Target Reviews in Greensboro, NC | Glassdoor

Target Greensboro Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
10 Ratings
  1. "Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Team focused environment. Leadership and development focused company. Great benefits and pay. Flexible scheduling. Staff training was a priority. Guest service was an important sales driver.

    Cons

    Retail scheduling during the fourth quarter. Team members did not receive great pay and benefits. Upward mobility was not based on performance rather than on outside circumstances.

    Advice to Management

    Great working environment and leadership opportunities. The team aspect and goal driven environment is a benefit to working for a fast paced retail company. Leadership must continue to focus on the team members and their development and scheduling.

    Target2018-06-06
  2. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Team Lead in Greensboro, NC

    I worked at Target full-time

    Pros

    There's nothing good to say about the store I worked at

    Cons

    The management was terrible and unprofessional

    Target2019-08-27
  3. "Inconsistency in Management & Schedules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Style Consultant in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team/guest oriented goals and culture is ingrained in their everyday tasks, this can help bring the team together if everyone is on the same page. Good starting pay for retail.

    Cons

    Poor management, INCONSISTENT scheduling, and poor goals depending on the certain store. Management does not care about your life outside of the store and don't make any consistent schedules. Retail hours fluctuates from time to time and that's normal, but with the competitive pay rate at $13 now, Target seems to be hiring almost anyone now. I mean hiring in terms of entry-level team members and management... positions. The training is a joke and moving up is extremely hard. It really depends on the store you are at because if management isn't structured well, it trickles down into everything else. It affects the workload, team members, schedules, and recognition. I will say it also depends greatly on the people you work with as well. I've had management tell me that they make the schedules "fair" so they give everyone around the same hours, but that doesn't make sense for the people that actually work hard and have a high Target IQ. Until they put quality over quantity, the turnover rate for Target is going to increase exponentially.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make more consistent schedules, put more time into the team members that are willing to work and do it well. Hire people with a drive to do well and are qualified; that applies to management as well.

    Target2019-08-12
  4. "Waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Discounts suck No hours Bad management/communication

    Advice to Management

    Educate staff on how to communicate to employees

    Target2019-03-08
  5. "I love working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Team Lead in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Off every other weekend.

    Cons

    Advancement in the company has good pay but requires long hours.. around 60-75 hrs/week.

    Target2018-08-31
  6. "Good Pay, Good Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Team Member in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the pay is great for the amount of work you do, management is supportive, and it is a very team-focused environment.

    Cons

    the relaxed environment makes it easy for coworkers to not buy into the team-first mindset.

    Target2018-07-18
  7. "Expect team members to be 10 ppl at once"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hardlines Team Member in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work around college schedules/ classes

    Cons

    Figure out a way to make majority of stuff team members fault instead of supervisor owning up to it or taking responsibility

    Target2018-08-08
  8. "sales floor team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Floor Team Member in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    Fun team environment , Good breaks, Food in the breakroom,

    Cons

    Slim opportunity to advance, over work you

    Advice to Management

    Be more considerate when it comes to stretching people

    Target2017-09-04
  9. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros to working at target would be the employee discount and all other the great personalities you will come in contact with

    Cons

    Working during the holidays are very hectic expect to have a crazy schedule especially on thanksgiving be prepared to be there at 2am.. ugh

    Advice to Management

    Give more help

    Target2017-08-23
  10. "Former Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Member in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job had a fun working environment .

    Cons

    Management , Pay , and scheduling

    Advice to Management

    These are some peoples only source of income be mindful.

    Target2017-08-22
Found 40 reviews