Target Reviews in Charlotte, NC | Glassdoor

Target Charlotte Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
40 Ratings
  1. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Target Barista in Weddington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice working environment to be in

    Cons

    None at the moment it’s nice

    Target2019-06-10
  2. "Never Again!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly the first 6-8 Months I had no problems. I liked having the 10% discount, and given the fact that I was in school they were more than happy to work with my scheduling.

    Cons

    As time went on new managers were put into place that constantly wrote any one up for anything. The management team was TERRIBLE and constantly loved to belittle team members just because they themselves had a higher "title." Once we got new management everyone's hours were cut short, people that had been working there for YEARS were only getting a max of 10 hours a week. When questioned HR's response was they didn't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have better training and make sure that the people you put into power are RESPECTFUL to ALL team Members.

    Target2019-08-18
  3. "Worked like a animal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stocker in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -they bring us lunch or snacks once a week - yearly raises -decent discounts

    Cons

    -they cut everyone's hours except management -they cut hours drastically without notice - some expectations are out of touch - some leaders expect you to stock over 1,000 items per hour

    Advice to Management

    -consider doing some internal investigations at your poorly performing stores

    Target2019-08-05
  4. "Easy Job but Unfulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Brand Team Member in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy tasks and usually nice coworkers.

    Cons

    Communication between leaders and team members can be lacking.

    Target2019-07-19
  5. "pretty chill place to work i guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Target Team Member in Huntersville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    in my case the people were pretty chill

    Cons

    corporate expects more than they should

    Advice to Management

    stop cutting hours

    Target2019-07-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic retail in nice clothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Pineville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay can be competitive, good health care

    Cons

    Retail gossip and toxic atmosphere, job quality varies by location and manager, promotions based upon favoritism.

    Advice to Management

    Do your jobs better

    Target2019-04-15
  7. "My Perpsective In Working at Target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor/Softlines Team Member in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    convenient commute, adequate access to facility,

    Cons

    low scheduling of hours to work, poor security coverage hours during peak times when necessary

    Advice to Management

    Have enough persons on-board per store so that the "Guests" can receive exemplary service that an adequate number of "Team Members can provide.

    Target2019-04-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Hit or miss... no consistency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Kannapolis, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule .. and a "token" employee discount

    Cons

    The leadership at the store level seems to be hit or miss. As for your Kannapolis, NC location. HORRIBLE! It seems that they have too many leaders and not enough staff. Several times in my employment there, one manger will have you do something and another will question you about why you are doing it and have you do something else. For the rate of pay, working at this particular location is NOT WORTH ONE'S SANITY!

    Advice to Management

    Inconsistency is your ONLY consistency. this should be dealt with first. Then teach the leadership how to treat the team members. Two books that will solve most of your problems is "How the Win Friends and Influence People" by Dale Carnegie and "Emotional Intelligence 2.0 " by by Travis Bradberry , Jean Greaves , et al. There is NO value in doing anything else until the leadership problem has been fixed. Then I would...

    Show More
    Target2019-04-07
  9. "They lie, a lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employee discount was nice when it worked.

    Cons

    They lied about my schedule, and kind of just threw me into the fray. There wasn't much training at all.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie about schedules, and some of the people in HR are just downright rude/nasty.

    Target2019-04-22
  10. "Reliable job to make decent money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Style Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good. Nice people to work with in terms of co workers. thats all.

    Cons

    Terrible management, unorganized workplace, toxic environment, too much pressure on employees

    Advice to Management

    Change your management.

    Target2019-03-05
Found 160 reviews