Target Reviews in Anchorage, AK | Glassdoor

Target Anchorage Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
3 Ratings
  1. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have great benefits for the employees. Good people.

    Cons

    Employee's discount is too low.

    Advice to Management

    Cross-train employees , helps more to sell at the store.

    Target2013-12-30
  2. "Good First Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Wasilla, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Target is very goal-oriented and wants to help its employees succeed and learn how to sell Target as a brand.

    Cons

    Target as a whole can be very aggressive in its endeavors to sell store debit and credit cards to the point where it is no longer enticing to a customer.

    Advice to Management

    Be more personal in some aspects to your employees.

    Target2019-06-29
  3. "Constantly evolving company, very hard with retention in the AK stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Team Lead- Key Carrier in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hard to loose your job

    Cons

    Far too much expected of team members without enough hours to do it in

    Advice to Management

    Increase team member hours and increase overall training of team members

    Target2019-04-05
  4. "Better Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Wasilla, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Willing to schedule work hrs around your personal schedule.

    Cons

    Management needs more in-depth training.

    Advice to Management

    Have more compassion for your employees.

    Target2019-02-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Do Not Work At Target!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Alright Pay Left to work on your own most of the time.

    Cons

    Management refuses to listen. Terrible hours as well as terrible scheduling. Training new employees is more like throwing them in the deep end of the pool and screaming SWIM! Too much pressure to sell Red Cards. Does not care about the customers. They encourage harassing customers if it means more Red Cards. You can be the best cashier there is but it wouldn't matter cause you didn't sell any Red... Cards. They'll try to find ways to fire you even if you ask every guest to sign up. Red Card, Red Card, Red Card!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop pressuring your cashiers to get one red card a shift. It's extremely unrealistic. You believe just asking a customer and telling them the benefits will lead to a red card sign up a hundred percent of the time. You tell your employees that when you were cashiers, they got 6-7 red card sign ups a day and that they can do the same if only they be positive and ask customers to sign up. The truth is that the... customers willing to sign up for a red card already have. The pool has dried up and management cannot understand that. Hounding your employees to get one red card sign up a shift is near impossible unless they're lucky, harassing the customer, or outright trickery. Don't value employees based on how many red cards they get. Value them on how good and hard working they are. Value them even more if customers like them. Don't treat them like trash if they didn't get one red card that week. Try to schedule better. You say okay when a employee tells you they can't work this day but then you schedule them for that day anyways and getting mad when they're absent.

    Show More
    Target2018-11-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "They do not care about their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Logistics in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than a year

    Pros

    10% discount on purchases and extra 5 with red card

    Cons

    Management, hours, no flexibility, and not willing to fix unethical behavior.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better

    Target2018-06-14
  7. "I’ve worked here a little over a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Starbucks Barista At Target in Anchorage, AK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Coworkers and our regulars make my days worth it there.

    Cons

    Forget about being treated like a human being. Trying to talk to someone about an issue you see? They’ll basically tell you to go away and that it isn’t their problem. Forget about having a regular life, if i try and have a social life and take time off my management makes me feel like the biggest load of trash. Sick and practically dying? Don’t bother calling in, you’ll probably get written up for an attendance... violation and/or fired. They won’t cross train you anywhere in the store. Once you get in a department you’re pretty much stuck.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire new management. This clique of management is worse than the “popular” group in high school.

    Target2018-05-29
  8. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was a pretty good job i enjoyed the people i worked with and recieved good hours and recieved great work experience.

    Cons

    I honestly cant say that i had any bad experiences while i worked at target. the managers and coworkers treated me great and my schedule and total hours were consistent and worked well for me.

    Advice to Management

    I would say to keep up the good work at the store i worked at at least. i had no problems at all with management at work, they treated me very well.

    Target2018-02-23
  9. "Target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Hardlines Team Member in Wasilla, AK

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    Fun working environment and the ability to move around and work in different departments is great. Work hard and you'll get more hours.

    Cons

    Benefits while working part time are slim.

    Target2017-09-21
  10. "Lovely"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Ave Team Member in Wasilla, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Works with your schedule, great TM, good pay, constantly busy so goes by fast.

    Cons

    Not enough hours, keeps cutting hours, adding more work after cutting hours.

    Advice to Management

    More hours please.

    Target2017-05-17
Found 24 reviews