Cover image for Tally
Logo

Tally

Engaged Employer

Tally

Add a Review

Tally Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 47 of over 48 reviews
4.6
93% Recommend to a Friend
100% Approve of CEO

Found 47 of over 48 reviews

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

7d

a 

Commercial Customer Service Representative

What’s the best way to have a lack of compensation and incentive conversation in your department? I went above and beyond for years doing extra work, organizations etc and nothing has been reflected in pay. I thought my 5 year was going to finally show something but it did not. I’ve inquired about pay but it’s gotten nowhere.

27

7 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "This is by far the most caring and empathetic culture I have ever worked at.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Some of the brightest people you'll meet.(in 8 reviews)
  • "+Diverse leadership team and board(in 4 reviews)
  • "The company values are a real thing here: they expect you to live all of them (change shoes often, dont say nothing and own the outcome) in order to create an amazing environment to work!(in 4 reviews)
  • "Leadership team is very accessible and they care a lot.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Tally

    Nov 8, 2022 - People Team in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They care about people: members and employees alike

    Cons

    Teams are often not built out to support the workload and things can feel chaotic and messy.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tally Response

    Hello, I really appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience. I hear your point about things feeling chaotic at times - being in growth mode definitely comes with its share of challenges. Thank you for being a part of Tally's story, and for caring deeply about our members and fellow Tallizens. -David, Director of Recruiting

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to learn and grow

    Oct 3, 2022 - Corporate Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been at Tally for just under a year now and it is one of the most rewarding places I've worked. Everyone is on a mission to help our users get out of debt faster and you can see the direct impact of your work. There is also great communication from leadership and lots of transparency so you really feel like you know what is happening within each department.

    Cons

    start-up fintech so things can change on the fly and priorities can shift

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tally Response

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It’s always energizing to hear that someone is enjoying their time at Tally. Thank you so much for helping to build Tally, and for all that you do to support our candidates! -David, Director of Recruiting

  3. Join the Tally team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Look

    Sep 29, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone here is awesome, the work is broad, and the product is getting better every day.

    Cons

    It's complex work, but it's rewarding.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tally Response

    Hello, Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experience. I’m so glad to hear that it’s been a positive one! Looking forward to continuing to help people to be less stressed and better off financially together. -David, Director of Recruiting

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Aug 29, 2022 - Customer Success Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, great benefits and fun activities for employees

    Cons

    Product is confusing so it makes a Customer Support role very difficult

    1 person found this review helpful

    Tally Response

    Hello, Thank you for posting about your experience at Tally. I love our culture, and am thrilled that you've had a great experience. I also agree that our product is not straightforward, and am grateful for all of our wonderful Member Success folks who have taken the time learn what we do, and ensure that all of our members are supported. Thank you very much for all that you have done to help our members! -David, Head of Recruiting

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    High-quality work AND High-quality people

    Aug 5, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting and challenging work Very mission-driven company Very strong culture - people treat each other with respect Company strives to do very high-quality work Leadership really cares

    Cons

    Definitely a start-up - lots of changes Lots of inefficiencies Could be better at tracking against goals

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tally Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for sharing your experience with our community. I especially love your comment about our culture. I agree - we have a very special group of kind and talented folks here. We are lucky to have people like you helping our users in their financial journey. David Director of Recruiting

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Amazing company

    Apr 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company , te yes yes

    Cons

    Nothing big, understaff , yum food

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Great mission and people, but a bit chaotic

    Apr 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great mission and is clearly connected to the work - Smart and humble people who care deeply about the work with no ego - Emphasis on values

    Cons

    - A lot of technical debt and reliance on 3rd party providers makes it challenging to make progress - Leadership is very involved and wants to be in the details, but don't have all the context anymore. Very collaborative in this way, but can lead to a lot of top-down thrash instead of empowerment - Solid amount of turnover

    1 person found this review helpful

    Tally Response

    Thank you for sharing this feedback. I agree with you that Tally has a great culture and that our work processes are a work in progress. That said, we've been able to make many improvements over recent months through feedback like yours. If you're comfortable, please do reach out to me. Would appreciate to get your input on how we can work better together. - Genessa

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great culture, Strong leadership, Commitment to Mission

    Sep 24, 2021 - Director of Engineering 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The leadership has established a great people first culture and demonstrates this with actions and not just words. Newer leadership bringing in valuable experience and leveling up the team every day. The mission is about helping people pay off their debts and there's a clear commitment to an overwhelmingly positive impact in this space.

    Cons

    Lots of engineering challenges and team needs help to grow and meet ambitious goals. Small company benefits

    1 person found this review helpful

    Tally Response

    Head of People

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I could not agree with you more that Tally has a strong people-first culture where we really live the values. We're in an exciting time with a lot of growth and opportunity. With so many new Tallizens joining and bringing in even more great experiences and insights, amazing things are on the horizon. We're so glad to have you as part of the Tally team! - Cheryl Puzon, Head of People

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent Workplace and Professional Staff

    Jul 30, 2021 - Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tally is striving the create a better financial tool for the middle and working class. They hope to create a product that will be similar to a full-time accountant, saving our users thousands of dollars each year and with minimal hassle.

    Cons

    Lots of new people coming on board so we are consistently having to train and update processes as the business shifts.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Tally Response

    Head of People

    Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts! It’s been so inspiring to see all of our Tallizens adapt over this past year and I’m so happy to hear that you have been enjoying our flexible work policy. It’s also been great to see so many wonderful new faces here, and I truly appreciate the Own The Outcome and Change Shoes Often that our team has displayed when helping our newer Tallizens get up to speed. - Cheryl Puzon, Head of People

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Strong Culture & Strong Potential

    Aug 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tally has a strong foundation and is filled with good, smart people working on a hard and important problem. Leadership really cares about employees. I'm excited about the future.

    Cons

    Lots of growing pains, especially trying to grow. It can feel. like there are wild swings in decisions.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Tally Response

    Head of People

    Hi there! Thank you so much for sharing your experience here at Tally. We’ve got some really exciting goals ahead and are so grateful for everybody who has been helping to make our members less stressed and better off financially. Thank you for being a part of this journey! - Cheryl Puzon, Head of People

Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews
</>Embed

Tally Reviews FAQs

Tally has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5, based on over 48 reviews left anonymously by employees. 93% of employees would recommend working at Tally to a friend and 86% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Tally employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Tally. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

93% of Tally employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Tally 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.7 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Tally to be benefits, career development, senior leadership and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, management.

Work at Tally? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Tally Photos

+ Add Photo
Tally photo of: Launch party!
Tally photo of: Tally holiday party 2019
Tally photo of: A few Tallizens participating in the annual Halloween costume competition
Tally photo of: A cozy corner in the Tally Vancouver office
Tally photo of: Tally retreat - time to clime the wall!
Tally photo of: Hackathon demo
Tally photo of: Getting some packages ready to donate
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 48 Tally reviews submitted anonymously by Tally employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Tally is right for you.