Target Software Engineers Reviews | Glassdoor

Target Software Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lot of opportunity for learning and personal growth - Work life balance - Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Salary is below the market average

    Target2019-01-06
  2. "Nice experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice working environment and work culture

    Cons

    Slow career and salary growth once joined

    Target2019-03-14
  3. "Lots of change an pressure to increase productivity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    World wide talent base using bleeding edge technology to push the limits Constantly looking for the next new thing to implement to be more efficient and they have the cash to invest when needed

    Cons

    Expectations are extremely high. If you stick to 40 hours a week, you won't meet them in most cases. Lots of H1B visa usage and offshore interaction requiring strange work hours for most roles. A lot of the technology work and leadership is done offshore (India) and there is a large disconnect between onshore and offshore teams. Always expected to learn new tech. You never get to be an expert at anything before...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shift out of crisis mode. The pace currently expected is burning talent out and is not sustainable.

    Target2019-02-15
  4. "TLPs need to bail after 2 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Great healthcare Great in your very early career and very late career if you're in management (20+ years) Pharmacy+doctors in HQs. Target is popular enough that many companies in Mpls will pick you up after working there for way more money. If you pick teams well, you can easily learn enough at a fairly smooth going job to get a Sr position at many other companies after 2 years.

    Cons

    HR has almost full sole discretion over your promotions and raises. No matter how much every actual qualified technical person insists you get promoted, a random HR with skills in ripping people off will deny you for whatever reason possible to leech work out of you. Most TLPs bail between 1.5 and 3 years because they get promoted to senior quickly elsewhere. While it's normal to expect to have to do the work of a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It costs you $150k to hire an outside Senior Engineer for the onboarding + $15-20k for the salary differential between an internal promotion and a new hire, given how cheap HR is, and only MAYBE $20-25k to promote from within. Stop being cheap and keep your employees. You can't move all the tech folks to India quickly enough to save much by hiring out, so stop screwing yourselves out of big swaths of money and just...

    Show More
    Target2019-01-24
  5. "The Latest Tech Stack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Super current tech stack (React, Node, Kubernetes, GraphQL, Drone) - 10-20% off all of Target - Good work/life balance - Nice co-workers - Usually fast tech delivery speed - Career & leraning opportunities

    Cons

    - Can be slow-moving because it's a giant corporation - Can have politics because it's a giant corporation

    Target2018-11-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome company, they take time to help you learn and improve yourself through out the internship. They let you work interesting projects and really contribute to the team.

    Cons

    Their only office are in Minneapolis

    Target2018-10-11
  7. "Amazing internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    - Company culture, great people, councils for different groups - New technologies, with plenty of training opportunities - Great mentorship and career advisors - Opportunities to work in different teams - Beautiful campuses

    Cons

    - Very big, so the experience differs depending on team. Other than that, none that I could think of.

    Target2018-10-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience as an intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -they do a good job of making it easy to befriend other interns (live in the same apartment building, have some events) -office is great -my team was awesome, I had a great manager who was very helpful and I was able to be transparent with him about how I felt at the company

    Cons

    -your experience really depends on the team you work on

    Target2018-09-19
  9. "Best job yey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sweet Job, love Minneapolis, love the culture

    Cons

    Career advancement opportunities or assistance is lacking.

    Target2018-08-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Tech moving in the right direction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    My 10 week long experience at Target must have been one of the best internship program experiences in the Twin Cities. I was placed on a new team building an application from the ground up, so I experienced different levels of the iterative application development cycle. Both my manager and mentor were awesome!

    Cons

    Experience was team based. Some interns were placed in fields of computer science that they didn't desire to work in (e.g. back-end, infrastructure, security). My advice would be to hire for those specific team types. Program was also quite short. Separating the number of interns into two waves of 12+ weeks could work with scheduling and be more desirable.

    Target2018-02-19
Found 93 reviews