Taft Reviews | Glassdoor

Taft Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Alan Pickett
7 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patent Paralegal in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Taft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed environment; human resources is great

    Cons

    too many attorneys one one person; attorneys don't last long and are very difficult to work for

    Taft2019-03-05
  2. "Not a healthy place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Taft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent sized firm. If you are a lawyer you have great benefits.

    Cons

    If you are not a lawyer, your benefits are mediocre (see the differences in the parental policy). The organization is in upheaval and is managed like a high school.

    Advice to Management

    Start treating your firm like a business and put value in your support team. Update Glassdoor - Alan Pickett has been gone for several years.

    Taft2018-11-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Worst job Experience Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Service Manager Data Center Ops in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Taft full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, benefits, and perks (free soda, coffee, tea etc)

    Cons

    Management literally is disconnected from everything. They have no empathy or remorse for their employees and will fire you for little to no reason or warnings.

    Advice to Management

    Get connected with your employees and what is happening.

    Taft2018-06-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Going downhill fast!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Taft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    attorneys were generally good to work for, benefits and time off were solid

    Cons

    There about 10 years. When I started it was full of long, term very tenured employees (it wasn't uncommon to see people start out of college and retire there). Every year there was the annual offer to older employees to "early retire" or just get downsized. After 10 years, anyone that I started with is gone. HR is run by a former lawyer with no experience in HR that seems to take pleasure in firing or laying off people....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourself! And let some of the decent attorneys bring it back to its former glory!

    Taft2018-06-08
  5. "Taft Legal Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Taft

    Pros

    Nice people, cases were usually pretty interesting

    Cons

    Lots of drudgery, but that's going to be the case with any legal assistant role.

    Taft2018-03-26
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Taft (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very welcoming and hands on environment. I was always given the tools to be successful. Perfect place to be an intern if you have plans of going to law school . Overall great firm.

    Cons

    Every now and again you might have a slow day - however, if you ask around you can almost always find something to do, so this isn't really a con.

    Taft2018-01-09
  7. "Good Firm and Good Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Taft

      Pros

      Nice compensation and challenging work

      Cons

      They really want you to do community service

      Taft2017-04-25
    • "Nice place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate Dean/Professor in Santa Ana, CA

      I have been working at Taft full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good benefits for the employees

      Cons

      This company does an amazing job and is reasonable and fair,

      Advice to Management

      None

      Taft2017-02-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Document Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Taft full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great staff and benefits. Plenty of opportunities to learn about different areas of law. Overall, I liked my experience there but I was underutilized and overqualified for the position that I held.

      Cons

      Pay wasn't great and a bachelors degree isn't completely needed for the job I held at Taft. Not many opportunities for growth if you aren't an attorney.

      Advice to Management

      Better pay for Document Specialist or more job opportunities that Document Specialist can go into.

      Taft2016-12-08
    • "Applications and Technology Coach"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Applications and Technology Coach in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Taft full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great environment and wonderful peopel

      Cons

      Lack of leadership and direction

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees better

      Taft2016-06-28
    Found 19 reviews