Target Reviews in Hawaiian Islands | Glassdoor

Target Hawaiian Islands Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
8 Ratings
  1. "I love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coming from being a shift supervisor at another huge coffeechain, I decided I wanted a break from my supervisory duties while also not suffering a paycut. The starting pay for barista at my Target is $13.50 (a bit higher than all other floor positions) and is already higher than my base pay as a Shift Supervisor. Yes you don't get tips nor the free drinks, but I think its a well trade off for a higher base pay and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Like others have said, scheduling is all done by a computer for the whole store and at times it gets really weird, we can have too much people one day and not enough the others..but that's the fun in it! ;)

    Advice to Management

    I'd like to see us given at least a free drink per shift, I understand its not fair to the rest of the store employees but we go through so much waste that I feel it wouldn't us. Or maybe even giving one free drink to all store employees or a greater discount for just Starbucks on shift.

    Target2018-12-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A great first job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Floor/Softlines Team Member in Honolulu, HI

      I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Everyone I worked with, managers included, were kind and clear with what they needed to be done.

      Cons

      Occasionally hectic, especially during a 12 hour shift on Black Friday

      Target2019-05-21
    • "Your experience will depend on the management and the team at your store"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Human Resources Team Member in Kailua, HI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The team-building environment definitely helped create a sense of camaraderie between all of the team members. Their guest-centric philosophy was an effective way to make sure that your employees are proud to work for Target and helps their business stand out from other competitors.

      Cons

      I felt under-appreciated in my efforts for most of my time while working at the store. The ratio of recognition of strong effort to amount of effort put in was extremely low, generally. Days are very swingy in the sense that some days were very easy and some days were excruciatingly difficult, due to a bunch of different factors (call outs from other team members in your role, day of the week, scheduling errors, etc).

      Advice to Management

      Need to develop a mentorship program in order to develop talent internally. Hard to see a future for yourself in the company when starting from an hourly, lower-level position as management tends to prefer to bring in talent from the outside.

      Target2019-04-11
    • "HR Team Member"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Resources in Kailua, HI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      You never are bored in this position. It is a continuous flow of work and each day brings on a new set of tasks. The staff is friendly and willing to help as you are first starting out

      Cons

      There is no consistency in scheduling. One week you may have 30+ hours a week only to have less than 10 the next week. Training for the position was almost non-existant and when I asked my executive for help she never knew the answer. Scheduled most of the time by myself as a new hire into the position and the company. Pay does not equate to the work demand.

      Advice to Management

      Give employees more hours and consistency

      Target2019-03-18
    • "Team member"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Team Member in Honolulu, HI

        I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The discount and the Team members.

        Cons

        They hire unexperienced TL and ETL with no experience in the departments and make our work experience enjoyable.

        Advice to Management

        Stop treating us like we're not human. ETL's and TL treat us so bad.

        Target2018-11-20
      • "Barista"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Honolulu, HI
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Discounts and benefits are awesome

        Cons

        No support from management when needed.

        Target2018-11-13
      • "Better than most."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Human Resources Team Member in Honolulu, HI
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Personable management. Great benefits. Positive work environment.

        Cons

        High stress put on team members. Pay is not great for certain positions.

        Target2018-08-22
      • "Sales floor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Hardlines Team Member in Kapolei, HI
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Target part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Flexible schedule when needed always can spend time with family

        Cons

        Cut hours every other month

        Advice to Management

        Help out more

        Target2018-07-08
      • "Only good as a second job or for teenagers still in high school"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Starbucks in Honolulu, HI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Target part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good starting pay and break room amenities (I.e. complimentary lockers, fridges, microwaves, lots of tables, tv)

        Cons

        Management is two faced, hours can go from 30 one week to 10 the next week, people call out and hr doesn’t notify anyone or even call to find coverage so you end up running the store by yourself sometimes, too much expectations for the limited time and employees on hand, no opportunities for growth past team member status, THEY OFFER AN AST POSITION (like a team lead) which requires about a month of extra in depth training...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Stop being so passive aggressive, try work at Starbucks one day and see how hard it actually is, actually proofread the schedules before you send them out, be more fair about hours and keep it more consistent

        Target2018-06-20
      • "mostly good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Kailua, HI
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        really great environment, friendly coworkers, fun job.

        Cons

        management doesn’t care much about you personally

        Advice to Management

        treat employees more personally

        Target2018-04-14
      Found 33 reviews