not employee friendly, and a history of very bad I.T. management decisions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - I T Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The medical insurance is great and there is a type of retirement plan if you can stay here more than 5 years. If you are in a technical position, you do not need to know much or work very hard to blend in.

    Cons

    Business wastes numerous six-figures per year on I.T. expenditures that are not needed, or are overpriced. I.T. vendors are not pushed on price or performance. There is no usable disaster recovery plan and current insurance applications cannot scale to meet the needs of a large event. No raises ever, and no way to get promoted.

    Continue reading
    TWIA2013-09-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A once good company now bad with bad morale and bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Did Not Disclose for Fear of Retribution in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company offers steady employment and a decent work environment but that is about it. Most of the fellow workers are good to get along with.

    Cons

    Management is horrible. From the GM, to the senior executive team to the line managers, everyone is fighting against everyone. Either they are very contentious and abusive or they lack the backbone to stand up for their department. They talk about how great a job everyone is doing but eliminate any benefits such as bonuses and fail to give ANY pay raise for the year. Due to the poor management and failure to take care of their employees, people are starting to leave the company with many more looking to leave as well.

    Continue reading
    TWIA2013-07-17
  6. "TWIA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management in my department

    Cons

    Stale Hierarchy and no opportunity to advance

    Continue reading
    TWIA2013-01-24
  7. "Great work but not much opportunity for advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, high production environment; some good teammates to work with; great couple of supervisors who are working toward culture changes to improve work processes and morale. Insurance courses paid for as developmental opportunities.

    Cons

    Short sighted leadership that didn't plan for growth at the the department head level. Not many opportunities for growth nor advancement in the company. Education courses almost lean toward pushing employees out to find better jobs in other companies. Some employees can't keep up with high production environment and have become liabilities instead of assets.

    TWIA2012-08-21
  8. "Great IT projects and people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Austin, TX
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA

    Pros

    stable, not impacted by overall economic.

    Cons

    low pay and few vacation days.

    TWIA2012-03-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Negative leadership culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TWIA full-time

    Pros

    Good medical benefits, Pension, 401K

    Cons

    If you are an experienced IT professional this place is not for you.  I have been doing this type of work for years with large and small organizations, and never have I seen this type of toxic, hostile, dishonest and unprofessional work environment.  The dysfunction starts at the top and cascades down throughout the organization.  The constant fighting between departments, mostly IT executive management fighting with every other department, has created an unhealthy culture of confrontation and distrust. The lack of transparency, lack of accountability and poor communication, particularly when working on projects,  has resulted in low employee morale and disengagement.

    Continue reading
    TWIA2019-02-20

    TWIA Response

    February 21, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The Association aspires to have a healthy environment that allows for transparent sharing of information and decision-making, and we value employees’ input on how we can fully embody our values. If your situation continues to feel negative or unprofessional, please reach out to HR – we are here to help facilitate solutions and foster a healthy culture. It’s only through honest conversations that we can learn from our mistakes and move forward together. We are a mission-based organization that serves policyholders when they need us most, and our IT professionals are critical to delivering on that mission. The Association has recently taken significant steps, including reorganization of certain roles and responsibilities, to promote greater communication and collaboration on future projects. We are confident these steps will help minimize some of the issues you have voiced and help us continue to improve.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No lessons learned!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at TWIA full-time

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, nice building, nice breakroom.

    Cons

    Horrible toxic culture especially in IT Department. Leadership pretends they care and things will be done different next time, but they just say that to make people stop being upset and then do the same thing all over again. We just finished an extremely stressful 2+year project with not enough resources or time, and before anyone can even take one breathe they are starting the next one. We all clearly see now that one person calls the shots and everyone else is just along for the ride. The business users will get whatever IT decides they want to give them and no one will be allowed to tell the truth about what we really see happening for fear of retaliation.

    Continue reading
    TWIA2019-02-11

    TWIA Response

    February 21, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for highlighting our great people and facilities – we like them, too! We agree that the recent software implementation was a challenging project and have made a point to gather feedback (including this review – thank you!) from across the Association. The Association has recently taken significant steps, including reorganization of certain roles and responsibilities, to minimize issues we heard about, facilitate solutions that work for internal and external stakeholders, and foster open dialogue. We want to thank you for providing honest feedback about your experience. Our goal as a continuous improvement organization is to have a healthy culture where every team member feels heard.

    Continue reading
Found 32 reviews
</>Embed