Target Reviews in Melbourne | Glassdoor

Target Melbourne Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

1.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
0%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - great team members - good retail experience - easy tasks - makes you look good saying you worked at a big company like Target - uniform is nice - discounts at all coles group stores (target, coles, office works, etc.) - flexible hours - fun tasks - fun events and campaigns - team celebrations/events (christmas parties and Kris Kringle, New Years parties, birthday lunches and deserts left in the tea room, etc.)

    Cons

    - pay is low compared to other retail places - retail experience is limited to covering department store retail, not fashion/boutique retail - some (SOME) managers can be a pain - sometimes gives you too many or too little hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. It'd be nice if you could build a friendship with us rather than keep that barrier of superior-subordinate though.

    Target2015-05-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount was 5%. (It was terrible).

    Cons

    No good things. The most disorganised company in all of Australia. To managers reading this take a few tips. I am a former employee of Target Pty Ltd. I was hired in May, 2018 and resigned in October, 2018 for a multitude of reasons. From the moment I started my employment I quickly recognised a lot of inefficiencies and shortcomings of the company. They are as follows: First of all, no proper training given to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get better managers and independently review each store nation wide.

    Target2018-12-05
  3. "Customer Service Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melbourne

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, easy going, zero take-home work.

    Cons

    Lack of benefits and career progression.

    Advice to Management

    Management shouldn't take the credit of hard work done by staff members.

    Target2018-01-10
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Discount card is good. The company is only looking for 15 year olds now to employ so if you are 15 and cheap to pay they will employ you.

    Cons

    Cutting hours, casuals will only get 3 hour shifts so they don't have to give them a tea break. Unless you want to go into management there is not much of a chance as having a career. Online shopping is the future

    Advice to Management

    Try and value more the loyal mature workers who have a world of knowledge and experience and recognise them as an asset to the company that can help train and shape young people.

    Target2017-06-09
  5. "In the Target Warehouse employees are treated like disposable tissues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target for more than a year

    Pros

    nothing much to talk about - so dis-organised you get random amounts of overtime and days off mid-week

    Cons

    - they don't know what they need so they are always firing people as quick as they are hiring people. - Treat people like rubbish, no job security and little respect for people

    Advice to Management

    - plan your business and workload - be open to change and improvement - people need job security, you will be rewarded by your team when you can provide it

    Target2017-04-06
  6. "assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time

    Pros

    great staff to work with expect for management

    Cons

    under staffed, lot of pressure, customers get angry for no staff and having to wait,

    Target2016-09-07
  7. "Lovely store, awful management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make great friends, busy, good products

    Cons

    Management lies and is uncaring. Management doesn't care about customers or employees!

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like equals, and how you want to be treated.

    Target2016-01-25
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Really laid back, most of the management is pretty relaxed and we can get away with a lot. Often doesn't feel like a job at all. Love working with the rest of the team.

    Cons

    Unpredictable shifts if you're a casual, management is continuously changing and store managers are transferred every month or so, if the store doesn't make budget our shifts are cancelled or cut. Can be hard to get time off.

    Target2014-11-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Melbourne
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Target for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Decent wage for the level of monotonous work with little effort required.

    Cons

    - Management rarely shows up to deal with angry customers when called. They will communicate over the hand phones to avoid dealing with the problem directly. - They will purposely split the shifts in a way to avoid giving you a meal break. - They often keep you back 10mins after work, so they don't have to pay you for 15mins overtime. - Uninspiring attitude among most workers as it is only a temporary job for them.

    Target2013-05-10
  10. "It isn't too bad as a casual position."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee -  in Melbourne
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target

    Pros

    Good place to meet people and build customer service skills.

    Cons

    Retail industry is in a hole. Lower management is very underpaid and not worth it. Opportunity to get more shifts if you're casual.

    Advice to Management

    Need to be reasonable. Answer questions, don't just put people down for not knowing certain things. Listen to ideas and actually think about the good ones. Listen to staff who work in specific areas regularly (who can know a lot more than higher level managers about that specific area).

    Target2012-04-29
Found 11 reviews