Takshashila "tkc" Reviews | Glassdoor

Takshashila Employee Reviews about "tkc"

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Takshashila Founding Partner Manish Agarwal (no image)
Manish Agarwal
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is literally no pros of working in this organization(in 9 reviews)

  • "Before I joined I remember being told that 1 year at TKC is equivalent to 2-3 year of experience at an average company(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work Life Balance Is Not There At All(in 15 reviews)

  • "2- Work load can be hectic at times but that would be same at the top tier consulting firm(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "tkc"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Don't join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Takshashila full-time

    Pros

    Quality of work is good. You might actually like it but you won't be happy don't it.

    Cons

    Everything else. Especially the culture. Working there is a mental torture and nobody should put themselves through it. You'll find someplace better. If you still decide to join it, that's your call and you might be able to connect the dots backwards, but it is really not worth it. I could share more stories or be more harsh, but you don't know how it is to work with TKC, till you work there because it'll just sound bizarre otherwise and you wouldn't believe a company like this can actually survive this long. Kindly note: Wherever, I've given 1 star, I would have wanted to give a 0 if possible.

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2020-01-17
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Takshashila Consulting - Great Risks, Great Rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I do not know any other firm that emphasizes the importance of personal and career growth as much as TKC does. If you want to take a specific training, you name it and the firm will support you. They will send you to the other side of the world if necessary. You get exposure to senior people within and outside the firm almost as soon as you join. The salary level and benefits are really good as a consultant. The support of you colleagues, even after you leave the firm is outstanding. Resume wise, having TKC in your resume opens so many doors and the network you create is global.

    Cons

    You will have to work long hours. I think 12-14 hours/day is expected from everyone. If you have a project out of town you will have to relocate. Everyone usually works at night when they go back to their place. Sometimes you also have to work on the weekends. But, you can expect as much or even more travel if you join other consulting firms. Also, I think that TKC is more strict with its 'up or out' policy than other consulting firms. Be ready to take that risk at all stages in your career.

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2019-07-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Why you should consider getting TKC brand on your resume?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are looking for a place that can truly help you grow and put you on the super-fast career track ,then there is absolutely no better place than TKC. Before I joined I remember being told that 1 year at TKC is equivalent to 2-3 year of experience at an average company. no matter how average an average company could be, this to me seemed completely unlivable. But today, when i work with people who have been for 10-15 year and i see my self being able to have insightful conversation with them, I being to believe that indeed I do have more than a few years of experience packed in my time here .

    Cons

    No real downside to joining TKC as a business Associate. You are joining the work elite right after postgrad . Things don't get much better than that. Also because you are treated so nicely all the time,it is possible to have a bloated sense of self-worth and seniority

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2019-07-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Associate: ex"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work in one of the client location in TKC . Work is very demanding and expects me to be always available and on my toes.My TKC team members help in ensuring that i am successful. That is the difference in working for a normal company and working in a consulting space . people want to make you successful.

    Cons

    New Challenge at every client which are new even for the firm therefore a lot of initiatives has to be taken on your own.

    Takshashila2018-09-27
  5. "Great place to.start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Noida
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Takshashila full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A new age firm, which understands where the word is moving. In the world of automation where jobs will seize to exist, TKC teaches you the enterpreneurial spirit.

    Cons

    If you are looking for merely a job, this might be the place. You have to take responsibilty and accountability at every step.

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2017-12-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Multifaceted Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Noida
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Takshashila full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    TKC has given me an opportunity to experience the business world in and out. I am happy I got to join TKC in the beginning years of my career. It is truly helping me polish my skills.

    Cons

    Open minded approach to take on responsibility and full commitment.

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2017-11-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Work Enviorment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time

    Pros

    TKC is the place to work if you crave for ownership and freedom in whatever you are doing. Everyone is expected to own up the things and constantly improve themselves. You really need to have ambition to survive.

    Cons

    TKC is in an evolving stage & is self-sufficient. Processes, Policies, and culture are also in an evolving stage and you can contribute to it if you are interested.

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2017-09-26
  8. "Personal Growth at TKC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time

    Pros

    TKC provides all the opportunities to explore and excel new professional avenues. Good work/Life balance: Flexible timings, really helped me thrive. One of the best company to work with, Premier company. Working in the company environment is fun. Always have a chance to advance. Great management

    Cons

    Its only meant for people who want to learn and grow.

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2017-04-09
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Not Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Manager in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are desperate for people right now. Interview process is just a formality, easy to get in.

