Target Grocery Reviews | Glassdoor

Target Grocery Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
8 Ratings
  1. "Market Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Team Member in Traverse, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quick paced. There is always something to keep you busy throughout your shift.

    Cons

    Often there is too much to do an not enough time to do it. Lots of cuts to hours and staff have made people do more than they could do in a normal shift. Management shuffles have also put strain on lower rung team members.

    Advice to Management

    Concise interactions between all members of management that will be overseeing a particular member or team.

    Target2017-09-05
  2. "Immature lazy management that plays favorites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time

    Pros

    It's a job, that's really it.

    Cons

    20 bosses, that maybe an exaggeration but they're are a lot of "supervisors" who just micro manage and slack off and don't do any work and bully you and cut your hours, don't expect to get anywhere if you're not popular and don't kiss but and the management says some of the most unprofessional things I've ever heard, they attack associates, I also had sexist managers who would just treat you like crap because you're a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut back on "supervisors" and train your management don't have these snot nosed morons who don't have any experience in retail fresh outta college. Make sure individual employees contributions are recognized and try to be a little more professional and not sexist and play favorites.

    Target2017-09-26
  3. "Grocery early mornings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Stocker in Rochester, MN

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, not hard work.

    Cons

    Terrible hours, management is bad, and no benefits.

    Target2017-09-13
  4. "The company seems to hold animosity towards employees from the LGBQTA+ and POC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Clerk in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I only have two Pros: 1. I met some wonderful team members that have become great friends. 2. I learned how a company should NOT behave in the 21st Century.

    Cons

    The company is racist and anti-LGBQTA+. They seem to have an excellent PR department that masks the harsher treatment given to employees. The company needs to update their training on the "Disney Program" they follow so as to better understand the demands of the 21st Century. Target still operates like it's the 1980s.

    Advice to Management

    Hire a more diverse management team that actually knows how a business runs and not one that seems to only hire their Fraternity/Sorority peers. Diversity = more than just a single POC on a team of 40 members. Stop being anti-Semitic, anti-Catholic, and stop being racist.

    Target2017-09-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Target works well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Team Member in Ankeny, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible (most part) Good pay Personal Working with others fairly consistently Note: The biggest reason I have stuck here is the personal I work with.

    Cons

    Constantly expected to cover when other's do not show up for their shift Nothing else significant

    Advice to Management

    Spread out personal.

    Target2017-04-28
  6. "target in a nut shell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Team Member in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great coworkers, awesome people to work with

    Cons

    expect more pay less, little commutation

    Target2017-03-06
  7. "Target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Team Member 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to switch departments, I've worked softlines, hardlines, cashiering, and market. Can transfer to almost any store. Friendly employees. One of the better retail stores to work at

    Cons

    HR needs drastic improvement, I've worked at three target stores and they are all extremely slow at getting you into the systems and communicating with you. For example, my most recent transfer took a month to go through when it should ideally take a couple days. They also don't communicate well once you are put on the schedule so you have to constantly check in to make sure you aren't scheduled to work.

    Advice to Management

    Work with your HR departments to increase their professionalism, timeliness, and communication skills.

    Target2017-01-23
  8. "Grocery Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Team Member in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere and challenging work enviroment

    Cons

    no cons to post about

    Target2017-01-09
  9. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Cashier/Grocery in San Antonio, TX

      I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It helped you learn time management very well.

      Cons

      They would give you a little to much to do (I worked Grocery) and expected it to be finished fast. Not enough pay for the amount of work.

      Target2017-01-18
    • "Good for what it is"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Grocery Stocker 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Easy work. Was a quick process from interview to actually working. I spent a couple days training, then I was on my own doing work. They aren't hovering over you when you work.

      Cons

      There are no raises or promotions to my knowledge. I actually went from bottom rung to running the food department part time, but no pay raise was ever given. Sometimes managers from different departments would tell me what to do, and it would contradict with other things I was told from different managers.

      Advice to Management

      Reward hard workers.

      Target2016-04-02
    Found 36 reviews