Target Reviews in Schaumburg, IL | Glassdoor

Target Schaumburg Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
6 Ratings
  1. "Overall great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader - Logistics in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company for development and career growth. A great company to develop many different skill sets that will enhance your career.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, you will be working long hours. It is harder to achieve a really good work/life balance.

    Target2014-11-15
  2. "A great opportunity to learn and grow, but can become mundane after a while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, always a new role you can take on, but they all kind of become the same after a while. 10% discount. Staff are very friendly and very relaxed environment

    Cons

    It's retail, benefits are okay, but not great. High premiums and high deductibles even with best plan options. No tuition plans unless you are looking for MBA. Always looking to "hit" your "numbers"

    Advice to Management

    Offer better benefits and don't use Obamacare as an excuse to stop offering PT insurance

    Target2014-09-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Company is Changing for the Worse... Taking it out on the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader - Food in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Starting Salary 52k Hires good people Good for personal development

    Cons

    Personal growth- you can only be an STL if you want to move up and you better fight hard and work all the time to get there. Limited Resources- you have no payroll and are expected to have the store looking perfect at all times If things aren't going well they will blame Team Leaders and ETLs and will begin firing people Team members are overworked and underpaid You can go from having an excellent review and in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Target should stop blaming its bad business decisions by taking it out on the team and laying people off as a solution.

    Target2014-08-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "High expectations, little respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signing Specialist in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging workload, flexible hours, Options to cross-train

    Cons

    Poor best practice plans, Poor communication as a whole (i.e. corporate communication to individual stores and corporates knowledge of individual store operations/setup), Little appreciation from Executives and Team leads to team members, Company focused mentality versus employee or guest focused, small or no raises, Lack of support from management to meet expectations; promotional opportunities are handed to the favorites...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember that its the team members who keep the store running. Constantly pushing them to work harder and faster and never showing them appreciation is wearing hard on the team. Also, give the team credit for what they do - don't take credit for something you had no part in.

    Target2013-09-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "People Are Great; Can't Pay My Bills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall, the people I work with are great. There are decent benefits (health, 401k). The culture is positive and there is recognition of your hard work by peers and supervisors.

    Cons

    As a Team Lead, I am grossly underpaid. It's a management position, but is still an hourly wage instead of salary. It is not commensurate with the level of responsibility. After taxes, my net is $22,000+ a year...keep in mind I'm responsible for over 10 Team Members and a multi-million dollar department. Working off the clock to get paperwork/scheduling done is sometimes a necessity because you are spread so thin...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide separate payroll category for Team Leads to do weekly scheduling. Team Lead position should be salary. A management position should not have a wage below $30,000/year; the level of responsibility of a Team Lead is far too great to be paid under this. Allow Team Leads with experience, but not a 4-year degree, to be ETL's.

    Target2013-07-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Target Pharmacy Technician - Would Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You will be exposed to everything that takes place in a typical pharmacy. - Good position for those who like to work in a small group environment. - You can learn a lot of useful skills regarding pharmacy (although if it's like my experience, you will end up teaching them to yourself). - As far as retail pharmacy tech positions go, pay is high. - Will pay for test to become certified.

    Cons

    - Little to no formal training. - (For me personally) Poor management and did not like the attitude of pharmacy manager, especially as a new hire. - Very poor/fluctuant hours (hours are based on script count. Near the end of my employment there my hours were being cut daily). - Very frustrating experience for someone with no former tech experience. - Felt like general attitude of staff towards new hire-es was negative....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not hire brand new employees with no prior experience if you do not want to formally train them, as there is a TON to learn and it can be a very frustrating and overwhelming experience.

    Target2013-07-27
  7. "Overnight Shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work early hours got out by noon. Able to wear headphones and listen to music while working. Workers were recognized when they went above and beyond the call of duty.

    Cons

    Early start time, 4am. Many of the co-workers were not very sociable. Not a job to make a career out of.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more advice to struggling employees.

    Target2013-06-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Retail Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Team Lead in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great clearance sales and having a daily opportunity to shop. Love Target merchandise!

    Cons

    Overworked and not enough compensation for hard physical labor work. Company advertises a fast fun and friendly culture but does not deliver. Target does not develop leaders, it's very political and how well you lie to them.

    Advice to Management

    Head quarter executives need to work at store level to see what is a realistic expectation and what is not! Easier said than done!

    Target2013-01-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Team Lead in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Multiple ways to move up in the company regardless of what position you start at.

    Cons

    The team will develop you into a higher leader by giving you the responsibility of that level, but not the pay. All this does make it easier to move up.

    Advice to Management

    Try your best to work there!

    Target2012-07-22
  10. "not bad for an entry level job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Schaumburg, IL
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    target was a fun place to work mainly for the other team members. some of the upper management was cool but there is always that one rotten egg and she got to me, so I quit.

    Cons

    you have to be on your feet for a long period of time so get some comfortable shoes!

    Advice to Management

    make sure the people you hire aren't smartasses.

    Target2010-08-27
Found 20 reviews