    Cons

    a) Zero Learning: i. The firm has a very high attrition rate. This ensures there aren’t many experienced people around to help, train or guide you in any way. If you happen to be an IIM Grad or with some experience, you’ll be made to lead a team in less than 3 months without any support, hand holding or help. This by no means is a quick step to growth or promotion. You’ll both make big blunders in front of the client and get severe kickbacks at the start of your career or in order to play safe, you’ll start following and doing what the client asks you to, without using much of your own brains or innovation. Either way, it’s a hopeless choice. ii. Most of your time will be spent on training young, absolutely inexperienced undergraduate students when you yourself need to be doing a lot of learning iii. The company has no training or development policy whatsoever. The only training sessions we had were for basic excel or powerpoint functions, something we picked up in 1st year btech itself. iv. 100% of the company’s projects are of PMO (Project Management Office) in nature. That the firm is an offshoot of Mckinsey and that they do strategy consulting is all nonsense. PMO is the cheapest and the lowest form of consulting that any firm can do. Even that is not done professionally here. Not one of their consultants is either PMP or PRINCE 2 certified. You’ll realise how worthless you have been here once you go out in the job market and try your luck again b) Compensation issues: i. The firm is highly stingy when it comes to making any cash payments. The pay is inflated in several manners as described below ii. There will be a variable component which you get if you stick around for 2 years. Considering that the highest that an employee has stayed here is 20 months and avg being 6 months, given the immense torture they give, you can assume that portion is never going to be paid to you iii. A portion of your salary will be gratuity. You get that if you stick around for 4 years. Needless to say, you never get it too. iv. The firm charges a fee of 2000 rs each month for using the company laptop for official purposes. You are not allowed to bring your personal laptop and you have to use and pay for the company laptop v. There is a mandatory deduction from your salary each month and it goes as a contribution towards one Takshashila School in Ghaziabad. This school is a private business of Manish Aggarwal and everyone contributes towards it vi. There’ll be reimbursable components of Medical bills and Telephone allowance which you get if you submit bills. There is absolutely no process for getting these things cleared (the firm does not have a finance person BTW) and they’ll never be cleared. Mine got cleared when I finally resigned from the firm and asked for these bills to be cleared in my final payout. vii. The firm’s cash flow situation keeps getting precarious from time to time. When that happens, the newer and unstable employees or the ones on notice period get no salaries for several months. Many have resigned during such periods and foregone the entire amount. viii. There are absolutely no flybacks or allowances if you are working late in the night. People pay for their dinner and cabs out of their pockets when they work over night at client sites without any reimbursements. Once deputed on a project, you come back only when the project is completed, which could be anywhere between 4 to 6 months. Any travel in between to your hometown is at your own expense. ix. Given lack of experienced consultants and low quality of work, the only way TKC can compete with other firms and keep getting contracts is through extremely low price bids, ridiculously long work hours promise, favours to senior client officials in the form of booze parties where young girls are brought for them and agreeing to long accounts receivable cycles. All these will ensure that you never do quality work and progress professionally. Also the firm never gets cash rich enough to give you pay hikes and promotions. Infact high attrition rate suits the firm. People leave and they hire fresh at lower salaries.

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2017-01-29
  10. Helpful (18)

    "Work at TKC? Hahaha!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Takshashila full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is hilarious how the MD wakes up every once in a while to force all employees to write a positive review. All good reviews come in bunches and it is not difficult to notice as much. The coordination however goes in as a PRO for this company. Nobody else could have thought of this...

    Cons

    Takshashila as a company works on three principles: 1. Pay. Whenever there is dissent - everyone else gets a pay rise. This makes TKC employees highly paid (it is conditional on writing a good review and getting it vetted by your Manager), yes. But a depressed lot. Lunch table discussions always revolve around happy ex-colleagues and how everyone is waiting to complete a milestone (6months, 1 year, etc) before running! 2. Rejects from other consulting firms. Not sure about the MD but everyone else was a failure at their previous organization. All the names being thrown around (Bain, BCG, etc) - please go ask for reference in their original firms. All of them were on their way out of their firms (and not in a good way) when they were absorbed by TKC for recruitment branding purposes. Many younger guys feel so frustrated while working with one of these senior associate partners - feel like smashing something at them. Lack of logic and repeated stories of what they have achieved at their previous firm. Thats all! 3. The MD's inflated sense of self worth... He recently made a complete fool of himself at a recruitment drive where two youngsters (non MBAs but with experience) were shortlisted for a final round post interviews with Senior Consultants and EMs... As soon as they walked into the room, he flared up saying "how can undergrads meet the MD of Takshashila...?" and made a huge fuss in front of the candidates... He feels that as the MD of a 30 member firm (yes, thats how many consultants there are - its a 50 member firm only if you count cooks and drivers!) he is too important to meet candidates who will work for him! And not only does he feel this arrogance, he wears it proudly on his sleeve!

    Continue reading
    Takshashila2015-06-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13 reviews