Talking Rain Beverage Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Talking Rain Beverage Company Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Talking Rain Beverage Company CEO Chris Hall (no image)
Chris Hall
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Enthusiastic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Talking Rain Beverage Company

    Pros

    - Lots of autonomy - Creative and positive environment - Growth and expansion - Friendly and helpful employees

    Cons

    - On boarding is not strong - Waste time trying to find out things when some training could solve that

    Talking Rain Beverage Company2016-10-05
  2. "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Talking Rain Beverage Company part-time

    Pros

    Freedom to do tasks the way in which you think is best (to a point).

    Cons

    Weekend work hours. Have to work Saturday or Sunday. Pick your poison.

    Advice to Management

    Needs to be a lot more continuity between merchandisers for talkingrain and merchandisers of the beverage distribution companies.

    Talking Rain Beverage Company2016-10-06
  3. Helpful (3)

    "National Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talking Rain Beverage Company

    Pros

    The company is young energetic and growing. The people have been great to work with. The medical benefits are outstanding and the incentive package is fair.

    Cons

    As an offsite sales employee, it has been hard getting everything up and running. Training for the actual sales job is somewhat non-existent. Relying on peers for information and tips.

    Advice to Management

    Assign a new employee a partner, which is a peer that can be there go to contact for all information. This can help with forms, protocols and reporting. The company is still new. It feels like a lot of my peers are still feeling their way through it.

    Talking Rain Beverage Company2016-08-25
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Preston, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talking Rain Beverage Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility and autonomy to implement change--no saying "the way it's always been done." Everyone is really nice and willing to help. Fun, positive culture with lots of events. Lots of responsibility. May not be for everyone, but I love how much responsibility I've been given and how much of an impact I can make. Daunting at times, but a really great opportunity. Really great benefits.

    Cons

    Some growing pains from the rapid expansion. Always working to hire more employees to account for the increase in workload.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making sure to hire for the culture, not just the role.

    Talking Rain Beverage Company2016-08-05
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Not the greatest company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Talking Rain Beverage Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All the Sparkling ICE you can drink, a good expense reporting system

    Cons

    Very low pay, especially for field employees, which is the larger part of the organization. The people at HQ seem to enjoy way more perks, as evidenced from other reviews. Terrible HR department, the worst I have seen. Micromanaging managers who never let you make a decision, others in the top heavy management are making this even more Red Bullish (minus the pay) than ever before. Ageism is rampant.

    Advice to Management

    get your HR in check. Their inability to even do the smallest things from recruitment to on boarding is mind boggling, despite many being in the position for years, YEARS! Managers need to be put in check, the micro managing grows old and tiresome. who wants to work in that environment?

    Talking Rain Beverage Company2016-05-17
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Low pay, poor organization, but some good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Talking Rain Beverage Company

    Pros

    - There are good employees who are genuinely trying their hardest to make everything work - Lots of free lunches, gift cards, carnivals, etc. Talking Rain makes it a priority to have events for their employees to try to make up for the below market compensation package that they offer. - Free Sparkling Ice if you enjoy drinking diet soda.

    Cons

    - Biggest downside is low pay. They pay well below market on most, if not all of their positions. This leads to the company looking for a lot of younger employees who are happy just to have a job. - High turnover. They have had plenty of issues retaining employees due to their low pay and poor management structure. - Poor organization can often times lead to longer hours worked and discontent amongst... employees. - Aggressive tactics from upper management lead to people looking over their shoulders. - It can be very difficult to get a grasp on the direction of the company and what your purpose is for showing up for work other than to collect a paycheck.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unless you want your company to continue to be a stepping stone, increase your pay and compensation package to make it for enticing for people to stay there rather than look for better opportunities.

    Talking Rain Beverage Company2016-05-10
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Left and then Came Back!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Marketing in Preston, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talking Rain Beverage Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and company. Does a great job in rewarding achievements. Ownership/Leadership want people to work hard, have fun and be healthy. I left the company, and then realized what I was missing, and TalkingRain welcomed me back with a great opportunity. Yes, it is demanding, but the size of the company allows one to have influence and make a difference. Another secret perk, TalkingRain incents its employees to... be active, for any race/event you finish, they will reimburse. Additionally, they pay for any TalkingRain team events - basketball, soccer etc. On the business side, they invest many resources and time in developing the future leaders of the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Industry is fast paced, and there is a lot of pressure to remain ahead of the curve. Could be challenging for people who don't fit this type of culture. I personally love it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep identifying future leaders and investing in them. Continue to focus on building and maintaining the culture of the company - Work hard, be innovative, and be committed to the brand and the people who build it.

    Talking Rain Beverage Company2016-04-13
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great people, great products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Talking Rain Beverage Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the people, a couple are jaded, but there's overall a great culture, people are comfortable with each other.

    Cons

    I would prefer to work full time, but that's a personal necessity that's hard to find for some reason

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for being great!

    Talking Rain Beverage Company2016-04-07
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Strong Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talking Rain Beverage Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership, employees feel like they have a say in the company's direction, opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Very fast-paced industry... It comes with the territory that work/life balance may be a fine line to walk

    Talking Rain Beverage Company2016-03-25
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Where you can make an impact!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President of Sales in Preston, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talking Rain Beverage Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best part of working at TalkingRain is everyone can make an impact on our business. Everyone here makes an impact and opportunities are all around, it's on us to make something of them. I've worked for TalkingRain for 8+ years, been nothing short of exciting, career changing, and engaging. Highly suggest anyone that wants to make something of their career and be apart of brands that are re-shaping retail, join our... team!

    Show More

    Cons

    There is nothing here at TalkingRain that I would classify as a con. Are there challenges, yes! Every company has challenges, how you engage those challenges sets you apart from the rest. Noticed several negative postings, most likely from teammates that could not handle engaging challenges and adapting to a top performing environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving the business by maintaining the entrepreneurial execution focused mindset. If we continue to lead by example, roll out brands that are 2nd to none, nothing can stop us.

    Talking Rain Beverage Company2016-03-17
Found 78 reviews