Target Reviews in Chattanooga, TN | Glassdoor

Target Chattanooga Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work if you want a busy atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Cleveland, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bosses are mostly willing to work with your schedule

    Cons

    Not much place for moving up or cross training.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key. talk to the other bosses on duty so that you aren't all giving an employee a task. it adds up and becomes unacomplishable.

    Target2019-09-19
  2. "Uorganized management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Target GSA in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers were a joy to work with

    Cons

    Management at the Gun barrel location is very unorganized. Did not enjoy working with leadership.

    Target2019-12-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Little Training & Big Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Associate in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interviewed & Hired Quickly, That's all.

    Cons

    Unbalanced schedule, poor training for expectations, no benefits

    Advice to Management

    Train better and treat people like humans

    Target2019-10-05
  5. "Positive company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    While working at Target I really enjoyed the positive environment and the team meetings that they held almost every morning. This was a really nice place to work.

    Cons

    After holiday season was over it was very hard to get enough hours to support a family.

    Target2019-08-26
  6. "Timelines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EARLY MORNING STOCKER in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -I had a good, understanding manager until she quit for a better job. -Great hours for those who don't want to give all of their life fragments (time) to their day job. -No drug test

    Cons

    -Horrible team; probably the most negative people I've ever worked with. -Constant push to get done faster and earlier - "timelines," they call it. Fast is fine; I could do fast. What I couldn't do was take the constant checking in on my progress. Just leave me alone and I'll get it done. -Unloading a truck sucks. Just a matter of opinion. It's repetitive and you can feel the eyes of management watching how fast you work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, really. You are just doing your job. It's retail. Whips need to get cracked, plans for improvement need to get made, and unnecessary shake-ups to the workflow come from corporate, so meh. Whatcha gonna do?

    Target2019-06-26
  7. "Cart Boye"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cart Attendant in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management, varying work hours for those who like a differing schedule

    Cons

    Have to deal with a lot of people, its retail.

    Target2019-04-24
  8. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Team Member in Hixson, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to make friends with coworkers, good pay.

    Cons

    Little to no communication between management and team members

    Target2019-01-08
  9. "Part Time Electronics Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Team Member in Cleveland, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great culture and management, great hours at times.

    Cons

    Not much full time work.

    Advice to Management

    Consider letting more employees go full time.

    Target2018-12-14
  10. "There are worse places to work for less money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Target Flow Team Member in Hixson, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Minimum Target wage higher than law requires, keeps increasing Understanding with schedule Great coworkers on your level Very LGBT friendly Carries progressive brands

    Cons

    Corporate had a "throw ideas and see what sticks" way of doing things Some ETL's were bad/terrible bosses Good luck getting enough hours if this is your only job

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees. We are the ones out on the sales floor, we know how to be efficient.

    Target2018-08-24
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, Just not enough hours for the associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Team Member in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time

    Pros

    Great 10% Discount, and it stacks with Cartwheel. Flexible Scheduling Great Management

    Cons

    Not Enough Hours are given after holiday season. Management can sometimes expect too much of salesfloor associates

    Advice to Management

    Give more hours away to the Team Members that need it. I am having to quit Target ( I really enjoy it) Because I can't keep living off 10-15 hours a week.

    Target2018-03-10
Found 31 reviews