KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Talkspace

Is this your company?

Talkspace

Add a Review

Talkspace Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 of over 205 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Talkspace CEO Oren Frank
Oren Frank
35 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great full time opportunity

    Jun 6, 2021 - Network Staff Clinician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great full time work, good benefits.

    Cons

    A lot to learn when you first come on board.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Do your research

    Apr 11, 2021 - Therapist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I wish I could think of some...

    Cons

    There’s no transparency with pay and from my experience I’d like to call it highway robbery on both ends (therapist and client)

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Nickled, Dimed, Sometimes Pro-Bono

    Nov 8, 2020 - Therapist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexibility, the community used to be very engaged until they took away the ability to talk to other therapists and have direct communication with HQ

    Cons

    where do I begin? most importantly - there are MANY ways that Talkspace can screw therapists out of getting their pay. If you're not careful, overly conscientious, you may be doing pro-bono work even if you're meeting all of their reply-by demands EXTREMELY low pay No benefits or recognition for staying long-term Feels like the Walmart of Therapy - convenient and cheap

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Every review here is true.

    Jul 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Only upside is the CEO. He is kind and honest. His direct reports are some of the worse people I have worked with.

    Cons

    Every single review here is true. There are serious organizational problems there. Stay away.

    9 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Subscription based therapy is not best practice and the pay for therapists is abysmal

    Jun 17, 2020 - Therapist in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote, work from home, in that regard there is some autonomy

    Cons

    abysmal pay, really insulting, not transparent about it from the beginning, waste months of your time without compensation "training"

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Therapist Slave Drivers

    May 18, 2020 - Licensed Massage Therapist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work remote Can set how many clients you want Can take time off anytime

    Cons

    Pay is a mockery You are asked for a one on one meeting when a client submits a bad review but never congratulated for a good one Support is not there, they don't care for the therapist, just making the client happy You have to reply by a certain time frame with a certain word count (what?!?!) No sense of community with others working with talkspace.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Unethical

    Dec 11, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility. Helping clients that might not have access to traditional therapy

    Cons

    Management micromanaged. Has difficult to maintain quotas. Ethically questionable directives

    22 people found this review helpful

    Talkspace Response

    Talkspace

    Hello — thank you for taking the time to speak up about your experience at Talkspace. We’re very sorry to hear that you felt micromanaged in your work, and that you didn’t find overarching directives transparent or aligned with your values. Please know that one of our top priorities is providing our therapists with as much support and training as they need to succeed on the platform. Because the online modality is so different from in-person treatment, we have found it useful to reiterate best clinical practices to our providers in order to ensure that we’re all on the same page. That said, feedback like yours encourages us to ask questions about our processes and make necessary changes to keep our therapists, employees, and clients happy — so thank you. We’d love to hear your feedback in more detail, so we invite you to reach out to us directly at talktous@talkspace.com if you’re open to taking the conversation offline. Thanks again.

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Denied Clients with Recourse

    Aug 15, 2018 - Therapist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Initially, I enjoyed TalkSpace. It gave me the opportunity to work with clients along with my full-time job teaching therapy at a local University.

    Cons

    I received in worked with two clients who were very challenging. I believe neither client was well suited for online therapy. One was tangential I believe had a thought disorder. I asked for help from the TalkSpace staff. When she left, she gave me an unfavorable review. A second time I got a client who was quite narcissistic. Again I reached out for assistance and finally, he left my counsel after a couple of months. He too gave me a poor review. I was talked to by a lovely therapist who had no details of what had happened. Even though I had been successful with many other clients, after his counsel, TalkSpace informed me I would not receive any more clients. I felt disheartened. I have been a therapist for over 20 years and taught therapy to graduate students. There was no recourse. I stopped doing online therapy for a year. After I retired, I began working on another platform, and I feel things are going well.

    Continue reading
    48 people found this review helpful

    Talkspace Response

    Talkspace

    We're sorry to hear you had this experience at Talkspace. As you know, we have a dedicated and designated leadership team within the Talkspace Community available at any time to support therapists' work with clients. It's important to us that clients receive the highest quality of clinical care! Thank you so much for you feedback in this and for taking the time to share about your experience. We want therapists to enjoy being on the platform, expanding access to therapy worldwide. But your feedback helps ensure that we’re considering the right concerns and questions, so thank you again.

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Research What You're Getting Into

    Aug 7, 2018 - Psychotherapist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work from home.

    Cons

    They make you jump through so many hoops for weeks, then require a lengthy training-as a licensed and credentialed therapist, why do I need to complete so many hours of this. The salary is terrible. You might as well work somewhere pleasant for a terrible salary like this. There is no respect for you as a professional.

    Continue reading
    29 people found this review helpful

    Talkspace Response

    Talkspace

    We’re sorry to hear you had issues with the training and credentialing process. In order to ensure that our clients are getting the highest quality of care on the Talkspace platform, we rigorously vet all prospective Talkspace therapists with primary source verification. We know this process takes longer, but it’s an important part of the process that maintains our high quality of care to the clients we serve. https://www.talkspace.com/join-as-a-therapist . Additionally, pay-scale depends on how many clients you work with, and the plans to which they are subscribed, which does fluctuate, and we recognize that can be frustrating. Most of our therapists work with Talkspace to earn supplemental income on their own time. Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    low commitment, low pay, low experience

    Jan 26, 2018 - Therapist in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible schedule, work from home, decent number of referrals, really meaningful work and reaching clients that might not otherwise seek therapy

    Cons

    Pay is embarrassingly low. While they are increasing pricing in the future and compensation will also increase, there are no increases for therapists who have had long-term clients. Leadership does not answer questions but will direct you to search through disorganized materials to find the answer yourself. Therapists are expected to keep current on company policies which are ever changing.

    Continue reading
    53 people found this review helpful

    Talkspace Response

    Marketing

    We’re sorry to hear you were frustrated by the pay as a Talkspace therapist. Keep in mind that our pay-scale depends on how many clients you work with, and the plans to which they are subscribed, which does fluctuate, and we recognize that can be frustrating. Most of our therapists work with Talkspace to earn supplemental income on their own time. Also, our resources are available to all Talkspace therapists used as a tool for training and to support clinical practice and success on the platform. Thank you for taking the time to review Talkspace. Your voice helps us make the changes we need to make to maintain our vibrant and engaged community of therapists.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 114 Reviews

Popular Careers with Talkspace Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Talkspace? Share Your Experiences

Talkspace logo
or