Target Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Target Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Target CEO Brian Cornell (no image)
Brian Cornell
1 Ratings
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I learned so much about the pros of customer service.

    Cons

    I have no cons from when I worked there.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Target2014-06-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Guest Service Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Assistant/Sales Floor/Fitting Room in Mansfield, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the co-workers that I was with were extremely hard working and nice.

    Cons

    Management does not care about their employees, while they are off talking or hiding in the back the rest of the team is left to cover their slack.

    Target2016-06-08
  3. "Salesfloor Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Floor Assistant in Arden, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people, flexible hours, team work approach. Managers are helpful, not hostile.

    Cons

    Very physical job for $10.00/hour. Training is "by the seat of your pants." There is no time to have a real training program. Training is basically shadowing someone for an hour and going to work. Frustrating sometimes when you don't know everything you need to know to do the job correctly. Although hours are flexible, you have little command over the shifts you get, and none over the departments you are put... into. To get a specific day off requires at least a two-week notice, not very convenient when something unexpected comes up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, really. The managers at my store are really helpful and around when you need them.

    Target2016-01-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for, very flexible with hours.

    Cons

    very limited opportunities to progress through the company. Little recognition of key people.

    Target2019-09-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Target as a Junior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved the vibe of working at Target. It was a hard job to obtain so it meant that all employees were good. Very teamwork friendly environment. The pay was really good for juniors

    Cons

    Picking up after annoying customers.

    Target2019-09-07
  6. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with, got along well with the managers for the most part.

    Cons

    use you when they need you

    Target2019-07-24
  7. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Target part-time

    Pros

    Good environment to work in, mostly friendly managers, good pay

    Cons

    Some of the things you have to deal with are unpleasant

    Target2019-06-23
  8. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked with some really great people and honestly a great job to get started in customer service. This place has definitely taught me a lot over the 6 years I worked there!

    Cons

    There isn't really a lot of room to progress and move up and sometimes it can take a really long time if you want that to happen.

    Advice to Management

    Treasure your employees! Especially the ones who put in all those years of service and are consistently great at their jobs!

    Target2018-07-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Easy work, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Casual Sales Assistant in Canberra
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target for more than a year

    Pros

    Target is easy work, help the customers and put everything back at the end of the night

    Cons

    Management was terrible: - Constant shift changes with no notification - Pressured by managers - Managers get mad at on you for nothing - Terrible environment to work in, always dirty - only 5% discount (if you are lucky to get your discount card)

    Advice to Management

    Fix your management, ask employees before changing shifts, don't abuse your employees thats why the good ones leave.

    Target2018-06-11
  10. "Great place to start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Casual Sales Assistant in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target for more than a year

    Pros

    Structured environment, you'll learn loads, lots of fun

    Cons

    Demanding work, and quite a high turnover rate due to casual nature of work

    Target2017-03-09
Found 15 reviews