Target Reviews in Albany, NY | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Target Albany Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
40%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
20 Ratings
  1. "Softlines Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Floor/Softlines Team Member in Clifton Park, NY

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, awesome coworkers, good pay

    Cons

    No cons to working at Target!

    Target2019-06-24
  2. "Team Member Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Member in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good if you are looking for a stop-gap job

    Cons

    Advancement from within at the retail outlet is almost nonexistent. Usually, people are brought from the 'outside' to become team leads, store team leads,etc

    Continue reading
    Target2019-10-06
  3. "From top down, management is terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Wilton, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are given some levels of autonomy to complete tasks, but even that is diminishing rapidly. Peers make work life tolerable and sometimes enjoyable. Pay is decent in comparison to other jobs needing very few qualifications for employment.

    Cons

    Management is terrible. Management thought process is, they don't need to understand or know how to do our job, they just need to 'manage' us. Which leads to Glorified Babysitters. Culture is god awful. Safety is a joke. Don't promote from within, hire straight out of college kids with no experience.

    Continue reading
    Target2019-10-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Business needs come before treating employees like humans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Wilton, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary and benefits. Working 3 days a week is nice

    Cons

    You will be told what you want to hear to accept an offer but no one cares about you once you start working . Everyone is there for themselves to get promoted, earn a bonus etc..Managers talk poorly of team members, other managers and the seniors. Extremely unprofessional work environment, Mangers joke about serious trainings and constantly use discriminatory language. Team members are treated like less than humans and the priorities of the building are all over the place. The terms "full transparency" and "culture" are used a lot but are non existent in T579. The building looks like crap unless there is a scheduled visit and everyone in the building is asked to pick up a broom. Unless these are all things that you are ok with, this environment can have some seriously negative impacts.

    Continue reading
    Target2019-08-26
  5. "Target has been one of the best retail jobs I have had and I have grown as both a team player and a leader."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Advocate in Saratoga Springs, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are always willing to accommodate!

    Cons

    Getting hours can sometimes be tricky.

    Continue reading
    Target2019-06-02
  6. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Advocate in Saratoga Springs, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Receive encouragement and recognition for the things you do right and constructive criticism for the things you do wrong

    Cons

    40 hour work weeks are not guaranteed, scheduling is not the greatest, some parts of management are not the greatest and don't care for parts of the store they do not work in

    Target2019-06-02
  7. "Not a bad place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Wilton, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, decent OM.

    Cons

    To much overtime during peak season and not enough during slow season.

    Continue reading
    Target2019-04-10
  8. "Great Pay with a Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Wilton, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Team Atmosphere, and physically challenging.

    Cons

    None really, can be a bit physically daunting while your body adjusts to the tasks and hours.

    Target2019-02-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Target is NOT a people company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Wilton, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, schedule if you get the schedule you desire.

    Cons

    Leadership struggles to figure out what their priority is and how to communicate it affectively. Leadership also does NOT want you around when you hand in your resignation, and makes it very clear. I understand your employment being at will, but after my boss told me I would be protected through my resignation date if I wrote him a letter, I found 3 days later that Target "only accepts 2 weeks and my last day would be in 3 days." (I gave a notice of 4 weeks, as I was a manager and that has been the protocol I follow). On my last day, not a single member of upper management thanked me or said goodbye.

    Continue reading
    Target2019-01-15
  10. "Good for What it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Colonie, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff was friendly and the customers were alright for the most part.

    Cons

    The pay was low and you are easily expendable.

    Target2019-01-13
Found 61 reviews