Target Reviews in Philadelphia, PA | Glassdoor

Target Philadelphia Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
11 Ratings
  1. "Executive Team Leader- Logistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader - Logistics in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, great leadership, opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say.

    Target2016-11-03
  2. "Ok for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apparel Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good employees, part time hours.

    Cons

    Micromanage employees. Not good. Easy job. No need to be told how to do your job

    Target2019-02-25
  3. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The pay here is great.

    Cons

    You don't get that many hours

    Advice to Management

    No advice.

    Target2019-01-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "No work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Pays well and promotes within

    Cons

    They do not allow you off more than one holiday all year. Work/ life balance does not really exist

    Target2019-01-21
  5. "Guest service ambassador and train and cross-train coworkers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Ambassador in Philadelphia, PA

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Close to home and deliver my customer service experience.

    Cons

    Target shortens people's hours. People have to live.

    Target2018-10-30
  6. "HR is very helpful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The environment is helpful and everyone is very nice. There are good benefits and an employee discount.

    Cons

    You are on your feet all day and all the time, so it gets physically tiring.

    Target2018-08-21
  7. "Great staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great staff dynamics, easy going, decent starter job with flexible hours

    Cons

    annual raises are fairly minimal

    Target2018-03-05
  8. "Not the best and not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Team Member in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time

    Pros

    Most coworkers are very friendly and have no problem taking new employees under their wing until they get well adjusted. Managers give positive feedback, and notice great performance.

    Cons

    Some managers were less than helpful during my time at Target. They would reprehend me in front of other employees (which was extremely unprofessional) about things that were not in my control. One even YELLED at me ( in front of everyone) during my first week there. I worked 39.9 hours a week, so I was never considered full-time and couldn't receive full-time benefits. I was scheduled to work every single weekend...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Teach your managers to respect lower level employees! Employees are the most important aspect of a company. If you treat your employees right then they will treat the guest right as a result. Stop putting the guests over the employees.

    Target2018-01-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good first job but that's all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Trainer in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Target offers a flexible schedule with sick time and paid vacation. The company believes in a positive culture and team friendly work environment.

    Cons

    It's the definition of over work and underpaid. Pay increases are not noticeable and room for promotion is slim to none.

    Advice to Management

    It would be helpful if team members were given the reviews they deserve so they can get the pay increase to match the work they put out. Or else the turn over rate will continue to be high.

    Target2017-12-27
  10. "Consumables Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumables Team Leader in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You learn a lot and good benifits.

    Cons

    Hard work. Always short staffed.

    Target2017-12-02
Found 76 reviews