Target Reviews in Melbourne, Australia | Glassdoor

Target Melbourne Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
3 Ratings
  1. "Fun environment and well paid job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chadstone
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours and base wages for weekend rates Flexible arrangements with study leave etc Social colleagues

    Cons

    Management structure can be very rigid and hard to move up in level which can be frustrating

    Target2017-03-06
  2. "?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Melbourne

      I worked at Target part-time

      Pros

      Was easy, Meet nice customers, workload wasnt too bad

      Cons

      Could get boring, management was a bit messy

      Target2019-07-18
    • "Working in target"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Experience in Eltham, Victoria
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Be I want to try something now in my lifec

      Cons

      I don’t have any

      Advice to Management

      I’m always on time and I’m good with costumes

      Target2019-03-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Terible."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Staff discount was 5%. (It was terrible).

      Cons

      No good things. The most disorganised company in all of Australia. To managers reading this take a few tips. I am a former employee of Target Pty Ltd. I was hired in May, 2018 and resigned in October, 2018 for a multitude of reasons. From the moment I started my employment I quickly recognised a lot of inefficiencies and shortcomings of the company. They are as follows: First of all, no proper training given to...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get better managers and independently review each store nation wide.

      Target2018-12-05
    • "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Casual in Somerville
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good inductions, paid on time, allowance for time off/ flexible

      Cons

      Had to pay for uniform, rude management, nothing to do, short shifts

      Advice to Management

      To treat staff with more respect

      Target2018-05-30
    • "Customer Service Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melbourne

      I have been working at Target part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Flexible hours, easy going, zero take-home work.

      Cons

      Lack of benefits and career progression.

      Advice to Management

      Management shouldn't take the credit of hard work done by staff members.

      Target2018-01-10
    • "Ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shop Assistant in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Target part-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Discount card is good. The company is only looking for 15 year olds now to employ so if you are 15 and cheap to pay they will employ you.

      Cons

      Cutting hours, casuals will only get 3 hour shifts so they don't have to give them a tea break. Unless you want to go into management there is not much of a chance as having a career. Online shopping is the future

      Advice to Management

      Try and value more the loyal mature workers who have a world of knowledge and experience and recognise them as an asset to the company that can help train and shape young people.

      Target2017-06-09
    • "In the Target Warehouse employees are treated like disposable tissues"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Target for less than a year

      Pros

      nothing much to talk about - so dis-organised you get random amounts of overtime and days off mid-week

      Cons

      - they don't know what they need so they are always firing people as quick as they are hiring people. - Treat people like rubbish, no job security and little respect for people

      Advice to Management

      - plan your business and workload - be open to change and improvement - people need job security, you will be rewarded by your team when you can provide it

      Target2017-04-06
    • "assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Target part-time

      Pros

      great staff to work with expect for management

      Cons

      under staffed, lot of pressure, customers get angry for no staff and having to wait,

      Target2016-09-07
    • "It's a good job, except for administration"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Casual Customer Service in Chadstone
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      If you like interacting and helping with customers, then a job at Target is suitable for you. The environment is quite pleasant, with a nice tea-room. Most managers are quite laid back with how you do your work, as long as you are getting the job done and aren't stuffing around. A good mix of people, I made a lot of great friends from my Target. Quite easy to take time off as a casual and get out of shifts.

      Cons

      Management can get very picky about the smallest things. If you are a casual, expect to get hardly any shifts in quiet periods. Expect to get some of your shifts cancelled occasionally as well. There's only so much you can do to help an angry customer; an example is when they have lost an item they had on hold and there was only one of them left in the store.

      Advice to Management

      Don't treat staff like sheep, we are humans at the end of the day and cancelling and not giving out shifts really does annoy us and give us negative perspectives of the company.

      Target2016-05-15
    Found 24 reviews