Tableau Software Employee Reviews about "company is growing"

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 891 reviews

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Tableau Software President and CEO Mark Nelson
Mark Nelson
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits and good work/life balance(in 89 reviews)

  • "Great product & Innovative roadmap(in 89 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Since the company grew so fast so quickly, we experienced many growing pains along the way(in 51 reviews)

  • "The company is growing at a good pace, however we need more space for everyone(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Tableau Software and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "company is growing"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Work Life Balance and Opportunities

      Mar 16, 2019 - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * My manager is one of the best I've had. They embody the mindset of using projects to grow the team, as opposed to using people to get projects done. I respect that a lot and see people on my team growing as a result. * People are really nice over here. They're all professional and support each other. It feels like the teams are working together rather than competing against each other. * Work life balance is amazing. 3 weeks starting vacation, lots of sick days, meetings are usually scheduled to start/end between 10-5.

      Cons

      * The company is growing at a good pace, however we need more space for everyone. You won't be sharing your desk with another person, but you may have to deal with finding your own parking spot if you drive.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Tremendously Fast Company Growth.

      Jan 16, 2020 - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Kirkland, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The employees and management tend to be very kind and understanding, the benefits are excellent. There's a lot of "morale events" and free food, which are nice!

      Cons

      The company is growing much faster than it can handle adjusting to. There is a high turnover as a result, and a lot of burnout in the senior employees.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I LOVE being at Tableau

      Feb 27, 2019 - Senior Director in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great mission, humble smart people. Plenty of opportunities for personal growth and improving how things work. I feel lucky and proud to be part of the journey

      Cons

      It’s a growing company- you’ve got to be ok with change and ambiguity. IMHO though, that’s a great problem to have.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Genuine culture, mission-minded employees, game-changing product!

      Jul 23, 2015 - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tableau is hands down THE BEST place I have ever worked and for good reason. The people I work with are best described as "humble smart." They are intelligent, accomplished and ready to help at a moments notice. The culture has been engrained from the start with the founders, and it's what makes Tableau so special. I have so much respect for the leadership here and the company that they are building. In addition, people who work here have the privilege to work on a product that's changing how the world visualizes data. Tableau is empowering anybody to visualize their own data by making the product easier to use than Excel. And who could forget about all the perks - TONS of food everywhere, Apple gear, commuting subsidy, biking friendly offices, world class offices, and we throw THE VERY BEST PARTIES! What a privilege it is to work here!

      Cons

      The company is growing so quickly and moving so fast that it's a challenge to bring new people up to speed and to adapt your role as teams evolve. Of the problems to have, it's probably the best one.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great work experience. Growth & more fun than a barrel of primates

      Jul 24, 2014 - Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At Tableau you'll find smart, passionate co-workers who up your game. You'll generally be able to follow your bliss as people are encouraged to contribute wherever and however they can. Want to start a side project? You'll nearly always find 2-3 people who'd love to pitch in. I'm psyched to come to work just about every day of the week. The CEO still knows most folks by their first name - even those of us in the field. Tableau really feels like family. Less politics than usual. You are encouraged to disagree and challenge the status quo assuming you have facts/data to support same.

      Cons

      Compensation is average. Pay is a touch low but evens out with stock and good medical bennies. 401K matching was recently instituted, but a touch low. Company is growing fast so this isn't the place for folks who don't thrive in an environment where change is constant.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Work for DC office if you DO NOT like making money. YOU WILL BE POOR.

      Dec 19, 2015 - Sales in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. Cool product. Nice managers. Hardworking people. Free healthcare. Good location. Great benefits (which are counteracted with HORRIBLE pay). Great 2 week orientation in Seattle. Nice office space.

      Cons

      Pay insulting. Even if you calculate in the benefits including the stock options/healthcare you will still take a significant pay cut unless you are coming from a minimum wage job. Success is never felt. You will not make EVEN CLOSE to "on target earnings." Pay is WELL below industry standards and they will try to sell you on the added value of the benefits which when you calculate them out don't even break even with the lack of pay. Territories continue to shrink even though people not even getting close to quota. Constantly use the excuse of "new office" and "growing company" to cover up for illogical and unattainable quota. If you're motivated by money and success do NOT work here. Delusional upper upper management. You will be poor and burned out after 1 month.

      Continue reading
      24 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Would recommend. A few growing pains.

      Jun 16, 2015 - Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Product. Passionate Colleagues. I feel empowered by management to pursue projects that I feel will help me professionally and to develop my career. As someone who has been with the company for a few years I feel respected and valued.

      Cons

      I don't feel that there are good career opportunities to be promoted from within. The company is growing extremely quickly but they are mostly hiring managers externally. I fear that Tableau is growing so fast that I will be forgotten, that I will feel less and less valued as my role is marginalized. Compensation seems below market rate. Tableau's financial strategy seems extremely conservative. I am a little concerned about their ability to retain talent.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Tableau Software Response

      Team Tableau

      We're glad to hear you enjoy working at Tableau and you feel supported by your team! Thank you for your feedback on our opportunities for improvement. We certainly take these items seriously and will take this into consideration as we review these topics!

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Very fun and energetic environment!

      Feb 24, 2015 - Technical Support in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tableau is a great place to be overall. The growth of the company rumbles through consistently and can be felt by everyone. IT creates excitement. The culture is great and as employee it is easy to feel supported personally and professionally.

      Cons

      Sometimes I think the company is growing a bit too fast and that communication across the channels lacks. Follow through can be a challenge sometimes. There needs to be a bit of budge on the year "requirement" to move to another role because we are busting at the seams.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company, incredible product, great culture

      Jan 24, 2010 - Sales in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The product is phenomenal. Fiscally responsible. Greater transparency w/in Tableau than any company I've worked for. Smart people. Culture of integrity. Management team (both exec and mid level) that you want to win for.

      Cons

      Running a fiscally conservative startup means trade offs - wha wha. Small, rapidly growing company means change is frequent, though decision making is strong. Not a place to work if you just want to show up.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior Deal Desk Coordinator

      Jul 29, 2016 - Senior Deal Desk Coordinator in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tableau has a great culture that brings in many like minded people with many different skill sets. Everyone seems to want to make the company better and pitch in wherever they can, which is easy to thrive off of.

      Cons

      In any growing company there is a lot of work to be done, and you must be willing to pick up new roles and responsibilities in order to keep things running. This can often lead to new opportunities though.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tableau Software Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Tableau Software? Share Your Experiences

    or