Target Reviews in Charleston, SC | Glassdoor

Target Charleston Reviews

Updated Jan 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
5 Ratings
  1. "Flow Team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flow Team in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with some good people to achieve a common goal. Target team member discount.

    Cons

    Relying on other team members availability to work, and taking requested time off will place your return weekly schedule upside down. Long drive to work.

    Advice to Management

    Pay could be better, and not partially based on merchandise sales.

    Target2013-09-17
  2. "Decent job, not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to make your own schedule, decent starting pay, good reputation in the loss prevention community.

    Cons

    Raises are usually 30/40 cents per year, very statistics driven. If you don’t make apprehensions you will be terminated.

    Advice to Management

    Allow more discretion for preventions, give more internal abilities to APS’.

    Target2019-01-30
  3. "Senior Team Lead: Backroom and Fulfillment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Team Leader Backroom/Instocks in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company seems to be heading in a good direction in an increasingly uncertain retail business.

    Cons

    Career advancement is nearly impossible.

    Target2018-08-27
  4. "Ok for College Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Target Cashier in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You don't get enough hours to survive off of unless you have been there forever. You can't really survive off the pay but it's a relatively easy job. They push red cards. Your supposed to ask every Guest.

    Cons

    No hours. Low Pay and have to push red cards. No benefits

    Advice to Management

    Build more Moral

    Target2017-01-17
  5. "Great Environment for College Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for a college student to earn extra money while attending classes.

    Cons

    The schedule was a bit confused at times and I think that was because staffing was off or because I was working a lot during the holidays when I had requested off. But that is retail work in general.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency.

    Target2015-12-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Target compensates you well for the work expected of you, and the benefits are decent.

    Cons

    You basically live at work. There is zero time for anything else. The job is very demanding and there is little recognition, mostly call outs for what you've done wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Give managers every weekend off and rotate the senior team leaders on the weekends so there is a greater sense of work life balance considering managers are expected to work a minimum 50 hour work week.

    Target2015-04-25
  7. "Soul crushing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some wonderful people who work on the floor. Met some of my best friends there.

    Cons

    Bad management. Micro managing. Low salary. They talk about family values and promotion from within. It is all talk they don't care about either. If you go above and beyond this is the praise you will receive. "It is nice you did that but why didn't you do this too?" I would only recommend a job at Target as a last resort.

    Advice to Management

    The advice needs to be to the CEO. You need to completely revamp your company or it will be history. Your long time and dedicated employees are leaving in droves. The turn over in your stores should show you how horribly wrong you are doing things.

    Target2015-02-09
  8. "Terrible management, low salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Leader in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always hiring. I guess that's a pro, but really, that mentality comes back to bite you when your colleagues turn out to be exactly the people who need indiscriminately hiring employers.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement, internal hiring is paid significantly lower than outside hires, meaning that experience and company loyalty is outright punished. Poor structure and apathetic colleagues.

    Advice to Management

    Burn it down and start it back up from the ground. There's so much rot in the organisation that no amount of patching can save it.

    Target2015-01-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flow Team Member in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None this company only operates with negative reinforcement

    Cons

    Too many to list, horrible pay long hours and never given recognition for what you deserve

    Advice to Management

    Be out front with team members and treat them with respect. I dedicated 4 years of hard work to the company and never once did i feel any of the benefits.

    Target2014-05-09
  10. "ETL LOG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ETL LOG in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People Focused environment. Great management training program for new college grads. Great of leadership skills to build off of in the future

    Cons

    Due to Targets lack of innovation, they have not been able to keep up with the market. They are getting bypassed by the likes of Walmart and Amazon. therefore career growth is pretty much non existent.

    Advice to Management

    Invent and simplify.... its one of yo core competencies that as a company your not making the mark

    Target2014-01-22
Found 17 reviews