Target Reviews in Charleston, SC | Glassdoor

Target Charleston Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Poor accountability culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Team Lead in North Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay for retail Upward mobility (if you're selfish enough) Benefits

    Cons

    Lazy executives Very little accountability Dis-functional/dilapidated equipment Rampant double standards Extremely high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Treat people as people instead of an expendable resources Always attempt to accommodate team members needs

    Target2016-06-02
  2. "Great Environment for College Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for a college student to earn extra money while attending classes.

    Cons

    The schedule was a bit confused at times and I think that was because staffing was off or because I was working a lot during the holidays when I had requested off. But that is retail work in general.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency.

    Target2015-12-09
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Target compensates you well for the work expected of you, and the benefits are decent.

    Cons

    You basically live at work. There is zero time for anything else. The job is very demanding and there is little recognition, mostly call outs for what you've done wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Give managers every weekend off and rotate the senior team leaders on the weekends so there is a greater sense of work life balance considering managers are expected to work a minimum 50 hour work week.

    Target2015-04-25
  4. "Softlines Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor/Softlines Team Member in Summerville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    I loved the products at Target - that's about it

    Cons

    Unsupportive management at the retail level, low pay,

    Advice to Management

    Be as cool as your branding

    Target2015-03-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "No support whatsoever, little training, poor communications."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Starbucks Team Member in North Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    Interview process was easy and low stress. Team leaders were flexible and were willing to cater to the position I wanted. Target discount applied to the whole store.

    Cons

    HIGH turnover, we were consistently short staffed and as a result we weren't well accommodated for times we could not work. Many times I had to call in sick to go to class because they scheduled me outside of my availability. Employees had low moral because a lack of support from leadership and that resulted in a negative work environment. Training was minimal and done basically by fire. Baristas are required to complete...

    Show More
    Target2015-02-20
  6. "Great opportunity to develop and learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Target Team Leader in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Target

    Pros

    Supportive management staff, above average pay, good work environment, high expectations

    Cons

    Demanding schedule, unproductive/difficult tenured employees

    Advice to Management

    Recognition for above average performance is vital.

    Target2015-01-28
  7. "Soul crushing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some wonderful people who work on the floor. Met some of my best friends there.

    Cons

    Bad management. Micro managing. Low salary. They talk about family values and promotion from within. It is all talk they don't care about either. If you go above and beyond this is the praise you will receive. "It is nice you did that but why didn't you do this too?" I would only recommend a job at Target as a last resort.

    Advice to Management

    The advice needs to be to the CEO. You need to completely revamp your company or it will be history. Your long time and dedicated employees are leaving in droves. The turn over in your stores should show you how horribly wrong you are doing things.

    Target2015-02-09
  8. "Terrible management, low salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Leader in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always hiring. I guess that's a pro, but really, that mentality comes back to bite you when your colleagues turn out to be exactly the people who need indiscriminately hiring employers.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement, internal hiring is paid significantly lower than outside hires, meaning that experience and company loyalty is outright punished. Poor structure and apathetic colleagues.

    Advice to Management

    Burn it down and start it back up from the ground. There's so much rot in the organisation that no amount of patching can save it.

    Target2015-01-18
  9. "Don't do it unless you have to!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hardlines Team Member in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get a discount card, but have to pay with target red card or cash in order to use it.

    Cons

    Pay isn't good, ETL's don't care about teams needs.

    Advice to Management

    Try to relate more to your staff instead of just barking orders.

    Target2014-12-12
  10. "Bagger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bagger in North Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time

    Pros

    nice people at the front desk not much to say

    Cons

    bad people are jerks and give bad tips

    Advice to Management

    be nice

    Target2014-09-12
Found 31 reviews