Target Reviews in Sandy, UT | Glassdoor

Target Sandy Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
2 Ratings
  1. "Perfectly Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Sandy, UT

      I worked at Target for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I had a fun team and managers that tried to create a fun culture.

      Cons

      Lack of communication between departments.

      Target2018-12-10
    • "Fast pace, hard work, average pay."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Market Team Member in Sandy, UT
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Most of the other co-workers are nice and fun to work with

      Cons

      Sometimes the customers are rude for now reason. The pay could always be better.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees and give good feedback in addition to the bad.

      Target2018-01-26
    • "Working in Softlines"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Sandy, UT
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Discount, team meetings, extra dollar per hour if you stay after a certain hour during holidays. team spirit

      Cons

      Lots of push to get things done. not a lot of good communication which always depends on your team for the day.

      Target2017-08-29
    • "Cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier in Sandy, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Target part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      It's a great place to work if you are a college student looking to make some extra money. There is flexibility in what department you work in and the hours are not too bad.

      Cons

      Management seems a bit clueless at times, and there are a lot of people working there who aren't great with people. It seems a bit contradictory.

      Advice to Management

      If I were a manager at Target, I would have more training sessions with employees to explain how to treat the store's customers better.

      Target2016-06-17
    • "Executive Team Leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Team Leader in Sandy, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Target full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Team Environment Investment in Personal Development Pay & Benefits

      Cons

      Retail Hours/ Work Life Balance

      Advice to Management

      Continue investing in your team and you will get the best results!

      Target2016-06-09
    • "Decent company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sandy, UT

      I worked at Target

      Pros

      Great company to work for in high school and college. Works with your school schedule and works with you if you have an emergency.

      Cons

      It's not a very good career unless you are a store team leader. Other management has long hours with terrible pay. They don't allow over time if you are hourly. If you are salary you work 50-60 hrs a week.

      Advice to Management

      The only advice I have for management is that the better you train someone, the more effective that employee will be.

      Target2016-03-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Merchandise Flow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Flow Team Member in Sandy, UT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Target

      Pros

      Not much to put here. Only writing to fill the 20 word requirement.

      Cons

      Absolutely everything. Ridiculous hours (4 AM), inconsistent hours from week to week and day to day, very poor treatment of employees from supervisors, lacking work conditions, unreasonable expectations of time goals for an understaffed team.

      Advice to Management

      Don't treat your employees like worthless lepers rather than human beings.

      Target2015-04-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Friendly workplace, flexible schedule, but not much more."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Flow Team Member in Sandy, UT
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Target part-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Target is wonderful for working with my schedule. I have kids and a working husband. They are very understanding and flexible with my schedule as a working Mom. A friendly work environment. 10% employee discount.

      Cons

      Pay raises are minimal and don't make up for cost of living expenses going up. Starting pay is barely above minimum wage. The training program is weak. Accountability is low so if you pride yourself on your work you are doing a lot of "cleaning up" after those who don't care. It often feels like management and higher ups reap all the benefits of regular employees hard work. Regular employees are expendable. Many "new...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Value your employees. If your employees are one of the top priorities the company can be MUCH pickier about who they hire, have a lower employee turnover rate, and save money by reducing hiring and training costs. Work on your communication with each other so the Managers are all on the same page and teaching the same skills and concepts to the employees. There seems to be a lot of discrepancy between managers on the...

      Show More
      Target2015-03-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Poor attention to new employees. Homophobic employees and they are okay with it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Overnight Flow Team Member in Sandy, UT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Target

      Pros

      Friendly management but bad communication.

      Cons

      Atrocious training program, unfriendly "team", poor scheduling. Need better training program. Homophobic and okay with it.

      Advice to Management

      Provide better training to new employees. Very unprofessional way to intoduce new team member.

      Target2015-03-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Target hiring process"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Hard Lines in Sandy, UT
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Target

        Pros

        I worked for target it was a good job let me work as much as I wanted during my seasonal employment.

        Cons

        I left after my seasonal employment ended but returned six months later to apply again. I was offered the job right away. Passed my drug test. Filled out my application exactly the same way I had a charge from years back but I had discussed this on my first and second apps. The first hr manager hired me with no problems. The second time it didn't even show up on my background check but the hr manager didn't approve and...

        Show More
        Target2014-12-05
      Found 15 reviews