Talroo Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Talroo CEO Thad Price
Thad Price
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Catered lunches and all of the caffeine you could ever desire(in 14 reviews)

  • "In its previous incarnation as Jobs2Careers, had one of the best benefits packages of any small companies(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "non-flexible work hours, no working from home(in 5 reviews)

  • "9 5 30(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture and Leadership

      Jun 2, 2021 - Executive Assistant in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We have a respectful, Win-win relationship with the company.

      Cons

      non-performers can't stick for long.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      forever in the "start up" phase

      Jan 7, 2021 - N/A in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kitchen had great snacks/drinks, holiday parties were great, insurance is covered by the employer, team events were cool too. Basically every work perk listed on their career page covers the pros of working here

      Cons

      A lot is mishandled - this ranges from workloads, to letting people go and the communication surrounding that, to ignoring poor managers who mistreat employees. Company communication is not stellar (and never has been) there is no work/life balance (unless you firmly draw that line in the sand and risk looking like your skirting responsibilities) some management will pass off work to you & take the credit diversity is low, in both gender and race. You never really know what you're working for. The products change constantly, can't decide on what is THE product sold, marketed, etc. and it confused employees, customers, etc. Recognition is often a popularity contest - if management doesn’t like you but you’re doing a great job, you won’t get recognized. if management favors you, you can skate by on the bare minimum.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Greatest Company to Work For. Period.

      Feb 22, 2021 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company CARES. They constantly look for ways to increase benefits for employees, streamline paper work, and seek out ways to boost a sense of camaraderie. Many tech companies compete to roll out benefits and perks left and right, but this tends to be a practice only when profits are looking up. What makes Talroo unique is Talroo cares even when times get hard. In hard times: - COVID: When COVID impacted our business negatively, about 30% of staff was let go (note they provided them with insurance and job search guidance for another month). At the same time, they offered more benefits for the remaining staff to keep morale up. Within a few months, Talroo hired back as many of those let go as they could. Later in 2020, I was still offered a promotion and raise for my work. - Winter storms: The polar vortex that took out Texas impacted my family for over a week. Talroo was understanding, and I didn't have to fill out any paperwork or deal with any hassle to prove I was having power issues. I was simply told to work when I could. The trust and understanding was very welcome in the face of a stressful situation. I didn't have to worry about keeping my job because I couldn't work for almost a week. Most shockingly, Talroo covered a hotel stay for my family until we got our power/heat back. I was told, "Don't worry about it, we'll take care of you." (This probably identifies me for Talroo staff, but I think it is more important other job-seekers know how amazing this company is.) General Environment: - Something about Talroo is very good at selecting great people. All of my co-workers are helpful, open to feedback, and hard-working. If I'm stuck, there is someone to help. If I think something is a bad idea, there is someone to listen. If I'm doing a good job, there is appreciation. - A co-worker of mine joked that the CEO is Santa Claus because he knew what everyone was up to, in a GREAT way. Example: I was a new employee and he caught me in the hallway to thank me for the work I was doing (specifically mentioning things I had recently done). That stuck in my mind as really special. Interview Process: - Many tech companies have a 'coding challenge' which is a high-pressure test for engineers to basically prove their worth. Talroo didn't do that for me: they asked a handful of questions and looked at my code to discern if I knew the basics and seemed like a fast learner. Most of the interview process was 'culture fit,' which actually worked in my favor. They also didn't pressure me to list a salary first, and quickly let me know if I was going to be hired or not (some companies wait weeks before letting you know). I knew within a few days, if I recall correctly. There is way more I could mention: the transparent quarterly meetings, free gym membership, Halloween costume budget (WHO DOES THAT?!), free insurance, spontaneous competitions to win gift cards and prizes, etc. but I could almost write a book. It is no exaggeration to say that being hired by Talroo was one of the greatest things to happen to me in my adult life.

      Cons

      It's uncertain at this time if remote work will be allowed after COVID limitations are lifted.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best company you have never heard of!

