Target Reviews in Madison, WI | Glassdoor

Target Madison Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
19 Ratings
  1. "Perfect for College Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount Flexible Hours Collaborative Good Exercise Friendly Team members

    Cons

    There are too many expectations placed on team members in the day to day activities preformed.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify the day to day expectations of sales floor team members so that what gets accomplished its quality over quantity. (i.e. forcing team members from softlines to stock during or after huddle in grocery or hardlines or an area they are unfamiliar with reduces the productivity by 10% when returning to softlines. It leaves the area unattended specifically in the fitting room for too long and creates a back up of... clothing to be reshopped.

    Show More
    Target2019-05-28
  2. "Fun and friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Fitchburg, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment to work at

    Cons

    short breaks and not enough hours

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Target2019-09-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t value their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Sun Prairie, WI

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s easy to get hired.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations. Take advantage of team members. Management does not respect the team members on the floor.

    Advice to Management

    You should appreciate the loyalty, and value the people you have working for you!!!

    Target2019-09-12
  4. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Madison, WI

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    discount, easy work, flexible, overall not bad

    Cons

    poor management, no opportunity for advancement, awful hours

    Target2019-08-08
  5. "Rocky start but great job overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Fitchburg, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay really well, they schedule you a good amount of hours, great message of acceptance and inclusion in their HR orientation, fun people to work with.

    Cons

    My hourly schedule is kind of all over the place...never a set schedule for part time work. After my orientation it kind of felt like I was left to figure things out. In 2 months I worked with my direct TL twice...so I always had to try to find another leader for help. My store’s morale seems a little low. Sometimes I’m told different things to work on by two different leaders which can be confusing as a new member.... The expectations of what is supposed to be accomplished in the time frame i’m scheduled to work sometimes seems beyond possible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to work on the on boarding process, make sure new members know and have a handful of leaders to go to. Try to help leaders, TL’s and ETL’s communicate to avoid giving different work on the same night to new members and causing confusion. Try to standardize scheduled hours for PT workers, if possible. Keep morale light with leadership taking corporate goals seriously but with a positive attitude. Try to keep... expectations of work completed at a reasonable level.

    Show More
    Target2019-07-18
  6. "Leaders make the difference in each store experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Solid company with great values.

    Cons

    Work/life balance as salaried team member is very hard

    Target2019-07-17
  7. "It was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced work. Never bored.

    Cons

    Poor pay, poor management, little room for growth.

    Target2019-07-17
  8. "They made regular employees clean up customers' disgusting bathroom messes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Overnight Stocker in Madison, WI
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paycheck, discount. Required uniform of your own tan pants and a red shirt is fairly easy to come by.

    Cons

    The bathrooms were disgusting. Not cleaned by overnight cleaning crew. Then, when a customer complained one day, a floor manager made a minimally paid part-time cashier clean it up.

    Advice to Management

    If there are always flies in the restroom, then it may not be getting cleaned adequately.

    Target2019-07-17
  9. "Inconsistent Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cart Attendant in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    $13 an hour for pushing carts

    Cons

    Very inconsistent hours, ignored unavailability.

    Advice to Management

    More consistent hours, pay attention to when employees cannot work.

    Target2019-06-08
  10. "Guest Service Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Guest Services Associate in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A busy environment with substantial customer interaction. This position allows for significant problem-solving skills to be utilized, teaches a lot about teamwork, provides a great and positive place to work.

    Cons

    This position did not have reliable hours, workload depended heavily on time of day, management was not always open to ideas. Work was at times inefficient and tedious which did not feel progressive.

    Advice to Management

    Layout tasks in a more organized way to provide staff a correct expectation of their responsibilities. Other than that it was a very positive and great place to work.

    Target2019-05-23
Found 70 reviews