Target Technical Designer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Technical Designer

Target Technical Designer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Designer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth. Have the opportunity to move anywhere in the company.

    Cons

    Too many working team or individuals working silo, Too big, too fast, not in-sync.

    Target2017-12-11
  2. "Lots of Opportunities to Explore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Designer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great company allowing for exploration in different areas of interest outside of the core job.

    Cons

    It is a large corporation, so there will always be politics.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to give employees the freedom to try new things and grow.

    Target2017-09-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Collaboration and presentation of research, insights, vision, roadmap, and execution."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Technical Designer in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Important position to deliver positive product experiences on products used by hundreds of thousands of consumers. Working to achieve highest quality products with excellent margins to benefit the company.

    Cons

    There are constant progress reports and presentations to leadership- slow progress, lots of hands in the pot, long process to accomplish meaningful results.

    Advice to Management

    Clear goals and strategies, less meetings and reports. Allow teams to get stuff done rather than focusing on informing leadership every step of the way.

    Target2017-02-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Strong Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Target

    Pros

    Working at Target was very fast pace. I learned a great deal in a short amount of time. Most being how to manage people and different personalities

    Cons

    I had 7 different managers in my 6 years at Target. They would rarely let someone stay in a position very long especially if you were looking for a promotion. It didn't allow people to become experts at something before there was turnover.

    Target2016-01-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to start out.. not long term."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Designer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to jump start my career as a young professional. Love the people on my team.

    Cons

    Only 2 weeks vacation until 5 years location is hard for people out of state. Lots of politics involved. Compensation is OK.. but makes it hard for transplants to afford to travel home for holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Too many politics involved to let me do my job. I find myself spending more time keeping up and playing the game.

    Target2014-07-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "They're Trying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Designer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and people to work with. Work life balance is heavily promoted and casual dress code just reinstated! People care about their jobs and want to make a difference.

    Cons

    While I have a great manager who trusts and doesn't micromanage me there is not a lot of viability, trust, or direction from higher level management which causes a lot of "swirl" and drama. Younger people leave the company quickly due to the older generation and that refuses to change and takes themselves way to seriously. Target is just too slow at implementing in projects- by the time a "new and innovative" idea gets...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees, test and iterate.

    Target2014-03-18
  7. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Designer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, fun & energetic culture, flex scheduling, employee discounts, on-site fitness classes, great training opportunities.

    Cons

    Corporate politics and feedback overload.

    Target2013-02-26
  8. "Target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Designer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target

    Pros

    The shear amount of talent at the company. The desire to be the best company ever.

    Cons

    The size of the company leads to a lot of layers of decision making.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify the decision making process. Trust your gut. Allow yourself to fail and learn from those mistakes.

    Target2010-09-23
Found 8 reviews