      Jan 28, 2021 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Salespeople are told the rules, and not how to play the game. -This company allows me to sell to my strengths, and doesn't force Solution Selling, The Challenger Model, SPIN etc. on us. YUCK! -TONS of technology support (SalesForce, SalesLoft, contracted lead source) to keep the pipeline full. -Work from home easily if not in Austin, set up with a new Mac -Our customer's budgets have room for multiple vendors (salespersons dream) -Growing national sales team with more prospects than time right now -Flexible contracts, ability to sell pilots to start new clients -Very short sales cycle. Like less than a week if you are good! -Clients need our services month after month after month...

      Cons

      Covid has shut down the best Office in Austin (for now)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I couldn't dream up a better company if I tried

      Feb 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From day one, everyone I have met—and I've met nearly the whole company at this point—have been welcoming, encouraging, communicative, understanding, and supportive. If I have questions, there is someone to answer. I am given guidance as well as autonomy. My work load is comfortably busy without being overwhelming. I never thought I'd have the opportunity to work for a company like this and could not be happier. Management listens and coordinates well on projects. They have high expectations when hiring which means everyone is fantastic at what they do and the company continues to propel and advance forward. We are given very generous pay, unlimited PTO, fully paid healthcare coverage (medical, dental, vision, all with fantastic coverage), and matching 401k. Trust me when I say that if you work for Talroo, anything related to the medical world will no longer stress you and you will be provided with peace of mind. We are left wanting nothing. Pre-COVID there were daily catered lunches. Working remote has gone smoothly and everyone's been remote since the first mention of the coronavirus pandemic. Events were obviously moved virtually and they continue to be a ton of fun and are always new, original, and exciting. The company goes above and beyond to keep people engaged and approve event budgets other company management would scoff at. Every move they make is to keep the employees satisfied, keep the company moving forward and growing (to everyone's benefit), and they regularly communicate so everyone's on the same page. The managing officers are some of the best I've ever had the fortune to meet. As a whole the company seems to care about and prioritize everyone's comfort and health, both physical and mental. The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion group continue to make concentrated efforts to facilitate thoughtful strategies in areas of hiring practice, education, and community partnerships. HR is supportive and kind. I feel like I am being trained and set-up for success both within the company and for future opportunities.

      Cons

      Anyone who can list cons has not been in the workforce long enough to know how fortunate we are to be working for a company that cares so much about their employees and actually show it. I hope people try to address and make changes to their situation before running to the internet to anonymously complain about it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Jan 28, 2021 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Talroo is by-far the most culture-centric place that I have worked. Manager support, inter-departmental communication, transparency into company goals and financials and FUN are some of the biggest ways that Talroo stands apart from other companies. The company is also working to increase the diversity and inclusion of its workers and managers Easy to work from home and takes employees health and wellness seriously with 100% paid health benefits, life insurance, and mental health support. Not to mention unlimited time off!

      Cons

      I haven't been able to travel to the Austin office due to Covid restrictions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Mar 8, 2021 - Finance in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart, nice people. Decent pay and great benefits. Transparent leaders. Company has found ways to keep culture, fun events, intact etc. and combine it with the safety and convenience of remote work.

      Cons

      Sometimes the job can feel pretty routine.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Slowly Sinking Ship

      Jan 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, by far, were the best pro along with 100% paid healthcare. The other benefits are now-obsolete due to Covid - stocked break room, paid lunches, quarterly team events, holiday parties, and breakfast taco Mondays.

      Cons

      Inexperienced CEO. Only minimal advances have been made to the product due to lack of vision. (Changing the name isn't an advancement.) The company sorely lacks diversity. The location for many employees is tough due to traffic, as is parking once you arrive.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Account Executive - Sales

      Feb 4, 2021 - Talent Solutions Executive in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive team, excellent benefits, & a unique growing business model. Everyone is expected to work hard and grow, but also take time off when needed. Leadership is smart, capable, and ready to help.

      Cons

      A fast-growing team means there are bumps that will come up.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best company I've been with in my career

      Oct 23, 2020 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pre-COVID - Catered lunches every day - Tea time (30-minute break at end of the day for socialization) During COVID - Work from home with no expectation of going back into the office until COVID is reasonably behind us. Regardless of COVID - Decent work hours - Focus on work/life balance - Great people - Game nights

      Cons

      During COVID - No more catered lunches since we aren't going into the office Regardless of COVID - Can be hard to get up to speed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 63 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Talroo Job Seekers

    Client Success Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Talroo? Share Your Experiences

    Talroo logo
    or