Target Reviews in Buena Park, CA | Glassdoor

Target Buena Park Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
7%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
1 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor in Buena Park, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target

    Pros

    The job was great, I really enjoyed working in the electronics department. I got to talk to people about video games and electronics all day.

    Cons

    The only problem I really had was working in Toys would get a little messy, I would at times have 7 carts of toys to put back during Christmas time. But the higher ups knew it was a large job and they wouldn't expect you to finish it by yourself

    Advice to Management

    I was pretty happy with the management they all seemed to be pretty fair, at times they could be a little intimidating but most of the time they were great

    Target2010-11-21
  2. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Buena Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They work with your schedule

    Cons

    They don’t care about you as a person

    Advice to Management

    hire qualified people, not just anyone.

    Target2019-08-02
  3. "It's all about who your STL is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GSTL in Buena Park, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, transfers are easy, community can be wonderful

    Cons

    Retail, when you have a bad STL life can be miserable, slow to promote

    Advice to Management

    listen to what employees have to say about their leaders

    Target2017-10-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Electronics/Entertainment Team Member."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Target Electronics Team Member in Buena Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, plenty of room to grow and move up, and a good work environment. This position allows for projects to be available and can lead to leadership roles.

    Cons

    Hours can be scarce, different work centers can clash from time to time, and there can be some favoritism. Also, there tends to be some miscommunication from time to time.

    Advice to Management

    To make sure all departments are efficiently communicating with each other and feel comfortable working with each other.

    Target2017-03-04
  5. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales in Buena Park, CA

    I worked at Target for more than a year

    Pros

    break hours were okay

    Cons

    not a lot of growth opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Train employees correctly

    Target2017-03-13
  6. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Services Team Leader in Buena Park, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great intense experience and growth potential

    Cons

    Ensure all Target employees get recognized for their work

    Advice to Management

    More recognition

    Target2016-09-01
  7. "Cashier-Sales-Restock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Buena Park, CA

    I worked at Target full-time

    Pros

    Easy work, there was food in the break room. There was Satellite TV.

    Cons

    Strict hour. This was unique to me but I gave my manager my updated schedule for school, was given a new full time position because a person in the back room quit and then needed someone asap. The guy who I submitted my new hours to also quit, without turning in my updated schedule. When school time came around I noticed every day I was working was a school day during school hours. I notified my manager and he told me...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Understand your employees position. I wouldn't have needed to quit if my hours were adjusted.

    Target2015-09-25
  8. "Started out great but has gone down hill the last few years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Buena Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    When I started with the company years ago I was able to move up the corporate ladder quickly, put myself through school using their tuition reimbursement program, and grow professionally under great leaders.

    Cons

    Major issues the past few years (credit card scandal, Target Canada closing, new CEO, chasing technology without thorough research) have led to a lot of poor corporate decisions have led to an unstable future for the company. Part-time team members no longer have benefits and most were reduced to working 3 hour shifts. They are eventually forced to work other jobs to make a decent living. There are hardly any store team...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In a company where you emphasize its employees to drive the "vibe", upper management needs to also use that same mentality to retain it's top talent. Through thick and thin a lot of managers had stayed with you only to be shown they are replaceable without a second thought.

    Target2015-08-05
  9. "Good job for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Buena Park, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Target has very flexible hours, friendly work environment and for the most part quite organized.

    Cons

    Pay is very low, even after years of staying with the company and politics among senior management is evident in certain hires or "promotions".

    Advice to Management

    Maintain professionalism with all team members both on and off the clock.

    Target2014-06-19
Found 9 reviews