Tango "tango" Reviews | Glassdoor

Tango Employee Reviews about "tango"

Updated Nov 15, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
Tango Founder and Executive Chairman Uri Raz
Uri Raz
0 Rating
Pros
  • "I love the culture at Tango Austin(in 9 reviews)

  • "Nice co-workers, some very talented engineers, a couple of talented directors who focus on the right things, free food, nice foosball partners(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, no recognition, poor management(in 13 reviews)

  • "I was sold on the promise Tango is going to be the next whatsapp and it's growing very fast(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "tango"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Great people. Extremely motivating environment. Very good long-term outlook."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tango full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in Tango for a bit less than a year (I had to leave because I've got my dream job in Google, not because I didn't like working in Tango) on H1B visa. Before joining Tango I've read some of the negative reviews on Glassdoor and was a bit hesitant about joining. I'm very glad I ignored all these reviews! My overall experience with Tango was extremely positive: - I've learned a lot of new things in a very wide range of topics and as a result I improved as an engineer tremendously! - I've met a lot of very smart and motivated people and made a lot of friends! - All managers that I was working with (directly or indirectly) were extremely helpful and responsive to my needs! - I had an opportunity to take a peek into insides of a very successful Silicon Valley startup! - Last but not least I should mention all the perks: great food 3 time a day, a lot of team/company events, phone/education/gym reimbursements...

    Cons

    With more than 200 employees and almost $300 millions of raised funds Tango should already be considered BigCorp for all intents and purposes, not a Startup. And most of the cons in my opinion are strongly tied with the inability to switch away from "startup mode" in which Tango continues to operate: - too much focus on the short-term - inefficient, outgrown code review practices - reluctance, unwillingness of mentoring new people - occasional mandatory work on weekends - a lot of flakiness in the decisions

    Continue reading
    Tango2014-09-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI Designer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tango full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great! The management is easy to work with. I love the culture at Tango Austin.

    Cons

    Salary is on the low side.

    Tango2016-11-15
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Naive product decisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tango for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, fine benefits, acceptable work load, nice office, OK food.

    Cons

    1) While other competitors in the area focus on improving their core technical competency, Tango try to defeat its competitors by putting weird buttons promoting silly features everywhere to increase engagement... LOL 2) The product design can be ridiculous. For every feature that's could be correctly built and used by users, eventually it become weird and scares users away, thanks to its innovative product team. 3) Weak engineering team. While engineers at other companies take bold movement and do something that's actually challenging and innovative, engineers here focus on mess up their apps again and again to annoy users. 4) Weak infrastructure. The company has no interest of making the foundation solid. The app and the services are glued together and all like a mess. As a result, the company moves either too slow, or too fast to maintain its paces and get things worse.

    Continue reading
    Tango2016-05-29
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Bubble burst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tango full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, some very talented engineers, a couple of talented directors who focus on the right things, free food, nice foosball partners.

    Cons

    Dis-honest executives. Many many empty promises, lies. I was sold on the promise Tango is going to be the next whatsapp and it's growing very fast. Big mistake. Their user base has been shrinking ever since I joined. No growth and massive layoffs. Favoritism is everywhere. If you are from Israel and speaks Hebrew, you are golden. There was this kid, freshly out of an Israeli university, heavily accented English, don't really know what he is doing (I don't blame him for this), and did not really spend too much time at work. Got promoted to team lead after 9 months in the job. Meanwhile other hardworking, talented engineers in the same team, 20+ years of experience, 5+ years with the company, don't get promoted. Very disappointing.

    Continue reading
    Tango2016-05-06
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tango

    Pros

    Many very talented engineers at Tango.

    Cons

    The management didn't know what they were doing, they made tons of terrible decisions. Hard work didn't get paid off, company did their best to save cost, didn't care about their employees. Too much lie in this company, the data shared to public were fake, they wouldn't keep any promises they made to employees, even were put in the offer letters. The executives can't be trust.

    Continue reading
    Tango2016-02-27
  6. Helpful (10)

    "A toxic company with lack of growth or exit potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tango full-time

    Pros

    Tango used to be a great company in a great space. However, over the last year the company took a nose dive. All the great talent is gone from the company and those remaining are stuck due to visa issues.

    Cons

    Notoriously toxic culture characterized by lack of trust, deceit, and false promises. Use growth and engagement is DOWN by more than 50% in the last year. Tango has gone from approximately 350 employees to 200 in the last six months. Significant number was laid off due to hiring mismanagement of an incompetent salesman COO. The remaining employees are looking and many are stuck with "visa issues" because the company has purposely dropped the ball on the process. Don't fall for their visa sponsorship promises. The investors gave up on the company as well. There are no board meetings at all and Alibaba invested in Snapchat. P.S. The management team is paying employees to write positive reviews for Tango on Galssdoor

    Continue reading
    Tango2015-11-07
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Stay away for now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tango full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Free meals 3 times a day and a lot of non-nutritional drink. If you want to gain weight easily 2. Team members are generally nice to work with 3. Location is good, close to 101

    Cons

    1. This company is definitely lacking of a clear strategy how to grow the active user base. The upper management seems pretty much inexperienced. They don't know how to motivate their employee and I doubt they have any clear strategy to build a great product and a great company 2. There are no innovation in this company. The product, i.e., the Tango application, almost every feature is a copy cat of something existing. They said they want to be the WeChat of the west, what a hilarious mission. Not innovation driven, no great product. The app is a mixture of news feed, discovery, chatting, e-commerce and nothing really stands out 3. The upper/middle management are mostly not qualified. They shift project priorities very often and you don't have any career development. Working longer or on weekends is unavoidable sometimes 4. Company meeting is almost useless. No useful information is communicated except wasting your time and listening to some jokes of the COO. You will almost never see the CEO. There is really no meaningful all-hands.

    Continue reading
    Tango2015-10-16
  8. Helpful (26)

    "Uri Raz - Internet Delusionary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tango full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, the benefits package here isn't that bad. Good salary, better-than-most heathcare/dental/vision coverage. Culture between fellow co-workers is great, and I enjoyed working with my peers and my direct manager. That's about where the fun ends.

    Cons

    For starters, I have never seen a more demotivational and delusional bunch that is the senior management staff at Tango. They're completely out of touch with what users want, with a history of spamming and cramming in useless features that end up being a huge engineering drain for little or no value to the end user. Company meetings are sadly hilarious to sit through, as they're mainly full of deception, power games, and demotivational speeches about how we needed to work harder. Anything useful that would have been brought up at these meetings were withheld from employees. The employee review process is probably the main reason why I left. It was NEVER on time and ALWAYS had strings attached. Bonuses were given out up to 8 months after your review period from the previous year was finalized. Options had a vest schedule of months after when you were supposed to receive them. And I know for a fact that this feet dragging happened on purpose. Nepotism and favoritism runs rampant in this company. I'd be willing to bet at least half of these hires don't even have backgrounds in their stated job positions. I exercised my options when I left, but I'll tell you right now that I wish I hadn't.

    Continue reading
    Tango2015-08-09
  9. Helpful (22)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mobile Applications Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tango

    Pros

    Tango used to be a leading messaging company; however, they lost their battle to competition that executes faster with a coherent strategy. Great talent has long left the company.

    Cons

    - No evident exit or fundraising options for the future. Even existing investor Alibaba invested in Snapchat. - Undergoing major layoffs with people disappearing over night. These efforts are led by a ruthless CEO who thinks investor's money are his own. - Almost 50% employee turnover with many new hires leaving the company in a couple of months after realizing coming to Tango was a mistake. - Below the market compensation plan. If you are a great engineer you have much better options in a hot market these days. - Weak leadership team with no growth strategy as evident by tanking user numbers and engagement. - Lack of product vision. The core product team has no prior experience in social. Just check out the latest reviews of the app in the app stores

    Continue reading
    Tango2015-08-19
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tango full-time

    Pros

    Mobile messaging is an exciting business to be in, and there is a good deal about it at Tango. Also, there are some quality people at the company.

    Cons

    A small group of employees has been there for 4+ years, and most others are less than one year into the job. The pattern is that many or most have such a bad experience that they leave in one year or less. The "old timers" feel locked in by vested but not liquid equity.

    Continue reading
    Tango2015-06-11
Found 14 reviews