Target Asset Protection Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Target Asset Protection Specialist Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Asset Protection Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always engaging, and something new

    Cons

    Guests can be a bit annoying

    Advice to Management

    More training for employees prior to letting them out on the floor

    Target2017-10-19
  2. "Flexible but not a lot of respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and willing to give overtime

    Cons

    The team I was on lacked organization, which caused a lot of issues and diminished any respect between the group

    Target2019-08-02
  3. "Good schedule, sexist supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Protection Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The schedule was pretty flexible and they were cool with making sure you could live your life as long as you got your hours in too.

    Cons

    My supervisor was extremely hard to get along with. Sexist to the point that two of us (both females) literally couldn't do our jobs effectively. Problem was everyone knew he was sexist but all the right people loved him (i.e. HR and his supervisor).

    Advice to Management

    More internal reviews from team members to make sure team leads aren't hindering their work.

    Target2019-07-31
  4. "Was a good job until bosses were fired and new ones got hired and changed everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Valley Stream, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, was close to home

    Cons

    No room for growth, backstabbers everywhere

    Target2019-05-10
  5. "Put away the bad guys."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assets Protection Specialist in Appleton, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay! Get to catch shoplifters.

    Cons

    Hours, structure, benefits after 12 months of employment.

    Target2019-05-08
  6. "High Demand - low reward."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to grow and plenty of positions to move towards.

    Cons

    You're expendable, very quickly.

    Target2019-05-04
  7. "Micromanage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Protection Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I guess the discount 10% automatically use red card get additional 5% any target brand or target owned get 20% off and you can stack discounts on top of sales

    Cons

    You don’t get health benefits until after 1 year with an average 29 hours a week or after 1000 hours worked with an average 29 hours /week

    Advice to Management

    Stop talking about other employee issues or disciplinary to everyone else. It’s illegal! And stop using Asset protection camera to spy on employees and use it against them as employee performance also illegal !

    Target2019-04-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Assets Protection Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Team member invested company supports advancement.

    Cons

    Would like to see more support regarding education assistance and reimbursement.

    Target2019-02-26
  9. "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Everett, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Room to grow if your good at your job.

    Cons

    You will have to wait a long time to move up and deal with politics. strict guidelines that limit you.

    Target2019-02-20
  10. "Decent job, not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to make your own schedule, decent starting pay, good reputation in the loss prevention community.

    Cons

    Raises are usually 30/40 cents per year, very statistics driven. If you don’t make apprehensions you will be terminated.

    Advice to Management

    Allow more discretion for preventions, give more internal abilities to APS’.

    Target2019-01-30
Found 54 reviews