Target Reviews in Knoxville, TN | Glassdoor

Target Knoxville Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
21%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
13 Ratings
  1. "Team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Managers were positive and recognized achievements.

    Cons

    Only thing was switching to different positions, for example I was a cart pusher the last 3 weeks before I left.

    Advice to Management

    I loved working at target at a seasonal position for christmas. Helped me through the holidays and would work here again!

    Target2017-11-29
  2. "All depends on store director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Style Team Member in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team members are cool Discounts are always a plus

    Cons

    Unreliable hours No overtime allowed but expect more work

    Advice to Management

    Communication needs to be key to ensure everyone is on the same page. More employees need to be scheduled to work front registers so there’s less back up calls.

    Target2019-11-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Got me through school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Willing to work with you on scheduling

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours, Revolving door of team members, Very clear you could easily be replaced, Horrible favoritism, Lack of Recognition, Nothing for motivation besides paycheck, Lack of effort by management

    Target2019-11-05
  4. "Unstable environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Team Leader in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy work load, laud back atmosphere

    Cons

    Never secure in employment. They get on firing sprees and you never know if your job is safe or not

    Advice to Management

    Be more honest with employees. Far too much information hidden from key employees

    Target2019-09-10
  5. "Started good, ended bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Team Member in Maryville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money for a first job, good first-time job work experience, training you receive to sell beauty products gives you lots of knowledge about the products.

    Cons

    Management doesn't treat you like you're human, you work yourself to death and wonder where the money is to show for it, takes the fun out of makeup, customers are entitled.

    Advice to Management

    When your employees tell you that something isn't working right, believe them and make an effort to adjust the situation for a more streamlined work environment.

    Target2019-08-25
  6. "Great Co-Workers but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and accepting co-workers, flexible schedule, good managers, sometimes had free food they bought for us especially during the holidays

    Cons

    Only 10% discount, during the holiday seasons your hours go down A LOT because the seasonal workers

    Target2019-03-30
  7. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is very nice for what you do.

    Cons

    The management only cares about profit.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to care about your employees

    Target2019-02-27
  8. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Knoxville, TN

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got to see all the stuff at target all day

    Cons

    Endless folding of shirts and clothes

    Target2019-02-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great team, lack of leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Flow Team Member in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You work early and often

    Cons

    Expected timelines for work are usually unobtainable and constant change makes it impossible to get anything done.

    Target2019-02-19
  10. "Hardlines Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hardlines Team Lead in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a good place to work when you are a student and when I first started in 2012 it seemed that everyone was moving up. By the time I became a manager the whole game changed an now they are looking to down size the positions.

    Cons

    For 5 years I had been getting dollar raises and nothing but excellent reviews. First year as a Team Lead they decided that none of the Team Leads deserved a good review so they couldn't make us eligible to move up so after a more than dedicated year and improvements in my departments I got a 13 cent raise and a improved outcomes needed. This may be a store by store case but upper management made sure that we all... suffered my last year of working there. Hope they have changed since.

    Show More
    Target2018-05-31
Found 46 reviews