Tandem HR Reviews | Glassdoor

Tandem HR Reviews

Updated Apr 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Bruce Leon
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company emphasizes making the employees feel welcome through continuous employee appreciation programming(in 8 reviews)

  • "It's a great place to get a full understanding of HR and business(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "No room for growth or far opposite one is promoted out of desperation(in 5 reviews)

  • "Even if they show a compensation study which suggests otherwise, look more closely at the market and do the research yourself, as best you can(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Tandem HR full-time

      Pros

      On a daily basis I get to interact and work with amazing people that make my job fun and something to look forward to everyday. In my position I am given freedom to be creative and develop projects that have the opportunity to make it all the way to the top. Our President is available and approachable and has lead our organization to a strong position in a short period of time.

      Cons

      Tandem is a small company so you have to be a doer to succeed here. You also have to be open to feedback to succeed, as Tandem's culture is becoming more and more a feedback driven one.

      Advice to Management

      Keep developing the organization.

      Tandem HR2019-04-04
    • "New Direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Payroll Specialist 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Tandem HR full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I had the best co-workers.

      Cons

      pay and no room for growth.

      Tandem HR2019-04-13
    • "A company that cares"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tandem HR full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Tandem does a really good job to support my development with internal and external training opportunities, as well as giving me projects to develop my skills. It's a great place to get a full understanding of HR and business. Tandem is also a relatively small company so I get the opportunity to make a big impact on the company's results.

      Cons

      HQ is a bit far if you live in the city.

      Tandem HR2019-03-03
    • "unclear direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales 
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Tandem HR full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great people to work with, attempts to be a fun culture, and flexible work environment.

      Cons

      Complete turnover of C suite year after year, unclear direction. Not open to new ideas.

      Advice to Management

      Focus.

      Tandem HR2019-01-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company with fantastic leadership team and terrific work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative in Westchester, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tandem HR full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Fantastic leadership team Terrific work life balance Excellent benefits Truly cares about its employees and company culture Highly recommend

      Cons

      There are none at this time.

      Advice to Management

      Continue the inspiring & motivating leadership

      Tandem HR2018-12-28
    • Helpful (5)

      "Good place to start a career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tandem HR full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Effective communication from management, clear expectations and plenty of guidance and support

      Cons

      They do not compensate competitively and they have openly admitted that there is little to no room for personal career growth within the company. Most employees will eventually outgrow the company and move on.

      Tandem HR2018-07-30
    • Helpful (2)

      "Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Specialist in Westchester, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tandem HR full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Tandem HR is a growing company, with that comes innovation and technology. Remembering community and that people are truly important here at Tandem! It's really a positive approach to the way we work. Employee engagement, philanthropic engagement, community involvement and support of employee involvement and passion. Flexible work schedule really helps! Encourages us to own our positions!

      Cons

      Growing pains happens at any organization, but when a team rallies together, expertise is shared and willingness to grow and develop, well that can overcome any challenges a company may face!

      Advice to Management

      Continue what your doing, continue to hear your staff as they are on the front lines and the positive growth and milestone achievement with abound. Incorporate incentives where possible to encourage positive engagement, otherwise, keep doing what you!!! Thank you for being a positive place to come to every day!

      Tandem HR2018-06-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Place, Poor Salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westchester, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tandem HR full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great employee engagement, great philanthropy, autonomy, casual work environment

      Cons

      Pay is inconsistent; too much favoritism; Corporate HR is never available for staff

      Advice to Management

      Recent high turnover sends a message; utilize the assets of current staff before hiring from outside

      Tandem HR2018-06-02
    • Helpful (3)

      "Don’t let past history distract you from the future"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Internal Shared Services in Westchester, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tandem HR full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Awesome passionate and dedicated people, great industry - unique, but full of opportunity, wide variety of things to learn, steady growth.

      Cons

      Had its share of ups and downs, less than perfect past still affects reviews.

      Advice to Management

      Those that see the big picture, share the vision on the leadership team. Continue to work on things you strive for.

      Tandem HR2018-04-05
    • Helpful (3)

      "The Right Direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westchester, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tandem HR full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I think the company is headed in a great direction and the leadership team is the strongest one we have had. I have worked in the industry before and can honestly say that Tandem is head and shoulders above what I have witnessed elsewhere.

      Cons

      The new direction is still relatively new but we are excited for it.

      Advice to Management

      Keep adding great people (like the current ones) and keep putting us in positions to be successful.

      Tandem HR2018-02-26
    Found 62 reviews