Tableau Software "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Tableau Software Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Tableau Software CEO Adam Selipsky
Adam Selipsky
238 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team, great product, great work/life balance(in 82 reviews)

  • "Benefits, Employee Development and commitment to work life balance(in 80 reviews)

Cons
  • "Since the company grew so fast so quickly, we experienced many growing pains along the way(in 50 reviews)

  • "The company is growing at a good pace, however we need more space for everyone(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Contract Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Employee Development and commitment to work life balance

    Cons

    Salary compared to market and industry

    Tableau Software2020-01-20
  2. "Tableau Software, Inc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist 

    I worked at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, snacks, product, work-life balance.

    Cons

    Tableau has an opportunity to improve on compensation and growth opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2020-01-20
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food Good team atmosphere Great work/life balance

    Cons

    Company bought by Salesforce has growing pains being acquired changing the company dynamics.

    Tableau Software2019-12-27
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Do not recommend the LATAM team to anyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager Latin America in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    Tableau is a great software. People love our product. Tableau's bootcamp is great, our SKO and yearly conference are very well planned and executed.

    Cons

    I've been working for a few months on the LATAM team here at Tableau, and I regret having made the decision to join this team. Managers, Directors and VP's should be people that truly care about your career success and make you feel empowered. Unfortunately, they are individuals that joined the company at an early stage and got promote into management which is a usual mistake companies make. Their idea of management is super old school. They lead based on fear, they don't allow you to have a work life balance, and they simply don't bring anything positive to the table. Most partners have warned me to never bring my superiors to any onsite client meetings. For people looking to join a LATAM team, I would advise you not to look at Tableau as a possible employer. Lastly, their compensation package is very bad in comparison to other tech companies.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2019-09-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good work/life balance with good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Kirkland, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Data visualization and data analytics are still hot and profitable. Pay is good. If you count the sign-on stock that is a lot. Work/life balance is very good.

    Cons

    If you are a hard-working person, you probably won't get rewarded as much as you expected.

    Tableau Software2019-08-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great software. Customers love it. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    Territories shrinking. New licensing makes big deals tougher. Compensation on new deals shrinking

    Tableau Software2019-06-30
  7. Helpful (7)

    "A Good Company Getting Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tableau is a great company overall. Great people, good benefits, interesting product, and good culture. There is a reputation for low pay, but I have not experienced that myself.

    Cons

    Tableau still thinks, believes, and even says they are in startup mode. At Tableau's current scale, this means enterprise customers are extremely frustrated because of amateur mistakes making for terrible product quality. Inside, this means mismanagement, no opportunities to move up in offices outside of Seattle, a poor work-life balance, and a lack of role clarity.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2019-06-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worklife balance without sacrificing the "work" part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Often people say "good work-life balance" when they mean: the work is easy and none of my coworkers are smart than me. Tableau is full of smart people & challenging projects without the fear that if you don't put in well over 40 hours a week, you're in trouble.

    Cons

    Writing software to work online and on-prem can be a pain

    Tableau Software2019-05-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "From great to good and then fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Products are good. Benefits are great. Work life balance is great. Great place for a short term resume boost. Not a place that you can build a career.

    Cons

    Culture has steadily declined. Churn is constant but it’s just reorgs and never meaningful change. It’s becoming a Microsoft. Embarrassing lack of diversity in leadership, refusal to do anything about it while slapping some marketing on it (hey, look at this diversity related dashboard a customer made!). Usually terrible people don’t get in but there are some really abusive and toxics (or incompetent) who will never not have a place here. zero transparency, little respect. Simply another tech corporation concerned about one thing, despite the “mission”.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2019-05-29
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Work Life Balance and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * My manager is one of the best I've had. They embody the mindset of using projects to grow the team, as opposed to using people to get projects done. I respect that a lot and see people on my team growing as a result. * People are really nice over here. They're all professional and support each other. It feels like the teams are working together rather than competing against each other. * Work life balance is amazing. 3 weeks starting vacation, lots of sick days, meetings are usually scheduled to start/end between 10-5.

    Cons

    * The company is growing at a good pace, however we need more space for everyone. You won't be sharing your desk with another person, but you may have to deal with finding your own parking spot if you drive.

    Continue reading
    Tableau Software2019-03-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 95 reviews