Takshashila Engagement Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Takshashila Engagement Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
28%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Takshashila Founding Partner Manish Agarwal (no image)
Manish Agarwal
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (15)

    "Founder forces employees to write good reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place for losers if you have no other careers options, choose this

    Cons

    long hours poor pay (the CTC communicated to you is not what you get - even laptop is deducted from salary!) women should never join this company - MD is a serial womanizer

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2019-07-29
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Fake Organisation. Doctored Reviews. Not for girls!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Manager in Patna Rural
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Takshashila full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros.. only pro that you will learn how to identify fake and bad organisations.

    Cons

    1. Mentally Unstable owner 2. No ethics 3. Doctored reviews 4. People who doesn’t know anything but can screw around are promoted 5. Girls are hit on by owner 6. Feedbacks are all based on what the owner/ EM thinks and what his mood is at that point 7. Unreasonable demands 8. No consulting done here.. only how to make bad and crappy pots. 9. No learning opportunity since there is no resource available 10. No set compensation parameter.. based on owners wish. 11. HR is non-existent. 12. Girls are harassed.

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2018-09-21
  3. "Great place which has improved significantly with time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Patna, Bihar
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Opportunity to work with smartest people to solve challenging problems. 2. Steep learning curve and a chance to create an impact 3. Initiative is encouraged, flat management structure, everyone is approachable and helping. 4. Working environment is amazing, and employees are pampered- from lavish food spreads at team dinners to healthy drinks, multiple off-sites and health benefits.

    Cons

    1. No work life balance which is given in consulting company. 2. Continuous need to do out of box problem solving

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2018-06-21
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Worst decision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have to write this just because Glassdoor doesn't accept empty field

    Cons

    I can't accept the promises the made in beginning - they have nothing to work except copying data, I mean seriously in last 6 months what I have done is working on images to presentation. nothing they have. a company driven by dumb and making everyone dumb they the MD treats himself the most superior. Even he says in 2-3 years from now there will be no job only I can offer job - the height of dumbness is leading to downfall - they fake everything I mean everything. They don't have projects, they don't have money, clients abuse them everytime, they ask to run school from Consultants (school is primary and based in remote location)..... really its a joke. Honest suggestion don't get with them, you will regret the time. Even you can ask any of the employee while you go for interview - you will get to know the things soon. Goodluck and take you decision wisely

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2017-11-25
  5. Helpful (19)

    "Not Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are desperate for people right now. Interview process is just a formality, easy to get in.

    Cons

    a) Zero Learning: i. The firm has a very high attrition rate. This ensures there aren’t many experienced people around to help, train or guide you in any way. If you happen to be an IIM Grad or with some experience, you’ll be made to lead a team in less than 3 months without any support, hand holding or help. This by no means is a quick step to growth or promotion. You’ll both make big blunders in front of the client and get severe kickbacks at the start of your career or in order to play safe, you’ll start following and doing what the client asks you to, without using much of your own brains or innovation. Either way, it’s a hopeless choice. ii. Most of your time will be spent on training young, absolutely inexperienced undergraduate students when you yourself need to be doing a lot of learning iii. The company has no training or development policy whatsoever. The only training sessions we had were for basic excel or powerpoint functions, something we picked up in 1st year btech itself. iv. 100% of the company’s projects are of PMO (Project Management Office) in nature. That the firm is an offshoot of Mckinsey and that they do strategy consulting is all nonsense. PMO is the cheapest and the lowest form of consulting that any firm can do. Even that is not done professionally here. Not one of their consultants is either PMP or PRINCE 2 certified. You’ll realise how worthless you have been here once you go out in the job market and try your luck again b) Compensation issues: i. The firm is highly stingy when it comes to making any cash payments. The pay is inflated in several manners as described below ii. There will be a variable component which you get if you stick around for 2 years. Considering that the highest that an employee has stayed here is 20 months and avg being 6 months, given the immense torture they give, you can assume that portion is never going to be paid to you iii. A portion of your salary will be gratuity. You get that if you stick around for 4 years. Needless to say, you never get it too. iv. The firm charges a fee of 2000 rs each month for using the company laptop for official purposes. You are not allowed to bring your personal laptop and you have to use and pay for the company laptop v. There is a mandatory deduction from your salary each month and it goes as a contribution towards one Takshashila School in Ghaziabad. This school is a private business of Manish Aggarwal and everyone contributes towards it vi. There’ll be reimbursable components of Medical bills and Telephone allowance which you get if you submit bills. There is absolutely no process for getting these things cleared (the firm does not have a finance person BTW) and they’ll never be cleared. Mine got cleared when I finally resigned from the firm and asked for these bills to be cleared in my final payout. vii. The firm’s cash flow situation keeps getting precarious from time to time. When that happens, the newer and unstable employees or the ones on notice period get no salaries for several months. Many have resigned during such periods and foregone the entire amount. viii. There are absolutely no flybacks or allowances if you are working late in the night. People pay for their dinner and cabs out of their pockets when they work over night at client sites without any reimbursements. Once deputed on a project, you come back only when the project is completed, which could be anywhere between 4 to 6 months. Any travel in between to your hometown is at your own expense. ix. Given lack of experienced consultants and low quality of work, the only way TKC can compete with other firms and keep getting contracts is through extremely low price bids, ridiculously long work hours promise, favours to senior client officials in the form of booze parties where young girls are brought for them and agreeing to long accounts receivable cycles. All these will ensure that you never do quality work and progress professionally. Also the firm never gets cash rich enough to give you pay hikes and promotions. Infact high attrition rate suits the firm. People leave and they hire fresh at lower salaries.

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2017-01-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Takshashila full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure to clients, projects spanning across multiple domains, Great team and environment. Immense learning and exploring opportunity to develop and excel as a professional. Lot of learning and fun

    Cons

    Management Consulting is a hard on life style. Travelling takes time and lots of effort and not for the faint hearted or physically weak

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2016-09-21
  7. Helpful (40)

    "Good experience so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Given that its the first time i've been playing an engagement manager/ project leader role, this place has given me a) Complete flexibility in the way I get to operate and manage my team b) Good, marquee clients to work with, which really adds a lot of resume value c) Interesting nature of work d) Competitive compensation to similar peer group across other consulting firms There isnt a lot more that I really need given its still early days in my career

    Cons

    As mentioned in the pros section, I have little to complain about so far.

    Takshashila2015-02-02
  8. Helpful (10)

    "this is a real sham in the name of consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Manager in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Takshashila full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nothing here unfortunately for anyone

    Cons

    poor work culture - long hours, no respect salary is a sham - you get offered 100, you receive 50. in which company do employees have to pay for their laptops?

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2015-05-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews