Cover image for Tango
Logo

Tango

Engaged Employer

Tango

Add a Review

Tango Employee Reviews about "colleague"

Updated Oct 27, 2022

Found 136 of over 145 reviews
3.7
44% Recommend to a Friend
Tango Founder and Executive Chairman Uri Raz
52% Approve of CEO

3.7
44%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Tango Founder and Executive Chairman Uri Raz
Uri Raz
26 Ratings
Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Add a review It only takes a second to share your experience. Your information will always be anonymous.

What people are saying about Tango

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I had the pleasure of working with some really great people that helped offset some of the negatives.(in 13 reviews)
  • "Good benefit.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Competitive salary(in 10 reviews)
  • "Great team with really smart engineers(in 6 reviews)
  • "Communication barriers are really low, the colleagues are friendly and supportive.(in 6 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "colleague"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Jul 8, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun sense of Camaraderie learned a lot

    Cons

    No job securityBackbiting Long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Horrible CEO

    May 14, 2022 - Partnership 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people/employees overall but the company's policy is toxic

    Cons

    Horrible CEO who is brainless and rude,

    7 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Tango team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great people. Extremely motivating environment. Very good long-term outlook.

    Aug 31, 2014 - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked in Tango for a bit less than a year (I had to leave because I've got my dream job in Google, not because I didn't like working in Tango) on H1B visa. Before joining Tango I've read some of the negative reviews on Glassdoor and was a bit hesitant about joining. I'm very glad I ignored all these reviews! My overall experience with Tango was extremely positive: - I've learned a lot of new things in a very wide range of topics and as a result I improved as an engineer tremendously! - I've met a lot of very smart and motivated people and made a lot of friends! - All managers that I was working with (directly or indirectly) were extremely helpful and responsive to my needs! - I had an opportunity to take a peek into insides of a very successful Silicon Valley startup! - Last but not least I should mention all the perks: great food 3 time a day, a lot of team/company events, phone/education/gym reimbursements...

    Cons

    With more than 200 employees and almost $300 millions of raised funds Tango should already be considered BigCorp for all intents and purposes, not a Startup. And most of the cons in my opinion are strongly tied with the inability to switch away from "startup mode" in which Tango continues to operate: - too much focus on the short-term - inefficient, outgrown code review practices - reluctance, unwillingness of mentoring new people - occasional mandatory work on weekends - a lot of flakiness in the decisions

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Welcoming environment with a lot to do

    Oct 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The management has been working hard to create a pleasant work environment. The office is nice, the meals are good, and so on. It's a nice place to work at. The only exception I can think of is that the open spaces may get a bit too noisy around noon because of all the conversations on how to do this and that. The engineering team is great, very smart and friendly.

    Cons

    The app feels mediocre at best. Many engineers have a distaste for their own product. There doesn't seem to be a solid idea of what to do next product-wise. This translates into engineers working on tasks which would otherwise be of low priority. And somehow that does not result in perceived improvements in the overall quality of the app. Maybe that's because it has grown into such a behemoth with a lot of features accumulated over the past few years. The code base is getting increasingly hard to maintain. The pace of development doesn't match the "startup mode" which the company is supposed to be in.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great talent

    May 14, 2020 - Software Architect in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best engineers, great team, lot of friends

    Cons

    no clear direction, no focus

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    If you have realistic expectations its great!

    Dec 29, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of ownership of work, and ability to make an impact. Benefits are pretty good compared to other tech companies. Smart people who are good at expressing themselves and communicating upwards get recognized. Still small enough to get C-Level executive time when needed. Lots of improvements in flight and are super exciting!

    Cons

    If you don't have a fire in your belly for startup work, don't bother. Many people who get frustrated forget that it's a startup. Engineers who are entitled or aren't prepared to iterate on their work should stay away. Many people get frustrated when they don't really understand why things are done a certain way. It is not that abnormal to hear "we've always done it this way" from some of the older employees - if you know what you are doing you can usually bat away the concern. Those that really know what they are doing thrive, those that don't or fake it get broken.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Tango's past and future is doomed! Don't apply here.

    May 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free food, some nice people, unlimited PTO(but this is a lie and scam, management will talk to you for taking too many, dumb as hell)

    Cons

    Sad to see and hear that after two years I was employed at this place, it still hasn't changed one bit. The same exact dysfunction from the past still exist today. Every negative review on here is very true and exact. I experienced the same issues before from the constant lies and deceit by executives, lots of politics, heavy and unfair favoritism, lots of back stabbing, an app the pretty much copies every thing with no innovation. It gets very bloated with so many useless features that aren't fully understood and just simply copied from competitors. It's also very disturbing and jarring to the users that on every update, the app changes completely. I highly discourage anyone from working here, will only be a complete waste of time and effort. There's no common decency, respect, and trust. Oh yes, they also told and made us create fake positive reviews to offset the truth and bad reviews. Their constant bad influences and practices has finally caught up with them, losing countless employees, opportunities and now, a lot of users. You reap what you sow.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Strong culture, open environment, very communicative and smart

    May 27, 2014 - Marketing in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tango is a hard working culture, but I find it no harder than any other start-up I've been at. People here are smart and open. There are no hidden agendas. I enjoy the close collaboration. The culture encourages trust, passion and transparency - and it's very apparent when you work here. The unique thing about Tango is its ability to try new things and to turn ideas into action. The benefits and perks are above par - 401k match, free meals, unlimited PTO, solid health care benefits, gym reimbursements, education, etc. In addition, the office environment is very open and nice.

    Cons

    Need to focus on tighter brand management and a very cohesive user experience is a must. I also want to know that there is career opportunities and runway for women leaders here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    This is a company you want to avoid - no matter how interesting it looks. It's not a healthy place.

    Sep 30, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Crazy valuations. You might actually make money. The growth is impressive and that is what lures you into the company. There are a few great people that work there.

    Cons

    Cruel to employees. Unprofessional. Hostile environment and a complete luck of trust. No management skills. No culture, no value on personal health and personal happiness. Management is fake and puts on a show to look good instead of running a good company. Truly dysfunctional and filled with unhappy employees The executive management team is particularly a problem and sets the tone for a miserable work environment. Humiliation is an often used tactic to 'manage' people. Questionable ethics. Promises of trips, bonuses, time off, rewards for jobs well done, all broken and not delivered. Common practice to offer something nice for the 'next release', but never deliver on that promise. Easy to fall out of the 'in crowd' and be treated disrespectfully and with the cold shoulder treatment. You should really consider how much you want to sacrifice in order to work here. It's too much for too many people.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay away for now

    Oct 15, 2015 - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Free meals 3 times a day and a lot of non-nutritional drink. If you want to gain weight easily 2. Team members are generally nice to work with 3. Location is good, close to 101

    Cons

    1. This company is definitely lacking of a clear strategy how to grow the active user base. The upper management seems pretty much inexperienced. They don't know how to motivate their employee and I doubt they have any clear strategy to build a great product and a great company 2. There are no innovation in this company. The product, i.e., the Tango application, almost every feature is a copy cat of something existing. They said they want to be the WeChat of the west, what a hilarious mission. Not innovation driven, no great product. The app is a mixture of news feed, discovery, chatting, e-commerce and nothing really stands out 3. The upper/middle management are mostly not qualified. They shift project priorities very often and you don't have any career development. Working longer or on weekends is unavoidable sometimes 4. Company meeting is almost useless. No useful information is communicated except wasting your time and listening to some jokes of the COO. You will almost never see the CEO. There is really no meaningful all-hands.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 0 of 0 Reviews
    Join the Tango team
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Tango Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Tango? Share Your Experiences

    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Tango Photos

    + Add Photo
    Tango photo of: warsaw
    Tango photo of: warsaw
    Tango photo of: warsaw
    Tango photo of: work place
    Tango photo of: Tango HQ

    Have you worked here?

    See All Photos

    Expert Career Advice

    Guide to Getting Your First Job

    Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

    How to Get a Job

    Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

    How to Get a Promotion

    Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

    How to Negotiate Your Salary

    A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

    How to Write a Resume

    Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

    Tango Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Coupons.com Logo
    Coupons.com

    2.9

    105 Reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 145 Tango reviews submitted anonymously by Tango employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Tango is right for you.