Tableau Software "company is growing" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Tableau Software Employee Reviews about "company is growing"

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Tableau Software CEO Adam Selipsky
Adam Selipsky
238 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team, great product, great work/life balance(in 82 reviews)

  • "Benefits, Employee Development and commitment to work life balance(in 80 reviews)

Cons
  • "Since the company grew so fast so quickly, we experienced many growing pains along the way(in 50 reviews)

  • "The company is growing at a good pace, however we need more space for everyone(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "company is growing"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Work Life Balance and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * My manager is one of the best I've had. They embody the mindset of using projects to grow the team, as opposed to using people to get projects done. I respect that a lot and see people on my team growing as a result. * People are really nice over here. They're all professional and support each other. It feels like the teams are working together rather than competing against each other. * Work life balance is amazing. 3 weeks starting vacation, lots of sick days, meetings are usually scheduled to start/end between 10-5.

    Cons

    * The company is growing at a good pace, however we need more space for everyone. You won't be sharing your desk with another person, but you may have to deal with finding your own parking spot if you drive.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2019-03-16
  2. "Tremendously Fast Company Growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Kirkland, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employees and management tend to be very kind and understanding, the benefits are excellent. There's a lot of "morale events" and free food, which are nice!

    Cons

    The company is growing much faster than it can handle adjusting to. There is a high turnover as a result, and a lot of burnout in the senior employees.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2020-01-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I LOVE being at Tableau"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission, humble smart people. Plenty of opportunities for personal growth and improving how things work. I feel lucky and proud to be part of the journey

    Cons

    It’s a growing company- you’ve got to be ok with change and ambiguity. IMHO though, that’s a great problem to have.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2019-02-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Deal Desk Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Deal Desk Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tableau has a great culture that brings in many like minded people with many different skill sets. Everyone seems to want to make the company better and pitch in wherever they can, which is easy to thrive off of.

    Cons

    In any growing company there is a lot of work to be done, and you must be willing to pick up new roles and responsibilities in order to keep things running. This can often lead to new opportunities though.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2016-07-29
  5. "Working at Tableau"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software

    Pros

    Benefits are great, the culture is great, and people are smart and down to earth

    Cons

    Because the company is growing so fast get ready for change

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2016-06-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very happy to be there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tableau Software

    Pros

    Very solid engineering culture, approachable management, and collaborative colleagues. They definitely take the time to ramp you up and make you feel welcome as an employee.

    Cons

    Growing pains of a fast-growing company.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2016-01-28
  7. Helpful (23)

    "Work for DC office if you DO NOT like making money. YOU WILL BE POOR."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Washington, DC
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Cool product. Nice managers. Hardworking people. Free healthcare. Good location. Great benefits (which are counteracted with HORRIBLE pay). Great 2 week orientation in Seattle. Nice office space.

    Cons

    Pay insulting. Even if you calculate in the benefits including the stock options/healthcare you will still take a significant pay cut unless you are coming from a minimum wage job. Success is never felt. You will not make EVEN CLOSE to "on target earnings." Pay is WELL below industry standards and they will try to sell you on the added value of the benefits which when you calculate them out don't even break even with the lack of pay. Territories continue to shrink even though people not even getting close to quota. Constantly use the excuse of "new office" and "growing company" to cover up for illogical and unattainable quota. If you're motivated by money and success do NOT work here. Delusional upper upper management. You will be poor and burned out after 1 month.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2015-12-19
  8. Helpful (25)

    "Great potential, but majorly missing the mark with it's new office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    Despite the low rating, Tableau does have the potential to be a great company. The people are great. The product is great. The clients are great. The benefits are great, they pay for our health care and (sometimes) provide food. They give their employees a fair amount of autonomy, and send us on awesome trips, like our yearly customer conference and a two week training at HQ.

