TaraVista Reviews | Glassdoor

TaraVista Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
30%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
TaraVista CEO and Founder Michael P. Krupa, Ed.D. (no image)
Michael P. Krupa, Ed.D.
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Adult Psych Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Devens, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TaraVista full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Executives, Management, and Co-workers all care about each other. We all go far and beyond for one another. Executives and management actually listen to the employees. I have never worked for a better company. I am very lucky and proud to say I work for TaraVista Behavioral Health.

    Cons

    Can't really think of any

    Continue reading
    TaraVista2018-11-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Understaffed, no security, high turnover for all positions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Counselor in Devens, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TaraVista full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unit staff genuinely care about each other and the patients

    Cons

    The mission statement of this hospital is care reimagined, but the reality of day to day working conditions contradict that. This company has been losing money from its inception despite full units. The management cuts from the bottom, eliminating materials needed to work with patients, basic maintenance (the units are always dirty, housekeeping has been understaffed and cut from later shifts and nurses and counselors are expected to add cleaning their units in addition to their already scheduled tasks and care of the patients. We have been told not to "worry about sanitizing surfaces and to use a wet washcloth to wipe down tables." "Not to use gloves when on checks" despite the fact that the doors to patient rooms haven't been cleaned and we are required to touch each and check inside the rooms every 15 minutes around the clock. Every day there is a new email with further restrictions on access to necessary materials: gloves are in short supply. Dont use gloves, masks, oxyvir wipes to sanitize surfaces..." Security was entirely cut last April. We have zero security guards. When there are violent incidents and codes called on units, no security is there to assist. The numbers of stagg injured in codes is staggering. The woman in charge of CPI training was punched so hard in the face during a code, she was out on workers compensation for four months with a concussion and complications from that concussion. They continually admit patients with a history of violence despite the injuries to staff. Debriefings are few and far between. I've been with this company almost since the start and its heartbreaking to see how bad things are. Dont believe them when they say they welcome feedback and wish employees who've posted on this site had come to them. Its not true. We all voice our concerns in staff meetings, and emails. We ask for support and better screenings. We ask for materials to work with our patients all the time. We send work orders for repairs to our units, and write requests for additional and appropriate staffing all the time. You have to be careful. Speaking up and disagreeing puts a target on your back. Those who have, have been pushed out or fired under suspicious circumstances. We've lost so many key people, so many good people. The Human resource department should be the department you can go to for assistance, but here it has become an extension of the CNOs voice. Someone not to be trusted.

    Continue reading
    TaraVista2020-03-26
  3. "Overall good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 

    I worked at TaraVista part-time

    Pros

    Great team to work with.

    Cons

    Felt unsafe and understaffed at times.

    TaraVista2020-01-17
  4. "Team Work and Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Counselor 

    I have been working at TaraVista part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team work on some units is great; staff support each other. Good for gaining more experience in mental health field.

    Cons

    Each unit has its own style; it can be difficult to adjust to different unit flows and leadership. Do not give raises.

    TaraVista2019-11-07

    TaraVista Response

    November 11, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We have amazing staff at TaraVista, they are what makes TaraVista special and we are so proud of the support that they give to patients, their families and each other. TaraVista currently does provide annual COLA raises for our employees at the time of anniversary and evaluation.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Don’t work here most employees are looking elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse in Devens, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TaraVista full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The floor staff is like family.

    Cons

    I’m scared for my license every day I wake up and go in. Management sucks

    Continue reading
    TaraVista2019-08-27

    TaraVista Response

    September 3, 2019Director, Human Resources

    As always, we welcome you to bring any concerns to your supervisor or a member of the leadership team so that you can be an active participant in addressing potential solutions. The safety of our staff and our patients is, and has been, a top priority since we opened.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Unprofessional, poorly managed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Devens, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TaraVista full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New facility, and nice environment

    Cons

    Terribly short staffed, more concerned with filling the beds than about their staff's safety. CNO is unprofessional, dismissive, not collaborative, and has a dictatorship management style.

    Continue reading
    TaraVista2019-06-28

    TaraVista Response

    June 28, 2019Director, Human Resources

    It is unfortunate that you did not bring your concerns to your supervisor or a member of the leadership team while you were employed at TaraVista. Employee input in identifying areas of concern along with potential solutions is highly encouraged. Helping patients and their families in a time of crisis by providing them with a safe, supportive environment is the reason why TaraVista was created. This can only be accomplished if the beds are filled. To address your comment about injuries, the safety of our staff and our patients is, and has been, a top priority since we opened. It is reviewed and addressed on a daily basis. We value all of our employees and appreciate the work they do to provide our patients with extraordinary care.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Leadership should retire..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Devens, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TaraVista full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very important work with a marginalized population. Decent pay.

    Cons

    The CNO is flighty and doesn't hold her staff accountable, so nothing ever gets done. The CEO is a very nice man, but cannot make a decision. HR claims they are supportive but are passive-aggressive and they only support their favorites. We have too many meetings for making changes, but upper management never follows through with anything.

    Continue reading
    TaraVista2019-06-15
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Great Co-Workers - Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MHC in Devens, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TaraVista full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are like family, genuinely care about each other, provide support, and enjoy their time together. Patients are amazing - providing a listening ear is all it takes sometimes. Patients arrive at TaraVista from all walks of life and they are some of the most influential people I have ever met. Helping patients overcome barriers is very empowering.

    Cons

    Management has approached employees to create a "fake review" in an attempt to gain higher reviews!!!! Management would gain higher ratings if they made positive changes, and not by being deceitful. No room to grow, as departments are too short staffed. Management spends time congratulating themselves and doesn't seem to understand what really makes TaraVista grow and evolve.

    Continue reading
    TaraVista2019-04-17

    TaraVista Response

    April 22, 2019Director, Human Resources

    We are happy that you find your work at TaraVista so rewarding. Helping patients and their families in a time of crisis by providing them with a safe, supportive environment is the reason why TaraVista was created. Having positive relationships with your colleagues is a large part of having a satisfying job experience. We know how important this is to creating the type of place where people enjoy working. We encourage staff to reach out to any member of our team if you have concerns or questions and we will do our best to address them. We hold our staff in the highest regard, you are what makes TaraVista a great place for our patients, their families and each other.

    Continue reading
  9. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mental Health Counselor 

    I have been working at TaraVista full-time

    Pros

    there is good teamwork between workers in your own particular unit

    Cons

    not having as strong support from management

    TaraVista2019-04-02

    TaraVista Response

    April 22, 2019Director, Human Resources

    We encourage you to bring concerns to any member of the leadership team. We want to support our staff to the best of our ability at all times.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "seasoned psych RN i was horrified at what i saw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TaraVista full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They were nice to me personally, BUT.....

    Cons

    Inadequate number of security staff to handle all the violent (forensic???) patients. My coworkers were treated like trash. several staff members have been seriously injured and on top of this many people there feel that the CNO creates a hostile work environment. And they are for-profit, it’s generally best to avoid those places if you can.

    Continue reading
    TaraVista2019-01-17

    TaraVista Response

    January 21, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments. We would like to respond to the assertions in your review to help clarify a few points: - TaraVista does not accept forensic patients. We work hard to provide the best possible training and resources to ensure a safe environment for patients and staff. - You correctly state that our hospital is a for-profit organization as are almost all free-standing psychiatric facilities in Massachusetts. Without private funding thousands of patients within the Commonwealth would have many fewer options for care. - We’re glad to hear that you were treated well personally during your time at TaraVista and regret that you perceive your coworkers to have been treated poorly. If you have specific concerns we encourage you to contact our HR department with details. We welcome constructive feedback to help us to improve. Our staff truly represent our most valuable resource and our CNO, CEO, and leadership team are dedicated to ensuring TaraVista is a positive environment in which to both receive and provide care.

    Continue reading
Found 23 reviews