Target Reviews in Akron, OH | Glassdoor

Target Akron Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
7 Ratings
  1. "One of the best jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Fairlawn, OH

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Target has their own language. It doesn’t take long to see why they call you a team member and not just an employee.

    Cons

    It’s a corporation and with it comes your typical corporate stuff...

    Target2018-08-05
  2. "Ship from store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics in Boardman, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freedom, options of what tasks you want to do as long as you stay busy

    Cons

    Leaders can be a little snooty, if you aren’t all in and picking up shifts when they randomly request you they won’t see a need for you.

    Advice to Management

    I think they are doing everything just fine, they run the store like it is their own which I think is a little excessive but I’m sure they get paid well for it.

    Target2019-03-31
  3. "My job at Target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Leader in Cuyahoga Falls, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and fun to work with people.

    Cons

    Customer service is only fun sometimes.

    Target2019-03-21
  4. "No longer an enjoyable workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving in Macedonia, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Majority of fellow team members are fun and enjoyable to work side-by-side with. If you can get enough hours to support the minimum required they have good medical/dental plans.

    Cons

    Dangerous working conditions in stockroom. Lack of proper training for new hires. Inexperienced, fresh college graduates from outside of the corporation being hired and given managerial positions over experienced/seasoned team members. Lack of proper amount of team members at registers and on sales floor to assist customers. Inconsistent hours and scheduling. Unfair wages and scheduling practices towards senior/experienced...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay scales need to be created/adjusted so new hires are NOT making the same pay rate as someone who has 5, 10, 15+ years service time in. Corporate officials need to communicate with store level employees, not just regional and district management, to address concerns and issues the majority of employees in the company have. Hours need to be fairly distributed so new hires aren't being given 35-40 hours a week when...

    Show More
    Target2019-03-10
  5. "Team Leads need to get act together"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Streetsboro, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, customers were okay

    Cons

    Scheduling during times I told them I couldn't work

    Target2019-03-07
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Backroom Team Member in Fairlawn, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Room to advance if you are willing to work, I worked part time and they were very good about giving me hours that worked around my day job

    Cons

    I was there for for seven years, many people come and go including turn around of mangers to other locations

    Advice to Management

    Keep a good manager after they improve a store

    Target2019-01-24
  7. "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Team Member in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Aside from this job, good wages compared with other jobs. Very diverse workforce. Good employee discount.

    Cons

    For the amount of work and the expectations they have of me, I’m definitely underpaid. Often expected to do supervision/managerial things at the same pay as a cashier. Advancement opportunities exist, but it takes forever! Medical benefits don’t start until after more than a year.

    Target2018-06-26
  8. "Great pay with terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairlawn, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time

    Pros

    The pay is the best part and my coworkers are good friends now.

    Cons

    Don’t work here if you have anxiety. Management stalks your every move. And they will constantly talk to you about what’s wrong and embarrassingly make you speak to a guest as they watch and write notes. NO MATTER long you’ve worked there. If you do something wrong then each manager will say something to you. Constantly stressing you out. Most are rude and they don’t care about scheduling if you request off work.

    Advice to Management

    If you wonder why good employees quit so much. Then consider what you have done. No job ever has treated such hard working employees like you do.

    Target2018-05-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "TM Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronics Team Member in Fairlawn, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great environment, great co workers

    Cons

    Little opportunity for promotion in the company

    Advice to Management

    be more open to change

    Target2018-03-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Pays good but extremely stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hardlines Team Member in Cuyahoga Falls, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are nice to work with Good pay Good workout

    Cons

    Appreciation for employees is severely lacking Understaffed Expectations for completion of duties even within a 4 hour work shift are redicolous if not impossible. Stressful work environment is putting this place lightly

    Advice to Management

    Show appreciation to your team more, and worry less about selling credit cards. Appreciate what your team members do within the shift time constraints more and worry less about getting everything done Saying thank you goes a long way

    Target2017-10-12
Found 40 reviews