    Cons

    Despite the pros though, I probably won't be at Tableau much longer. And the reason for that simply comes down to the fact that I can't afford to stay with this company. Tableau's sales employees are paid far below industry standards. Maybe this salary (which is non-negotiable) cuts it in WA and TX, but it's barely enough to live on in DC. The low base pay would be tolerable if our commission structure made up for it, but sadly it doesn't. Our commission % is the smallest I've ever earned at any previous sales job. To top it off, territories are split extremely unfairly. Did they let a kindergarten class draw them up? And even those with "good" territories are still struggling as they keep hiring more people. Territories are getting comically small while quota is getting higher. Warm leads are drying up and the need to prospect is high but they refuse to give us the tools to do it. Now, I realize small territories and high quotas are a problem in any sales job, but I've never seen so many great sales employees so far from hitting their quota. These are highly motivated individuals, who have previously been very successful at other sales jobs, so to see these folks not even 50% to quota is disheartening. But even so, disheartening wouldn't be so bad if at least we could comfortably pay our bills. Honestly, not sure who from the DC office is leaving these other good reviews, because we are all pretty miserable. Morale is zero since we know that no matter what we do none of us will actually be making our promised salaries. My coworkers are all awesome and each day I feel like their talents are being wasted. Now money stuff aside, which is obviously the biggest issue among the employees, DC just doesn't seem to be fairing as well as the other offices. No one in the office is tenured, so no one ever seems to have processes answers or know what normal protocol is. Same goes for managers, they are just as green as their employees. There is literally no one to go to ask questions to, whether those questions be about something logistics related or personal progress, like normal pacing to goals. When employees have expressed this concern, management's response is always "we are a growing company and this is a new office, you knew what you were getting yourselves into". This is an insulting response. Insulting that they are insinuating that your employees "asked" for a lack of support, and insulting that they pretend Tableau is a start up still working out the kinks, when in fact it is a 10+ year tenured company which should have a detailed long term development plan. They seemed to have rushed into opening the DC office if things are this unorganized. Managers, in addition to a lack of company knowledge, each have extremely different managing styles. This leaves some employees feeling micromanaged, while others feel a distinct lack of support. There seems to be no middle ground, and perhaps managers lack the necessary experience to actually be at that level. The actual office itself is lacking, especially compared to HQ. Our free and fully stocked kitchen (which is a big bragging point for the company for some reason) is actually often without food! Most of us would settle for having milk for our coffee everyday, but even that seems to be a struggle. Meanwhile, Seattle has multiple kitchens and is always fully stocked with everything from snacks to complete meals. Don't brag about this awesome "benefit" if it doesn't apply to our office. Lastly, there is zero respect of employees time. Constantly scheduling meetings at 7am or after 5:30pm.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2015-12-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tableau Software for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart, experienced developers, very helpful and friendly people. Work-life balance was great, very interesting problem space to work in

    Cons

    Disorganized management. The company is growing so quickly, there is severe technical debt and mismanaged development. Friendliness can quickly turn into passive aggression, when disagreements arise

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2015-09-17
  10. "Great Company Values and Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software for less than a year

    Pros

    As a computer science graduate student, I was looking for a summer internship as a software developer. I got job offers from Google, Microsoft Research, and Tableau. I chose Tableau because I loved their product, had heard amazing things about their company culture and work environment, and, during the interview process, they were the only company that really acted like they wanted me as an intern. With the other places, I felt a little more "disposable". That being said, after working there, I can say everyone is really passionate about the company and the product and wants to see Tableau succeed. The other engineers I work with love their job, and many of them have come to Tableau from other software companies such as Amazon or Microsoft and often say Tableau is a much better place to work. The company focuses on agile development; so, each individual gets a say as to how his or her team moves forward, including the interns. As an intern, I joined a feature team and started implementing features just as if I was a new hire. The team was great about giving me the support I needed to come up to speed and learn the environment. Tableau also put on some fun intern invents such as mini-golfing and going to a baseball game.

    Cons

    The company is growing so fast that they are experiencing "growing pains" so-to-speak. They are working on finding enough desk space for all everyone because even though they have plans in place to expand, getting new buildings up and read takes time. The intern program is also growing really fast, and they are still working on finding the best ways to help interns get the knowledge they need about the product and company without taking too much time (full time employees take an intensive 2.5 week training course, which is too long for a 10-12 week internship).

    Tableau Software2015-08-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews