Target Pharmacist Reviews | Glassdoor

Target Pharmacist Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
11 Ratings
  1. "An oasis in the world of retail pharmacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Pharmacist 

      I worked at Target full-time

      Pros

      They treat their employees SO well!

      Cons

      Target Pharmacy no longer exists.

      Target2019-03-14
    • "Pharmacy was a nice place to work but no longer owned by Target."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Huntington Beach, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Target for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Interacted with many patients. Worked with great technicians. The pharmacy was pro patient. The environment was always professional. The pharmacy team had good communication.

      Cons

      Always understaffed, not enough help. Always wanted you to ask gas to open a visa card at the pharmacy. Add to know about other aspects in the store that were unrelated to pharmacy, laundry detergent.

      Target2017-10-10
    • "Pharamcist position"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Pharmacist in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Target

      Pros

      Flexibility and pay was excellent. No drive thru, so many benefits.

      Cons

      There are not many stores available as with other retailers. But once hired, you see why many do not leave.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work, even after sold to CVS.

      Target2017-05-28
    • "Pharmacist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Pharmacist 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The ability to work directly with the public

      Cons

      Target employs very young management as their reduction in labor cost strategy. This all but guarantees an immature and arrogant store manager with its attendant trickle down issues. Their tech hour to script volume is close to the worst I've ever encountered, CVS as well. With the CVS buyout I'm not sure if there still is the huge push for professional pharmacists to utilize their counseling time allotment to sell Target...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Look towards keeping and utilizing mature leaders with real work experience vs lofty ideology. Listen to rank and file workers and give credence to their issues with poor management both in the pharmacy and within the store

      Target2017-04-09
    • "Staff pharmacist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Target

      Pros

      Good coworkers, always rememberEd and celebrated important events such as birthdays, anniversaries, etc. hours of operation, etc

      Cons

      Pharmacy business sold, many colleagues moved on.

      Advice to Management

      Supportive

      Target2016-12-11
    • "Pharmacist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Pharmacist in Corona, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Target

      Pros

      Great company and benefit, well organization but changed once CVS bought its pharmacy department

      Cons

      Bought over by CVS, meetings, think out of the box

      Target2016-08-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Target Pharmacist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Pharmacist in Arlington Heights, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Target for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Before Target sold the pharmacy business to CVS they were innovative, positive, motivating. Our RXBP was appreciative and verbally rewarding all the time. Sad to see they did not keep the pharmacy business.

      Cons

      Wish they would have tried harder keep the pharmacy business. I enjoyed my tenure while they owned and ran the company.

      Target2016-06-25
    • "Pharmacist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Towson, MD

      I worked at Target for more than a year

      Pros

      Lunch breaks for pharmacists and technicians. Adequate staffing of pharmacy

      Cons

      DOS (PDX) operating system. Manual storing of prescriptions. No scanners.

      Target2016-05-26
    • "Pharmacy Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician, Pharmacist in Elizabeth, NJ
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Target

      Pros

      Target Pharmacy, now CVS Pharmacy, provided a good environment and was once free of metrics driven healthcare. It was also a very team oriented workplace and great to be able to health one another out whenever there were issues

      Cons

      With the CVS acquisition, I suspect that within the year this pharmacy will be heavily metrics driven. In healthcare, I find this structure to place an enormous amount of pressure on the pharmacy team, leading to more focus on volume and less on valuable patient interaction

      Advice to Management

      Rethink the value of metrics in healthcare

      Target2016-05-20
    • "Better than Walgreens and CVS but"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Executive Pharmacist in Stockton, CA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      -Less script volume compared to other chains -End of year bonus for all pharmacists -5% match 401k -10% Employee Discount which stacks on top of Cartwheel and Redcard

      Cons

      -High deductible health insurance -Management only focuses on numbers and does not care about your well being -Management forced employees to work when the sewage pipe exploded in the bathroom right outside the pharmacy. There was poopy water everywhere.

      Advice to Management

      Don't make employees work in poopy water. I am surprised no one filed legal litigation against the company

      Target2016-05-20
    Found 56 reviews