Target Reviews in Davenport, IA | Glassdoor

Target Davenport Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
3 Ratings
  1. "Overall A Good Company to Work for as a Part-Time Employee in College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafe Team Member - Food Service in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Pays well, they even gave me a raise when I was working there because they did a survey of what other employers in the area paid, and gave people raises because of it -They are very accustomed to working around a student's strange and changing schedule. -The employee discount -Mandatory breaks that they were very serious about enforcing. -The management at the store I worked at was really great, open to suggestions,...

    Show More

    Cons

    -The nature of working at a place like Target is that sometimes their will be team members that don't take showing up on time or at all seriously, but those people are weeded out pretty quickly by the management. -Mandatory to work the day after Thanksgiving, at least it was when I was there, and I was not there when they enacted the crazy open on Thanksgiving Day hours, so working a shift on those days would be a definite...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honestly I can't think of a glaring example of how the management could improve.

    Target2014-04-18
  2. "So so place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Davenport, IA

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent people to work with, Management will work with you if you need something addressed

    Cons

    A lot of bending and crouching when zoning or facing

    Advice to Management

    Stay on track to paying us $15/hour and you'll have the most knowledgeable, friendliest employees in the industry.

    Target2019-06-18
  3. "Take it for what it is worth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ETL Logistics in Davenport, IA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team environment can be great, if you are fortunate enough to work for a leader who is truly development minded. Decent benefits for full time employees and opportunity to advance in the right situation.

    Cons

    Resources and communication can be somewhat limited. Often middle managers are held accountable for the short comings of those higher up the food chain. As it is with all businesses.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in leadership and development training that develops emotional intelligence and self-awareness with district level follow up. This will standardize culture company-wide and solve some of the inconsistency issues seen from store-to-store and district to district.

    Target2018-12-17
  4. "Cafe staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafe Staff in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, discount, clean working environment, coworkers to talk to.

    Cons

    The food safety was subpar - I wouldn't eat there after seeing the kitchen and how things are made. The amount of grease and disgusting state of the slushy mixer, popcorn maker and hot dog grill make me never want to eat those things again.

    Advice to Management

    Have a professional cafe member run it, not teenagers who don't care.

    Target2017-12-01
  5. "Optical Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTM in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    Continuing Education Fun Work Nice Discounts Can be a fun work environment

    Cons

    Commissions were very low in comparison to the sales Hours were heavily dictated by sale numbers Managers were not the best fit for the position

    Advice to Management

    Understand that when the hours allowed are so heavily cut due to performance, the performance itself is hurt because of being so understaffed. Managers should have regular sit down meetings with the District Managers

    Target2016-04-06
  6. "Avoid it if you can."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory/Backroom in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount was OK, but in order to maximize it, you have to sign up for their credit card.

    Cons

    -Management was extremely cliquey as were all departments, at least at my store. I was 19, working 35-ish hours a week for almost a year and never felt welcome. HR never tried to help with any issues, it was all just a kick-the-can mentality in that store. - Upper management was the most disingenuous group of human beings I've ever seen out of any place I've ever worked. I felt like I got the runaround from all of them...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit hiring or allowing pandering, heartless robots to be in charge and allow an infectious, poisonous work environment to exist. I've never worked in a place that is 1/10 as bad as my time was at Target. You're just another heartless, large corporation that vaguely hides their disdain for the majority. I honestly don't believe there are enough words in existence to describe my hatred of the time I spent working for this...

    Show More
    Target2016-04-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "3 years ETL, 1 year STL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Team Leader in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities, great team work, always something new, competitive.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations, everything is an A priority, clear disconnect between HE and stores.

    Target2015-01-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "SuperTarget Store Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Team Leader in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced, interact with many other people

    Cons

    Labor constantly being cut, working nights, weekends, holidays, difficult to keep up with freight coming in.

    Advice to Management

    Stop changing the operating model and slashing labor to ridiculously low levels, then turning around and hold people accountable to impossible merchandising standards.

    Target2014-03-17
  9. "Good Time Night Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Stocker in Davenport, IA
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low pressure environment. Once the truck is unloaded it's a pretty hassle free job, if monotonous. Pay was decent for overnight but hours get hard and there are people constantly calling in and so you get called a lot. Opportunities for overtime however.

    Cons

    Long hours. Unable to leave building and one break. No access to food or drink other than vending machines. Overnight staff can be very gossipy.

    Advice to Management

    Know how hard overnight shifts become in the long-term.

    Target2014-01-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "overnight flow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Flow in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the store was closed, so there were no guests to deal with. you can wear jeans and didn't and comfortable shoes.

    Cons

    your days off were never together, the team leads were too young and inexperienced to deal with people. the rules changed all the time.

    Advice to Management

    please hire more grown ups.

    Target2013-09-20
Found 11 reviews